Name Nicholas Nash

Age 39

Where are you from New York

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc  

I stay in the concrete jungle of Manhattan with my wife and three children and enjoy every moment of it. I love to read fiction and non-fiction books which inspired me to write an intriguing thriller.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am currently working on my second novel set during the last days of World War II. The book title is still under wraps because I don’t want to give the story setting away just yet. There was an interesting time period during the Second World War that I chose as the backdrop.

Hitler died, having committed suicide, on April 30th, 1945 but the war in Europe did not end with his death. Germany continued fighting the Allies and surrendered only a week later on May 7th, 1945. During these days between his death and eventual German surrender, an unimaginable series of events took place that remains unexplained and shrouded in mystery to this very day. My second novel revolves around one of those events during that period of uncertainty, with my imagination filling in the blanks that history has left unanswered forever.

I first read about it a few years ago and I always wondered to myself, “What exactly happened there? Why did they the retreating Germans that? Who was really responsible? What were they thinking?”

I searched and searched and searched and never found any satisfactory answers. That was when I said to myself, “Hmm, that’s interesting. The magnitude of what happened then was immense and here we are over 70 years later and we still don’t know much about it.” That’s when I decided to write my second book around these bizarre events.

 

 

Fiona: When did you begin writing?

I have been writing for around a year. I started writing my book last summer. I tried writing the book in various different places in the city where I live. I enjoyed all the research that went into the book. There are so many small facts and interesting tit bits that I found while doing my research and I strung them all together into the book, be it some obscure facts about cancer, the Chinese underworld in New York or some fancy computer programs that play a key role in the book.

 

 


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The day the book launched, I considered myself a published author. Prior to that, I started the writing the book for fun. After working on it for months and seeing the whole process of the book coming together was amazing!

 

 


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I have always enjoyed reading thrillers and whodunit mystery books a lot. There were a couple of recent books and authors that influenced me to write this book. Paula Hawkins’ The Girl on the Train was an interesting read in this genre, though I would’ve enjoyed the book if it had more characters in there. At some point, I was pretty sure I knew who the killer was and I had guessed correctly. Another influence has been the movie The Usual Suspects. If you read the book, you will see what I mean.

I also immensely enjoyed Andy Weir’s The Martian. When I found out that Andy was a first time writer but wrote about what he knew best, I was really inspired to follow in his footsteps and write about topics that I knew quite a bit about – cutting edge research for cancer.

 

 


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I started writing The Girl At The Bar as a pantser, figuring out the story as I went along. After the first few chapters, I started plotting out the characters and story line.

I was attending a music concert by an indie band from New Zealand a few years ago in New York City and I met someone at the bar at the Bowery Ballroom and struck up a conversation there. The beginning of the book is similar where Ragnar meets the beautiful and talented Rebecca Chase at a bar. The title of the book is meant to signify the first meeting that sets into motion all the events in the book.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I want to introduce readers to the amazing world of cancer research. There is some truly groundbreaking research and developments taking place in the quest to cure cancer that the average person is not aware of. The biotech industry in general is making huge strides in finding unique cures for cancer. I wanted to highlight the work that I have been reading about.

The biotech industry, particularly on the research side, is heavily dominated by men. However, there are several strong well-rounded women who are instrumental in the industry either as researchers, CEOs or biotech investors. Rebecca is in some respects a composite of these real-life women who play a key role in the progress we’ve made in the war on cancer.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The story in the book is pure fiction. However, all the details on cancer are true. Also, each of the characters in the book is a composite of people I know personally, people I’ve met, people I know of or people I’ve read about. Each character is a blend of interesting characteristics from different sources.

 

 


Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My publisher at Fireflies Publishing has been very supportive. She helped design the cover and suggested great edits in a few parts of the storyline.

 

 


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to be able to write the whole day but it is difficult to get your book out there with so many books being published everyday. Someday, maybe, I will be able to concentrate on just writing.

 

 


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I love the way the book has turned out. It takes readers into a web and on a rollercoaster ride.

 

 


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I started writing THE GIRL AT THE BAR as a pantser, figuring out the story as I went along. After the first few chapters, I started plotting out the characters and story line. It was much later that I realized that I really enjoyed weaving the book together.

 

 

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The biggest challenge with all the cancer research is being able to synthesize all of this into plain language that a regular reader could understand and appreciate. That was the toughest part of writing. I was constantly afraid that readers would lose me if I became too technical in my descriptions, so that kept me on guard whenever I wrote about cancer in the book.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

None, just mind travel!

 

 


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher at Fireflies Publishing created the concept for the cover and got it to life. She has been instrumental designing it.

 

 


Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Michael Fassbender will be good for Ragnar.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

If writing is your passion, keep writing without getting discouraged. It’s awesome to see ones work published.

 

 


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I hope you enjoy reading The Girl At The Bar. I would love to hear what you thought of the book. Do leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads. I read all of them. Feel free to connect with me on Facebook @AuthorNocholasNash.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am reading What If by Randall Munroe.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet?

Albert Einstein.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Lived well and happy.

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies?

I play the guitar when I get a chance.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Recently, I enjoyed The Man in the High Castle, Walking Dead and Fargo. In movies, I had fun watching War Dogs and Nice Guys!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Food: Tapas, South Indian. I like to experiment, so this keeps changing.

Colors: Black, green

Music: There are too many to list here!!

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I would have enjoyed being part of a rock band. 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://www.authornicholasnash.com/

Website: http://www.authornicholasnash.com/

Facebook: @AuthorNicholasNash

Instagram: NicholasNashAuthor

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33240086-the-girl-at-the-bar

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Girl-At-Bar-Nash-Nicholas/dp/0998435821/ref=tmm_hrd_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

 

