Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi, I’m Georgina Ramsey, and I’m thirty-nine years old.Not long till the big 4-0!

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Yorkshire, England. I’ve always lived in the same town and have no intention of moving… well, maybe to Ireland one day. If we win the lottery!

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a writer and a teacher and live with my husband and son. We have a houseful of pets… and really should be living on a farm! That’ll be the lottery win, again!

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’ve recently released a book called ‘Stolen Hearts and Muddy Pawprints’ in the ‘About Three Authors’ series. It’s a romcom and the second book in the series; the first is by the truly amazing Patti Roberts and is called ‘Whoever Said Love Was Easy?’,and soon ‘Poison Pen’ by Val Tobin is being released.

I fell in love with the characters in ‘Stolen Hearts and Muddy Pawprints’, and there may be a plan to bring back one or two in the future if readers like them, too.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing short stories as a child – isn’t that what all writers say? But I did, and it was my way of processing normal childhood emotions. Writing has always given me comfort, and is my way of shedding the stress of day-to-day life.It’s either that or chocolate!

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Probably about ten years ago, when I started to realise I wanted it to be more than just a hobby. At the time, I was working on ‘Love Life & Cream Cakes!’ and started to discipline myself more so when it came to my writing. Discipline is very important.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book was ‘Love, Life and Cream Cakes!’ I was inspired to write it by life. Cliché, I know! To me, every life has a story, and I’m fascinated by families and how the members intertwine with one another. I also realised there weren’t many female leads in books who were overweight, and I felt this needed to be changed.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles just pop into my head, and sometimes before a plot does! The title of ‘Love, Life & Cream Cakes!’ had been floating around in my psyche for some time; it was if the book was crying out to be written. Or maybe just the cream cakes were calling me, again!

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My readers say I do. If I had to describe my writing style, I think I’d say that it’s very down to earth. I minimise the fancy words and just tell it as it is. In that sense, it’s a little conversational, or narrative, even. My books come out the way I talk.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Everything I write is fiction, but I think writers have to find inspiration from the real world, and I certainly do that. I like to write about what I know.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No, I don’t have to, but sometimes travel inspires me. That was the case with ‘Love Feels Like a Pocket Full of Snails!’ It’s set in France, and I couldn’t have written it had I not been there many times and experienced the rural culture.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Most of my covers are designed by Paradox Book Cover Designs. They are fantastic, and I feel their covers really highlight what the books are about. You should check them out.

https://www.facebook.com/ParadoxBookCoversAndFormatting/

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, there’s always a message. Love and care for one another. That’s all we can do!

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

There are so many authors I adore, such as Kerry Fisher, Amanda Prowse, Catherine Cookson, Cecelia Aherne, JojoMoyes, Marian Keyes, but in terms of new authors, it has to be Tabitha Ormiston-Smith, Patti Roberts, Malika Gandhi andVal Tobin.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Only one? Okay. The dog!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I do, and a very pleasurable one at that.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I don’t think so. But that’s only because I don’t like to look back with any regrets. I would, however, learn from any mistakes made. Writing is one huge learning curve, which is what makes it so enjoyable for me.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, that I cry like a baby!One.Big.Fat. Baby!

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

That’s a hard one. I think, maybe, Kate Winslet because she plays ‘normal’ well.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up. Treat each project as an experience and learn from it. Remember, nobody’s asking for perfection – that would be boring – so let your personality come through in your words.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you so much. Knowing that you’re out there, reading my work, means so much to me.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

‘I See You’ by Clare Mackintosh. Normally, I’m quite a quick reader, but I’ve had this one on the go for a few weeks. I just can’t seem to find the time to finish it.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Yes, Kate Mulholland by Catherine Cookson. My mum was a huge fan of hers, and she’d pass her books on to me as soon as she’d read them. I think I was about seven when I read that one. I’d obviously read countless children’s books before that, but that was my first real novel.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Family.

Work.

Books.

The news.

Movies.

Oh, and running out of KitKats!

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Any of my Irish ancestors. I’d love to know more about where I’ve come from and why they emigrated; I’m fascinated by all of that.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Cooking. I adore cooking and eating. I’m very much a chuck-it-in-and-see kind of cook, but it usually turns out to be edible. At least, the dog thinks so!

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Casualty.Coronation Street. Versailles. The Supervet.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Mint choc chip ice-cream is my absolute favourite. I could, given half the chance, eat a full tub of that delicious goodness.

 

Favourite colour? Probablyduck egg or lilac. They calm me down when there are no KitKats in the house!

 

I’m afraid to say that 80s music is my guilty pleasure. If it comes on the radio, I can’t help but dance and sing, and I don’t care who’s watching. I’m even off to see Rick Astley soon!

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Obviously, drink more tea!

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Because death is just a temporary pause in our existence.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My Facebook, Amazon or Twitter pages are the best places for that.

https://www.facebook.com/GeorginaRamseyAuthor/

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Georgina-Ramsey/e/B00CN7DJ9C/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

 

and you can find me on Twitter as @GeorginaBRamsey

Thanks so much x

 

