Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 SI: Thank you so much for having me on your wonderful blog, my name is Selena Illyria. I write paranormal, contemporary, sci-fi, fantasy erotic romances.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

SI: I live in New Jersey, United States of America.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 SI: I’m an only child, so I guess that’s where I got my massive imagination from. When you’re the only kid, you have to keep yourself entertained and making up imaginary friends and things that we would be doing together was a way to keep me from getting bored, that and reading and watching TV.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

 SI: I’m currently working on a 3 book werewolves series, a dragon shifter book, and the book set in my One Night Only series.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 SI: I began writing seriously about 7 years ago. Before it was just for fun.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 SI: When I realized that this was something I could do for a living.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 SI: It started off with an idea: woman goes to a Vampire city for a weekend and falls for a hunky vampire which turned into A Fling in Vampiropolis (Out Now at Loose Id)

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

SI: I wanted something fun and different and something I’d never seen before. Something unique.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 SI: I love the freedom writing in paranormal or sci-fi or fantasy gives me. You can write anything, change the rules or adhere to them, it just lets me explore worlds and norms and traditions in a new perspective.  I’m still trying to find my way through contemporary.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

SI:  All the books come from the characters. It’s their experiences, feelings, I’m just the person who writes it all down for them.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 SI: I don’t get to travel a lot, but looking at pictures of distance places can give me ideas. The inspiration can come at any time, it’s really fluid.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 SI: It depends on the publisher or just who I can get on a budget. I’ve worked with Fiona Jayde, Brandy Walker, April Martinez, Scott Carpenter, the list goes on and on.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 SI: To have fun and find love in both yourself and from others.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

SI: My favorite writers all write in ways that catch the imagination or phrase things in a way that are singular and evocative. I have so many favorite authors I can’t name them all. I will say, right now, I’m re-reading the book that made me fall in love with reading: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 SI:  My friends.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 SI: It can be a struggle, but yes.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 SI: No, because if I have to do it all over again, I’d nitpick the poor book to death.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 SI: Yes, to push myself out of my writer comfort zone.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 SI: I can never answer that because I would always change who would star in it, depending on my mood of if I just discovered a new actor/actress to me.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 SI: Write, but do self care. If the words aren’t coming it’s okay to take a break and come back to it. Don’t stress yourself out too much. Your muse and mind know when it’s time to write and when you need to step away.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 SI: Thank You! I wouldn’t be able to do what I do without you. I appreciate you spending your money and time reading my work. I’m always humbled and honored when I see that my books not only touch people but that they buy them.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 SI: I’m currently reading the book that made me fall in love with reading: The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 SI: Nancy Drew and The Scarlet Slippers. That book made me fall in love with mysteries.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 SI: A funny movie like Spaceballs can make me laugh and so much can make me cry, like human kindness.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 SI: On that’s a difficult question, because there are so many! To name one, Cleopatra.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 SI: I’m really boring. My hobbies are pretty much catching up on my TBR pile, and watching TV or movies.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 SI: Right now I’m on a Doctor Who and Killjoys kick, both are sci-fi.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

 SI: My taste in music varies on my mood. I can listen to anything from classical to heavy metal. As for colors, black and as for my favorite food pepperoni and sausage pizza from Pizza Hut or pancakes! I love to make pancakes or get them from IHOP.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 SI: If I could make money off it, read or watch TV!

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

 SI: She has fallen beyond the veil.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 SI: You can find more info on my books at www.selenaillyria.com or Twitter @Selena_Illyria or on Instagram or FB.

 

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=dp_byline_sr_ebooks_1?ie=UTF8&text=Selena+Illyria&search-alias=digital-text&field-author=Selena+Illyria&sort=relevancerank

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Selena-Illyria/e/B0075NG31K/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1498435758&sr=1-2-ent

 

Engaged the the Lone Wolf:

Exiled lone wolf, Gunner Foster, has never had a true pack and family around him. Always on the move and on the lookout for danger, he can’t afford to be attracted to–much less want something more with–the vibrant and sexy Valerie Archer. When she offers him money to pose as her fake fiancé, he decides that the money could help him out and allow him to spend more time with Val.

All hell breaks loose when Gunner is outed as the son of one of the werewolf world’s most notorious packbreakers. When Gunner tries to gain entrance into Val’s pack, he’s denied.

Despite their mutual attraction and their desire to explore their growing bond, they have a lot going against them. Will they choose self preservation or fight to be together?

Buy Links:
LI: http://tinyurl.com/mjt7o9h
Kindle: http://tinyurl.com/mtzd4pg#

Mate Not Wanted:

Letting Madison go unmated? Pierce won’t stand for it…

Lioness shifter Madison doesn’t want to be mated. So when her friends bid and win tiger shifter Pierce McKinney at the Bachelor Auction, she knows she’s screwed. Pierce is the one man who can get under her skin. Especially when she knows that sex with Pierce will burn hotter than the sun…

Pierce McKinney has been trying without luck to wear Madison down. So when her friends win him at a charity auction, he’s determined to win her for his own. He’ll give her what she needs and desires, and he’ll even bring in a friend to play to her fantasies. But Madison belongs to him, and only him. And he intends to show her that he plays for keeps. Even if she’s too stubborn to admit it. Because Pierce is too stubborn to let her walk away…

Buy Links:
Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/z2f355n

Fire Mates 1: Reclaimed:

Control is essential for a dragon. Fiery breath, knife-sharp nails, and teeth that can shred a human in moments.

The day Garrett lost control is the day he ran from the one woman who can complete him, his fire companion. Now he’s back and he’s going to reclaim Sky Lilly forever and always.

Buy Link:

Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/hmt5ovl

 

