Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Dianne Noble and I’m 69

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Yorkshire but with a father in the RAF and a husband who was a civil engineer I don’t really belong anywhere. For example my childhood was spent in Singapore and Cyprus and my early married life in the Arabian Gulf.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’ve just released my third book, Oppression, which focuses on a forced marriage in Egypt, but also the issue of control in an Englishwoman’s relationship with her husband.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always written but I suppose the in depth writing began with journals I kept on my travels around the world – China, Russia, Guatemala etc…

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When people bought my first book, Outcast.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was based on my experience of teaching English to street children in the slums of Kolkata, India.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Dalits – untouchables – of India featured, hence the title of Outcast.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I put down on paper what’s in my head then have to build on what is, in effect, reportage. Most people write too much and have to cut. I have the opposite problem!

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

All of my writing is based on experience of places and situations.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I have to know the place before I feel I have the right to put it on paper.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Cora Graphics

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

We women are stronger than we think!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’ve always loved the novels of the late Helen Dunmore for her sense of place, also Kate Atkinson for her sheer ingenuity of plot. I’m always on the lookout for new authors.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Just Write – a Leicester writing group.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, because I’m totally unable to stop!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, it’s had so many edits it’s as good as I can get it.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I’ve begun to realise you have to know when to stop editing, know when to call a halt.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Anna Friel

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep at it. I had 32 rejections before I found a publisher.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Join a manuscript critique class. Don’t be precious about your writing and accept advice and criticism.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Grasshopper by Barbara Vine

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Janet and John followed by Enid Blyton’s Noddy.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Peter Kay makes me laugh. The recent losses of life in Manchester and London have made me cry buckets.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Gandhi because I love India and all he epitomised.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading and eating cake.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Vera and Masterchef.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Chips and chocolate – red – Country and Western.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Read more! I already read 2-3 books every week, one of the advantages of living alone.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She never refused a challenge.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

www.dianneanoble.com

 

 

 

Amazon Authors Pages UK  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dianne-Noble/e/B01CXAWOO4/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

USA https://www.amazon.com/Dianne-Noble/e/B01CXAWOO4/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

 

Link for my latest novel Oppression

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B071KY8BJ8 

USA  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071KY8BJ8

 

