Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

I’m Paul White and I’m clocking on a bit; too soon I’ll be standing at bus stops saying to complete strangers “Do you know I’m 60!”

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am a Southerner by birth, Hampshire. But grew up mainly in the county of Kent, known as the ‘Garden of England’. For the past thirty years I have lived in Yorkshire, (God’s county), which is almost long enough to be accepted as more than an outsider!

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

This is a question I am often asked and each time my answer differs slightly because I cannot recall exactly when I started writing. It is something I have always done, at least from the age of 5 when I had my first poem ‘published’ in the school magazine. My teacher encouraged me to write more, so I did and have never stopped since then. I owe her much.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Now this is another question entirely. I began to write poetry in a serious way around the age of eleven or twelve, about the time I found how malleable and pliable words were. My first genuine attempts at writing a ‘story’ waited until I was in my early twenties. One story I began to write back then is now published as a novelette, it is called ‘Miriam’s Hex’. But I did not consider myself a writer, in the author sense of the word, until after I published my first full-length novel ‘The Abduction of Rupert DeVille’.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always been an avid reader, while reading I would considering writing down all the tales floating around inside my own mind. Then I read Maya Angelou’s saying, “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” So, I opened the cage and let my bird sing.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Abduction of Rupert DeVille is the second title I have used for this novel. The first being ‘A Most Extraordinary Day’. I still like that name, but it is less descriptive, less ‘mainstream’ and did not attract as much attention; which is a shame because ‘Rupert’ is not really about an abduction…well it is, BUT…it is also a love story, a tale of commitment, a suspense thriller, a comedy and a story about finding one’s self, all rolled into one.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I do not write a specific genre, in fact I love the challenge writing in differing areas bring. For example, I have a three-book collection called ‘Tales of Crime & Violence’. Each story varies greatly. Some are from the perpetrator’s perspective, some from the victims or innocent by-standers and some by those forced, or coerced, into compromising situations. But the binding factor throughout is the human factor, the worries, fears, hopes and dreams of those involved.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think it is impossible not write much of yourself into every tale you tell. The skill is to make people believe the facts are fiction and the fiction fact. Which in fact they are, unless they are not.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I do. Luckily, I am also a digital artist. I am quite excited about my latest cover designs for my works in progress. I have also made many bookcovers for other authors, when I have time to do so. You can ask me too, if I can fit it in, I will.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favourite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

My favourite new indie author is a chap called Squid McFinnigan (I kid you not). He writes amazing shorts and wonderful novels, like ‘Honeysuckle Lane’, look him up on Amazon.

As for established mainstream authors there are many I love, too many to mention. But you could read ‘Down by The Dockside by Criena Rohan’, one of my all-time favourite books. (read my review on Goodreads) or ‘Do Not Go Gentle by David MacCuish’, another book that should be classed as a classic. I doubt you have heard of either author, but you will not be disappointed in making their acquaintance.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I am a full-time writer. I write both novels and short story fiction, children’s books, military non-fiction. I have a blog of short stories, another about writing for writersand one on independent travelling. One of my current WiP is the conversion of a defunct blog, about life and living, into a paperback book.

I am also the chief editor of CQ International Magazine and owner of TOAD Publishing (high quality hardcover books).

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes. It is expensive to have full colour illustrations in a paperback. It is far more effective to go the whole hog and produce a hardback version. The quality alone justifies the cost. (If you get the right printer)

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Oh, good question. I have thought about this! I would love to ‘pluck’ people from their daily life, ‘unknowns’ and have them, under the control of a great director, such asQuentin Tarantino, Matthew Vaughn or Guy Ritchie, become the stars. I would love a cameo role myself!

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Yeah. Write.

Everyday sit and write something, anything. Even if you throw it away the following day. Just the act of writing will get your creative juices flowing. Too many writers sit down and ‘try’ to write what they think they ‘should’ be writing. That is nonsense and where the ‘myth’ about a non-existent condition called ‘writers block’ stems from.

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Yes. Buy my books, all of them. You will enjoy my stories and, as an added bonus, they will make your bookshelf and coffee table look great, especially the hardcover books. (I will send a signed photo if asked nicely…when I get one!)

Seriously, I would like you to enjoy my stories. I would them to touch your mind, your soul. That’s why I write.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Cryptonomicon a 1999 novel, by Neal Stephenson. I have only just started this massive tome which is a bit of a departure for me in recent reading.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Yes. Art. My second passion. I have several collections of digital art, from portraits to collages. Feel free to take a peek on my art website. (link below).

 

 

Fiona: Favoritefoods,  music?

I love most good foods. My original profession was as a chef and I had my own restaurants for over ten years. But I do have a penchant for a deeply flavoured, thick, rich curry. I love a simple feta salad or tabbouleh, with warm pita bread and homemade humus.

I have a wide range of music I enjoy, it is according to where I am, what I am doing and what mood I am in, to which I prefer listening to at any particular time. So, anything from classical, such as Holst, Tchaikovsky or Elgar. I love Pink Floyd and David Bowie, traditional Jazz and Skit, middle of the road stuff from the Eagles or Dire Straits. I have also been known to chill to Euphorbia and dance to Happy house, Adel and Celine Dion. Rule nothing out!

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would have to concentrate on my art. No contest.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“What if I am not really in here? Think about that”

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I certainly do!

My website is. http://paulznewpostbox.wixsite.com/paul-white

(Links to my blogs, books, artwork etc can all be found from here.)

My Artwork can be found here. https://paulznewpostbox.wixsite.com/artworks

CQ Magazine’s blog. https://cqmagazineblog.wordpress.com

 

 

