Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Hi Fiona, thank you so much for this opportunity!

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?  

Kristy Gibs and I am 30 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

 

Good old New Jersey. Born and Raised, I live a block from  the beach

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 

I am 30 years old, a wife and mother of 2 (Daughter 6 and son 3) I am a budget analyst by day and writer whenever I can fit it in! I currently hold a BS in Business Management and will be starting school again in September to obtain my MBA in Data Analytics. Numbers are my career, but writing is my passion.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

After years of writing in the dark; not one person in my family had any idea that I wrote, I decided to take the plunge and self-publish on Amazon, that was back in October, and since then I have published two additional books. I currently have several books I am currently working on; One book is the 2nd book in my Moretti Brothers Series, and another is a new MC Series. I hope to release early next year, if not sooner.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began to write in high school. I loved to read and thought ‘I could do this too.’ I didn’t realize how hard it is to actually put the words in my mind down on paper and make it sound decent. I think that is why it took me so long to actually publish something. My self confidence was lacking for a long time, and it wasn’t until recently that I decided to stop caring what others thought. I know some people will like my books, I know some will hate them, but at the end of the day, I did it all for myself. Writing makes me happy and if I could give just one person a few hours of enjoyment it was worth it all.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a writer the day I hit submit to publish my book on Amazon.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

To be honest, I was driving to work one day and the story just hit me. I was lucky that my work day was slow, so I started jotting down some ideas I had. It turned into me recording my ideas on an app on my phone while I drove the hour to and from work everyday and before I knew it, I felt that I had something and began to really put it down on paper.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It wasn’t until I was done with the book that the title came to me. My first book, Broken Angel, is centered around a young woman named Angelina. She lost her fiance in Afghanistan. When Angelina is being described by one of my other characters, Wes, he described her as being broken after his death. Broken Angel came to mind, and it stuck. I feel that it fits my story well.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 

I am a hopeless romantic and love a good HEA. All of my current published books, as well as the few I am working on, do have conflict, but in the end they are HEAs. What is challenging about writing romance, is it is such a huge genre. There are so many amazing writers published today that it can be difficult to get noticed.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None- my books are 100% made up.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I have not had to travel.. Yet. I am  hoping that if my future allows me to give up my day job and I am  able to completely focus on writing I would love to travel to far off  places for inspiration.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I worked with a graphic designer I found online. She was wonderful, and I love all my covers she has designed for me.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

It might sound cliche, but never give up and that time does heal wounds, even the deep ones. Love has a way of showing up when you least expect it.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I grew up reading books by Stephanie Meyer, Charlaine Harris, Nora Roberts (and J.D Robb), Nichola Sparks

 

Currently, I have been reading most books by Alexa Rynn, C.M Owens, Olivia Chase, J.S Scott. Sexy romance, especially with bad boys are my thing! I could literally sit and read one of their books in one day- and have in the past. They are great writers.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

To be honest, only my family is aware that I am published. I am a very private person, as of right now, with the exception of my family, I am trying to keep my two lives separate. I am not sure where writing is going to take me, but for now, it’s my little secret.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would LOVE nothing more than to make writing my career and hope that someday it can be.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I feel that most authors do go back and say I wish I did this different or that. Fortunately, publishing through Kindle, I can go back and tweak if necessary.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

That books take time to create. As much as I would love to get all my ideas out on paper and published, it doesn’t happen overnight and it’s ok to slow down every once in awhile.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?  

Ahh so tough! There are so many amazing actors and actresses to choose from. For Angelina- I picture Amanda Seyfried. I love love love her. She has been in some of my favorite romance movies (Dear John- OMG)

For Wes- Josh Duhamel. He is super sexy, and I could see him as a Marine any day of the week.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just keep writing. You may feel like giving up- I have about 600 times in the past year but don’t. Don’t care about others opinions only care about you and how you feel. You may write for others but you have to write for yourself first.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Right now, if you open my kindle, you will see Outlaw by Bella Love-Wins. I have yet to read the first page but it looks super sexy and it has bikers- what more can I ask for! I just finished last night reading The Devil Riders series by Joanna Blake and loved them!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I am not sure the first book I read, but the first author I was OBSESSED with was Nora Roberts. I have dozens of her books tucked away in a storage bin.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I would have to say what makes me laugh and cry the most would be my children. Being a mother is the most rewarding yet hardest job I have ever done, and everyday is a challenge.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

J.K Rowling, she has had an extraordinary life. Throughout her many up’s and down’s in her life before her career even began and despite them all she persevered and became who she is today.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I love to cook and bake. I wish I had more time to do both.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Grey’s Anatomy, The Walking Dead, Animal Kingdom- These are the only 3 shows I make sure I make time to watch

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Foods: Pasta, Pasta and more Pasta- I could eat Pasta 7 days a week

Colors: PINK, I am a huge girly girl. Pink is my favorite color yet I wear a lot of black. I know, doesn’t make sense to me either

Music: I feel that I am pretty eclectic when it comes to music. It really depends on my mood. I have days where I sing loud to all the pop music hits for today (Taylor Swift, Elle King, Etc.) and I have others where I am listening to emo (Dashboard Confessional and Brand New). Sprinkle some 90’s music and I am set!

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I am hoping that if I ever give up writing, I find something else to be passionate about. Because I still have a day job, that doesn’t seem to be going away anytime soon, I would still most likely being working there.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I have no regrets

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

Yes! www.facebook.com/authorkristygibs

 

Instagram: AuthorKristyGibs

Twitter: Kristy_Gibs

And my books are available on Amazon!

www.amazon.com/author/kristygibs

