Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is R.M. Gilmore and I am 17. Okay, 21. Okay, okay, 29. Yeah. 29.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

The t’ain’t of California. Not the beach. Not the redwoods. Not Yosemite. And nowhere near Disneyland. Dead nuts in the middle of grapes and almonds, baking the sun.

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

My husband would call me crazy, but I’m just your normal, everyday weirdo. I grew up in a single parent home with a little brother and an affinity for art and horror. I still draw and paint on anything and with anything I can, but writing seems to be my best fit artistically. I have a kid; looks just like me. Is plotting to kill me by slowly raising my blood pressure until I pop. I’ve worked in special education since I was 18 and will likely continue in some capacity until the day I die. I married my best friend and favorite drinking buddy and we’re still mostly the same person ten years later. We’re just a normal family, really. Star Wars loving, horror freak weirdos, with tattoos and a drunk YouTube show. You know, the usge.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Dylan Hart series is getting a special edition reboot! Cover reveal June 29th! It will be available for purchase everywhere July 17th. Also, the second Prudence Penderhaus book, 19 Marigold Lane, cover reveal is coming up in July. News updates and stuff are always on my website and newsletter subscribers get the news before anyone else.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I think it was 2005, may have been 2006. I was drunk, surprise, and talking somewhat valid shit on the Twilight series. The original plan for the series, made that very night with my drunk friends, was a far cry from the Dylan Hart series you can read today. Things got a little out of hand and now, ten years later, I’ve finished that series, plus a novella series, and I am currently working on the Prudence Penderhaus series. I really didn’t see that coming.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I still don’t. Will I ever? I don’t know. Maybe when I have a beer with Stephen King.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

A drunken bet and Twilight.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

In my research for The Scene, I read often about the vamp/goth club scene. It was often just called The Scene. So, obviously, the title fit. Whether Joe Reader gets the reference I don’t know. But I thought it was cool.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging? I should be writing screenplays, honestly. The images in my head run like a movie while I’m writing. Sometimes that becomes an issue when my head runs faster than my hands or the scene is mostly indescribable. One day I’ll be writer/director Rhiannon Gilmore. But until that day, I’m okay being R.M. Gilmore.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All of my work, writing, drawing, painting, whatever, has a basis of reality. It makes my black heart flutter to take a regular person and plunk them in the middle of some really f*cked up shit just to see what happens. Sometimes they make it. Sometimes they don’t. But that’s the fun of it.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel?

Before or during the process?  I travel, yes. From my office to the Keurig.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I do. I hate outsourcing so I pretty much do everything. Cover design, formatting, graphics, website, etc. I have a background in art and design so it wasn’t a far reach. Then when I realized there we a ton of authors out there getting screwed by jerks I decided to start RMGraphX and offer quality on the cheap. No jerks allowed.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Life sucks. It’s wild and ever changing. Uncontrollable. Unpredictable. Painful and beautiful in the same breath. The charming billionaire is a fantasy. Real people live real lives and sometimes shitty stuff happens to them, and that’s what I want to read about so that’s what I write about. Sometimes the shitty stuff is cancer. Sometimes it’s demon possession. Roll of the dice. Life isn’t happy endings.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors who have grasped your interest? 

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?I read a lot of indie, but I always have my go-to trad-pubs on hand. Nicki Scalise is my best beezy and I love her and everything she writes. I am currently waiting, impatiently, for Revenants in Purgatory #4. I love Laurell K. Hamilton (Anita Blake 1-5. I don’t do sexy books), Ann Charles, Anne Frasier, Dave Pelzer, JR Rain, I could go on forever.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Me. My family, to an extent, was supportive. My aunt and sister from another mister in particular helped a lot when I was working on The Scene. And after I published The Scene in 2011 I gained a close group of fan friends who have been their throughout my career. But the driving force from day one was always me. I’m sure I sound like an asshole saying that, but it’s true. More people should say that about themselves. It takes guts. Guts I didn’t think I had but here they are.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Well, yeah. King and Rice status takes time and patience. I can wait. Work and wait.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. Not one thing. I have other books, they’re not available currently, that I rushed and am now working to make better. You can always do that, make things better.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I’ve watched way too many movies.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I hadn’t found anyone I’d want to play Dylan Hart, she’s an enigma really. Pru and Lynnie are the same. I’d want someone new to play them. I’d want that actor to be that character. Think Harrison Ford Han Solo.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t be an asshole. Seriously. Be tough. Be strong. But be humble. Be grateful. Be gracious in all situations. You are your brand. Act like it.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I love you! You’ve been as far into my head as anyone on the planet and I love you for it.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading The Walking Dead volume 3 (I waited forever for the library to get it back in) and listening to Circus of the Damned on Audiobook. I’ve read it of course but the Audiobook is pretty awesome.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Like ever? Hey Diddle Diddle. Iread it with my aunt (the helpful one) when I was three or so. I couldn’t read I guess, but I memorized every damn word.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry? I laugh at pretty much everything, but mostly people losing their shoes kills me. Every.

Damn. Time. Crying is more difficult for me. It comes at random and when it does it’s ugly.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet?

Why? My great grandma Evelyn. I hear I’m a lot like her. Chasing a mystery to the ends of the earth.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Drinkin’.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The don’t like watching list is shorter. But mostly, horror, geekery, sci-fi, mystery, documentaries. Oh the documentaries. Star Wars, Dr. Who, Fright Night, Poltergeist, the list could go on forever.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, 

music? I have a close relationship with fried potatoes and good beer. I guess black is my favorite color, but I don’t really have one. I don’t like yellow. I listen to anything, mostly. Punk, rock, indie, grunge, pre 2000’s country and rap, anything from the 90s, folk, golden oldies (the king!), The Beatles, Stones, Supertramp, REO Speedwagon, I can’t keep typing but you get the idea.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Die. I’d probably be dead.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Nothing. I don’t want one. Viking burial. Valhalla, I’m coming home!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Of course. You can check me out at www.RMGilmoreAuthor.com for all things books. If you’re looking for something artsy, check out www.RMGraphX.com. And every Saturday night you can find me drunk and live on YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC26mYSOsUc0hLe6n4Gr93jQ).

I am also having a cover reveal this week. Not sure if you have time or want to be involved, but here’s the link if you do. http://www.rmgilmoreauthor.com/release-reveal-sign-up-1.html

Thanks for letting me ramble about nothing. Happy reading!

 

Sliante!

 

 

 

