Name   J.L. Baldwin

Age 26

Where are you from

Originally, I’m from Centreville, VA but I now reside in Front Royal Virginia.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

Oh, I wish I had something exciting to share. But, sadly, I don’t. Haha!
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was a kid, probably when I was around 10 or 11. I had this strange fascination with dolls growing up, and wrote this creepy story about a haunted doll. It was only about 500 or 600 words, but it was enough to make me believe I wanted to write for a living. As far as why, the only answer I can say is I want to make this a full blown career. I’ve always wanted a career that I love, not one I am only doing to pay the bills. And working for myself would be very cool too.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Around the same time I wrote my first short story. I used to get praised from my English teachers and they used to say how creative I was, and how I have a vivid imagination.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Oh, my inspiration came from doing online role-play. Consider it like acting, but through the world wide web. Because everyone loved the character I had created, I started developing a storyline to go along with my character and the rest, as they say, is history.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

No, not really. I just write what comes to me.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It literally just came to me one day. I have no idea, but I was just driving in the car one day and I had one of those ‘a-ha’ moments and that’s pretty much how it happened.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want readers to take away from Unbound Faith that no matter what happens, no matter how bad things can get, you must always have faith that it will get better.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I try to pull a lot of my inspiration from my atmosphere and people around me, so as far as Unbound Faith goes, I think about 40% is based off of real life and people.

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I can’t name just one book or author. That’s just impossible.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Nikki Ash. That chick writes some awesome books! Her books are so incredibly emotional!

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have a lot of support in my friends. Some have supported me more than others, but that’s okay.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely!! I don’t see me doing anything else!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Sorta. Kinda. There’s always something I’m going to want to change because I’m a perfectionist.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Not really. I have just always had a fascination with telling stories.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure! Here is a snippet from my current WIP, Bound by Trust. 🙂

“There’s this game, you see. Play along and follow the rules. Either you will win and everything will go back to the way it was. Or you will lose, and you’ll lose everything along with it. All your hopes. All your dreams. Everything you’ve ever loved will come crumbling down and there isn’t a damn thing you can do to stop it except brace for impact.”
“You’re a monster,” I whisper, my voice cracking. I can’t believe I thought he was attractive. Oh, how stupid I was.
He chuckles, his cold voice making my skin erupt into goosebumps. “Monster is such a complex term.”
Finn leans down and stares at me with blackened eyes that show zero emotion or sympathy. Eyes that belong to a psychopath. His lips straighten into a thin line. I swallow the bundle of nerves that have crept their way into my throat.
“I’m your worst fucking nightmare come to life.”

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Timelines. I always struggle with keeping the timelines in check.

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Nope, I wish I traveled more though.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My first two books were designed by Clarise Tan with CT Cover Creates (www.ctcovercreations.com) and Dear Dixie was designed by T.E. Black with T.E. Black Designs (www.teblackdesigns.com)

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Finding the inspiration to bring it to life.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that writing is a skill you can never truly master. You’re always learning the industry, and learned how to mold your craft into being exactly how you want it to be.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

Oh, dear. I guess if Unbound Faith was made into a movie, I would want Ashley Graham to play Jayde and I would want maybe Dan Stevens to play Zac.

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Never stop creating, never stop writing. If you have a passion for it, then you have the skills to do it. As Ernest Hemingway once said; “There’s nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.” If that phrase doesn’t scare you, I don’t know what will. Writing isn’t as easy as some people make it out to be. To be perfectly honest, it’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. But, I wanted it more than anything, so to me the hard work was well worth it.
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I have loads to say to my readers. First and foremost, thank you so damn much for reading my work! You have no idea how much your support means to me. As somebody who never thought I’d get off the ground, this is monumental to me! Second, I don’t know what I’d do without you guys! I certainly wouldn’t be writing books, that’s for sure. Seeing and reading your feedback means the absolute world to me!

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Canvas by N.M. Catalano! HAWT BOOK!!

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, I can’t. I used to read a lot of Junie B. Jones, Goosebumps, Captain Underpants, etc. Then I transitioned to Harry Potter.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

What makes me laugh? Corny jokes. I will sit and giggle for hours after hearing one. What makes me cry? Disney movies. I cry big, fat, ugly tears during most of my faves.

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I would LOVE to meet some famous authors from the late 1800s/early 1900’s. Just to pick their brain and find out what life was like back then.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

Here lies Jessica. She lived her dreams and kicked ass at it.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

READING! Watching Disney videos on Youtube while secretly hoping I will work there one day.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

DISNEY MOVIES!!! I also love Charmed, Supernatural, Once Upon a Time, Game of Thrones, oh and HGTV. I’m hooked on that channel.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Favorite foods; Pizza, ice cream, tacos

Favorite colors; Pink, black, purple

Favorite music; DISNEY, Country, Rock, Pop

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

This question can go a few ways. If I had singing talent, I would love to be a country music singer. But, since I can’t carry a tune in a bucket, I would love to maybe be a news anchor.

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Yes! It’swww.authorjlbaldwin.com

 

Facebook: /jlbaldwinauthor

Twitter: @authorjlbaldwin

Instagram: @authorjlbaldwin1

Amazon Store: www.amazon.com/author/jlbaldwin

Newsletter Sign-Up: eepurl.com/b5Q54n  

www.authorjlbaldwin.com

