Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello, my name is Theresa Hodge. A lady never reveals her age. 😊

Fiona: Where are you from?

Alabama

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a wife, mother, sister, and friend. My daughter is my proudest achievement to date. She’s smart, talented and kind. Her kindness comes from both her dad and me. I am also an avid reader, who can read any genre, but I prefer romance. I’m an encourager and a pursuer of peace. I love to watch anime, lifetime movies and I cry buckets of tears if the movie is sad. I’m a high school graduate, who graduated with honors and a college dropout. Maybe one day I will pursue my degree, or maybe not. Only time will tell.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I recently republished and updated my cover on book 1 in my Ask Me Again series. Book 2 and 3 should be available sometime in July.
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I begin writing after I lost my big sister from breast cancer. The year before I lost her, my dad passed. I became depressed, the conversation that my sister and I had before she died pushed me toward my writing dream. She asked me to follow my dream of writing and to become an author. She asked me to live for the both of us and be happy. In the beginning, her request was hard to do. But now with each book that I write it’s with her beside me pushing me onward every step of the way.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

It was after I penned my first series titled Ask Me Again in 2014.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My sister Denise inspired me with her last words of encouragement to me on her sick bed.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I saw an old movie Mahogany once when with Billy Dee Williams and Diana Ross. If I remember correctly, Diana said to Billy Dee, “Ask me again.” It was romantic.
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I don’t think I have a particular writing style. I just write what comes to me. I have a pen name I wrote several collaborations with, so I don’t get stuck in a certain box. The challenges of starting any new story are my struggle to finish it and not to give up. Writing is hard for me, and it doesn’t get any easier no matter how many books I write.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I described my sister’s funeral in the first book that I wrote Ask Me Again. The releasing of the balloons at the grave site was very real. The rest is fictional.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I personally use the graphic designer, Bryant Sparks when I self publish. My publishers use the graphic designer Brittani Williams.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My characters are flawed individuals. I consistently write about forgiveness and second chances. No one is perfect on this earth, but with love anything is possible.
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Amarie Avant, Posey Parks, and London Starr. There are so many authors that I admire, and I’m a real fan of their work. I adore these ladies and the emotion they put into their stories. I can feel the passion, sorrow, and anger that sizzles off the pages of their work.
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I had a college English teacher who was also a Nun that went by the name Sister Mary. She asked me to stay after class one day. I was nervous because I had no idea what she wanted. First, she started asking me did I ever have an older brother that attended there? I answered yes, and she said she thought she remembered a student years ago with my last name. Then she asked me had I ever thought about becoming a writer? I replied no, but I was an avid reader. She advised me to give it some thought because she recognized talent in me. I went years without thinking any more about her words until I started writing for more than a hobby.
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes, there are plenty of flaws that can be improved. I’m still in the learning process, striving to get better and aiming for my best.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes. I learned that a woman is stronger than her abusive circumstances.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Oh, God! For my Ask Me Again series, Morris Chestnut is a definite possibility. I will have to give serious thought to the rest of my books.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Write something every day, even if it’s only a paragraph. Believe in yourself and write from the heart. Never give up just because others don’t share your passion. There will be naysayers, remain positive and focus on your dream regardless. When, not if you make it, reach back and help someone else’s dream come true. Stay humble and pay it forward.
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Your kindness may be someone’s lifeline. Be kind always.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

An Alpha’s Desire by Amarie Avant.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, because I’m sure I’ve read gazillions by now.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Children getting abused, seeing them hungry, sad movies and losing love ones makes me cry. Comical movies make me laugh. My silly dog Midnight makes me laugh and sometimes I have to laugh at myself. I’m still a humorous child at heart.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Maya Angelou from the past. I would love to share some of my poetry with her and collaborate with her greatness.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading and playing spades for fun.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

If Loving You Is Wrong, The Haves and Have Nots, Lifetime movies, and Anime.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

My favorite foods are chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Read and teach others to read.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Let Love Flow Always.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

Twitter: (@Poetic__Life): https://twitter.com/Poetic__Life?s=09

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/theresa.hodge.10

Like Page: https://www.facebook.com/askmeagainromanceseries/

Instagram: http://Instagram.com/gemini2goddess

Newsletter Sign-up: http://amazon.us9.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=ffde15be91b185d57d934a65c&id=1f6b614090

Website: https://www.amazon.com/Theresa-Hodge/e/B00J53PB3E

 

