Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Jason Matthews, 49, male, libra, 5’10”, 170 lbs, bald, blue eyes

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Born in North Carolina. Also lived in Mass, Ohio, Oregon and California since ‘91, the golden state where I intend to stay.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I like playing soccer and snow skiing. Love dogs. I have two amazing college age daughters and spend as much time with them as they’ll allow.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Latest news? Did a gig at Santa Barbara Writers Conference and had fun with that.Now working on a book for a celebrity author, hoping it does well.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Age 4. My mom took notes of shit I’d say as a kid so I guess she was my first secretary. I reread some of those stories recently. Probably not commercial material.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Calling myself a writer took a long time because I was more of a jock and gamer as a kid than an avid reader. For years I called myself an “ideas person who put them down on paper.” I’m getting better with the title now.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The concept for the plot got stuck in my head. Originally I wrote a screenplay because I thought it would be easier. When I realized how hard it is to get people to read screenplays, I decided to write my first book as a novel. Still my favorite book after writing seven thus far.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Little Universe. That’s what it is, a miniature self-enclosed universe. I like the paradox in the title. Hopefully I’m not alone in that.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My style is mostly conversational. I’m something of a simpleton so I try to keep things basic. I know my limits.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Well, I’ve written seven books, two novels and five non-fiction books. The novels are concepts from my head mixed with scientific and metaphysical things that interest me. The non-fiction is primarily how-to stuff.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No. But I’d like to travel more. I have a teddy bear I bring on trips. Awkward moments happen.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I’ve designed a few because one of my books teaches how you can do everything yourself at no cost in self-publishing (if you want, though I don’t recommend it for everyone). Otherwise I’ve hired several people for covers. One time a person from Fiverr did a great cover for about $20 so that was pretty cool.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Plenty of them. One is that there are clues in everyday life that suggest there is more going on than we are aware of. Our lives have meaning and things that happen have meaning, even if we can’t make sense of it right away.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

This feels like two separate questions. The first answer is probably no. The second is I don’t have a favorite writer, but I remember enjoying Richard Back and Carl Sagan very much among others. I listen to Anthony Bourdain who does travel shows focused on food and the people who make it. He’s captivating, funny, witty.


Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I had several good friends read early drafts of my screenplay and first novel. Their support meant the world to me.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, but it’s very difficult to make “good” money writing. I earnway more from my how-to guides and video courses that teach self-publishing than from my novels.Even still, I do other things to pay the bills.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

This question about doing it all over again applies more to things I did with my first books than my latest. Once you’ve published seven books, you have a much better handle on things. My first book came out on Kindle in 2009. Knowing what I learned over the next few years, I would have been much more active in networking on Kindle Boards and Goodreads than I was back then.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

It was a non-fiction book on self-publishing, so I mostly reinforced things I already knew.However the sales are lower than a self-publishing book I released in 2010, so there’s probably a lot of truth in the saying “timing is everything.”

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Not sure. Sometimes I think it would be cool if big stars like Tom Hanks and Scarlett Johansson played the leads. Other times I want it to be lesser known actors so the story can be the main focus. I’d be happy either way of course 😉

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Do it for the love of writing and the benefits you get from putting thoughts and emotions on paper (or the screen). Don’t begin writing for the hopes of making money. If money comes, all the better, but it shouldn’t be the impetus for writing.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I hope people search for the meaning in our lives and how each of us can make efforts to contribute to the whole. I believe stuff like that.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Just finished Art of Intuition. Haven’t started the next one.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Maybe a Paddington Bear book from the school library in the third grade. My mom says it was a traumatic experience for me because in front of everyone my teacher said it was too difficult for me to read. I don’t remember that, but I have gotten over my fear of libraries and teddy bears.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Everything makes me laugh or I see humor in almost everything. Not much makes me cry, but not because I don’t care. I’ve grown numb to so much of the inhumanity we see in the news and to the hardships people endure. It can be a horrible, disturbing, insane world sometimes. I wish Mr. Scot would beam me up soon. Not easy dealing with the problems of the world.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Nikola Tesla. The greatest human mind to ever exist and perhaps the most underappreciated.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Hobbies not so much. I used to grow pot and was very good at it. I go to the gym almost every day and enjoy a meditative mindset during my workouts. I trade high risk stocks and am addicted to it.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I prefer lighthearted stuff or shows that make me think. I also have loved The Simpsons since it first came out around 1990. I don’t like stupid violence, crime drama, or spy stuff which seems so prevalent in Hollywood.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Pasta, Mexican, Chinese. Green. Rolling Stones. Zeppelin. Pink Floyd. Grateful Dead. Bowie.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Travel with a beautiful, sexually energetic woman and enjoy the beaches and villages around the world. (If this sounds like you, contact me through my blog below.)

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Thank you for your contributions! Well done.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My blog for self-publishing: https://ebooksuccess4free.wordpress.com/

My blog for anything else: http://www.thebigbangauthor.com/

 

And Amazon Authors page: http://author.to/JasonMatthews

 

