Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?


Elaine Marie

Age isn’t important, unless you’re a bottle of wine 😉 but if you must know, I’m in my 40’s.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?
Born and raised in the Bronx (New York) and Northern New Jersey

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m happily married, with three kids, two dogs, three cats and family means everything to me, and not just the blood related ones.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Falling For The Dare by Elaine Marie is being released on July 25th in Carly Phillips Dare to Love Kindleworld!

I am very excited since this will be my debut into the kindleworlds. I have been invited to write in Milly Taiden’s Sassy Mates world as well, which will be released later this year.
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always written in some form or another, whether it be letters to friends, poems about boys. One day I felt the need to put words down, and I did. My Author friend asked to read it and she said, “You’ve got it, go with it!” So I did.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When people started following me asking when my next book was coming out.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I sat down in front of my computer and said to myself I want a little suspense. So I took a few deep breaths and: Run, run faster. I told myself. He can’t catch you if you run. – And Because I Can was written.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I had an idea of what I wanted but an author friend recommended Because I Can after reading the manuscript and I loved it.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I go with the flow. Whatever strikes me I start typing and the words come. Luckily, I haven’t hit a wall yet.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The feelings in my books can be related to things in life, but the stories are all fiction.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I’d love to travel, unfortunately it’s not in my cards right now, so I base my stories around areas I know.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The talented S.L. Stacker is the main cover designer for my books.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I have three novella’s released and three more coming soon. In all of my creations the female is a strong character. Either fighting for survival or a smart mouth. Either way she stands out. If readers take anything from my writing, I hope its self-confidence. If you put your mind to anything, you can do it. Believe in yourself.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Wow, this is a loaded question. To be honest there are so many talented writers out there I can’t name them. I will tell you my go to (when I have time to read)  is The Crossfire Series by Sylvia Day and the Thoughtless Trilogy by S.C. Stephens. I can read them over and over again.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

The Indie world is an amazing place to be a part of. I started out as a reader, I followed a few blogs and then entered giveaways. I friended authors and before I knew it a year later my friends list had doubled. With the help or author friends and readers I pushed through and here I am!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Writing for me is a fun hobby. I love to interact with others and I do work a “regular” job. I wish I could write full-time because I enjoy it but it doesn’t pay the bills.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not one word. My latest release Living, I feel hits every emotion. It’s by far my best work to date. Of course I hope to improve with every release but there is something about Living that tugs at my heart ❤

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?
With every manuscript I learn something new. Either about myself or within the writing process.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Living would make an amazing film. I can see Tara Reid playing LeAnn.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up, when you type THE END or press the Publishing button-be proud of your accomplishments.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Review. Reviews mean the world to authors. Not only for ratings but for the feedback, it helps us grow and mature our work.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Sassy Witch by S.L. Stacker and Half Sac by Thia Finn – both amazing five star reads!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?
This is funny, considering I hated reading until I opened up Fifty Shades Of Grey.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Family, friend and life experiences.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

S.L. Stacker, not only is she one of my closest Facebook friends but I consider her family. (Yet we have never met in person)

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Sports, I love watching my kids and professional sports.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy Criminal Minds, Hawaii Five-O, Prison Break things with action and sexy men.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Food- Boardwalk style Sausage Peppers & Onions and Hot Wings

Color – Purple

Music – I listen to it all but I love my country and 80’s

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Take care of family and read.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I won’t have a stone, I’m being cremated. However these come to mind:

Life is like a dick. When it get’s hard fuck it!

Or

Nobody dies a virgin, life fucks us all.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Best way to keep up with me is to follow on Facebook and Amazon.

FB:

https://www.facebook.com/EMarieBooks/

AMAZON:

https://www.amazon.com/Elaine-Marie/e/B01LXJ2FBN/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

I do have a website in the works as well.

http://elainemarieauthor.weebly.com/

 

 

