Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Lindsay Stenico and I am 18, going on 19 this September.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am from Westfield MA, and for two years I lived in Gilbert AZ before my family decided to move back home to Westfield.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

In the fall, I will be attending Westfield State University as a college freshmen, having graduated from Westfield High School. Despite being a part of the 21st Century, I am kind of old fashion, my mom taught me to knit and cross-stitch. I love the smell of rain and sitting out on the couch we have on our porch and just spending the entire day writing away.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My first book, The Assignment, is currently with my publisher Katherine Anderson and her editor, and it’s a coming of age story for teenagers. In the mean time, I am working on a new story called Cupid’s Twisted Gamethat I’m having a great deal of fun writing as it is completely different from The Assignment.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

God, I’ve been writing for my entire life. I began writing because I loved being able to tell someone a story that they’ve never heard before.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always known that I was a writer, but it’s only been this last year or so that when people ask me what I do that I say, “I’m a writer.” And that was because I knew that writing is what I’m meant to do in life. It’s the only thing that I want to do. If it wasn’t then I wouldn’t be content spending entire days writing away at my computer discovering just who these characters are and what their story is.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was actually a dream that I had, and I remember waking up thinking, who the heck are these people? I had no idea who they were except that they wouldn’t leave me alone. I ended up writing a couple pages on Word Document before saving it, and then I didn’t touch it again for a year. At the same time, I had been writing a fan fic but I was losing interest in it, and I remembered this idea that I had previously typed up, and I started writing and writing, and I found myself unable to stop. All I knew was that I had to write this story and that it couldn’t be kept hidden from the world anymore.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For, The Assignment, I wanted something that was catchy and simple, but also tied into the story. With Cupid’s Twisted Game, I wanted something that while it still tied in with the story, it would also make you do a double take.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I love writing Teen Fiction/Young Adult because not only can I relate to it as a young adult myself, but it’s also the time where everything in our lives are changing. It’s when as a teenager, you’re reaching that point where you have some adult responsibilities but at the same time you can’t do everything that an adult can. Or you’re finding out who your true friends are and where you belong in the world. And it’s about finding out who you yourself are as a person. It’s not so much as challenging, as there are so many options with what can happen and narrowing it down to what the character is telling me.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

For me, when I write, I try to find a way that I can connect with the story on an emotional level. If I can’t find myself relating to anything that’s happening in my story, then I know that something is wrong. And it can be hard as I’m only 18, but there are still experiences that I have gone through that I can go back to in my mind and tap into how I felt at that moment in time, and relate it to what’s going on in the story. It’s realistic in the sense that these characters are high schoolers and go through the struggles of being a teenager and you can find yourself thinking, “oh my god, I know exactly how you feel. I went through the same thing.”

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Does traveling to the couch on my porch, or my chair in the living room count as traveling? Lol.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Because I posted The Assignment on Wattpad first, I needed a cover for the website, and so my friend Tori Payson designed the cover after she read it.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are several messages and I don’t want to give anything away, but I would have to say, that life is not one hundred percent certain, and that’s perfectly okay. You just have to be able to find a way out to the other side and that it’s okay if you come out covered in dirt and scratches. Nothing in life is perfect.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

My favorite writer would have to be Sarah Dessen, I love how she is able to relate to the young adult audience with real life situations that we face. I’ve also started reading A.G. Howard’s twist on Alice In Wonderland. It is absolutely mind-blowing how she’s able to put her own flair on a story that is so well known.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My publisher/friend Kate Anderson, she was 100% one board even before reading my manuscript.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not really change, but more like brace myself that the story will come to an end.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

That the mind of a guy is not so different from the mind of a girl, for some things.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

For the male lead, I would have to say Justin Gaston from when he starred in Taylor Swift’s music video Love Story. I don’t know who I would have for the female lead, sorry.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Never give up, no matter what anyone says. Write the story that you want to write, not what everyone else wants to read. As Stephen King once said, “write with the door shut, edit with it wide open.”And just, have fun with it. Surround yourself with other writers as well if you can, because they will definitely be able to relate to you with the writing process and offer help or suggestions.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Y’all are amazing, and I am grateful to be able to share this crazy rollercoaster of a ride with all of y’all. And a giant thank you to everyone for taking the time to read my story. It means the entire world to me.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading Gods & Monsters by Janie Marie.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Honestly, it’s a tie between the Junie B. Jones series and The Magic Tree House series.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Anything and everything makes me laugh, I’m the kind of person who can start randomly laughing at something that happened a week ago. And once I see one person crying, I’m following right behind. It’s something that I just can’t help.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would love to meet Patrick Swayze, he is one of my absolute favorite actors and it’s just so horrible that he passed on so early.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I have many, lol. My mom taught me how to knit and cross-stitch, and I dabble in the arts such as acrylic painting and water colors along with sketching Disney characters and doing drawings with ink pens. I love to bake, brownies are my favorite. I am constantly reading, my TBR pile will probably take me a couple years to finish, lol.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love Supernatural, and I am currently binge watching The Vampire Diaries, team Damon all the way! Lol. I love the Marvel movies as well as movies like The Longest Rideand Dirty Dancing.Right now, my absolute favorite movie is Suicide Squad. I’m a sucker for The Joker and Harley Quinn.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

My favorite colors are, cranberry red, navy blue, and black. I love listening to all types of rock music, as well as pop and country. My favorite food, oh that’s a hard one. I love anything that has chocolate in it, but I have a serious love affair with Mexican food.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 I would go insane. Lol, it would be a very bleak place that is for sure. But, this is definitely a giant but, I always loved my biology and anatomy classes in high school, so I think I might have gone into a field that had to do with that. Not exactly a doctor, I could never do that. The idea of having that much power and control of someone’s life scares me, but maybe a Mortician. I mean, what’s the worst that could happen if you mess up? Lol.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She came as she went, a whirlwind of crazy that you couldn’t help but get caught up in and wish would never end.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I do! I can be found on Wattpad, my username is @DreamsWithEyesOpen. There you can find the second draft of The Assignment if you are interested in reading it, as well as my other stories. Cupid’s Twisted Game is not online yet, but hopefully in the future I will begin posting the rough draft of it on Wattpad.

I also have a blog where I can keep everyone update with what’s happening. Here is the link:

http://lindsaystenico.blogspot.com/

There you can find my Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Wattpad.

 

 

