Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Hello Fiona.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 

I’m Erin M. Leaf. Nice to meet you!A lady never reveals her true age. Let’s just go with I’ve been around the block, but I’m still young at heart.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

 

I grew up in Pennsylvania, and I’ve lived in three corners of the state: the northeast, the southwest, and the southeast. I’ve lived in New Jersey. I’ve worked in Manhattan.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 

I am living my happily-ever-after story: I’ve been married almost twenty-five years. I met my husband when I went to college (I was seventeen). We’ve known each other for thirty years. My two sons are grown, and they are delightful young men who know how to do the dishes and fold their own laundry.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

 

My latest release is Dawn, the third book of the Stronghold series:

The Sentries are territorial, guarded, and relentless in their duty to defend humanity from a secret, deadly menace. In order to remain vigilant, these semi-immortal men must remain aloof and solitary. No one, not even their true mate, will distract them from their mission to protect Earth from annihilation…

 

Here’s the blurb for Dawn:

 

Saige Ellis can spot a liar from a hundred yards away, and she knows her history professor is bad news. She hates the way he hides behind his stupid sunglasses and beard. She hates the way his ridiculously perfect body makes her feel. When he asks her to stay after class, she asks him what he’s trying to prove.

Isaac Dawn hates having to hide his identity, but it’s the only way he can get close to Saige without tipping everyone off about his identity as a Sentry. He knows she’s his perfect match, but she’s skittish and angry, and for good reason—her abusive father has been stalking her for years. When he asks her to give him a chance, Saige demands the truth, and he blows it.

However, when murderous aliens are real, and a mysterious shadow follows Saige home, is her demand for honesty worth her life? Can she accept Isaac’s help without losing herself?

 

Dark, the first Stronghold book, is on sale at Amazon for $0.99 for a limited time only!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 

I began writing a long, long time ago, when I was a little girl. I always had stories swirling around inside my head.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 

When I graduated college, I worked as a technical writer. That first job felt quite real!

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 

I wrote my first romance, The First Time is the Sweetest, because I wanted to tell the kind of story I liked to read, but could never quite find.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 

The title of my first romance is a play on words: the heroine falls in love for the first time, and it’s also my first book.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 

I like to write very suspenseful books. When I read, I want to be sucked into a story, so I try to make my writing as exciting as possible: no boring dialogue!

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 

Very little of my books are realistic, except for the setting. Most of my books are set in places I’ve either lived or visited: Pennsylvania, New York, Las Vegas, Arizona, Florida, Maine, and many other places.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 

I don’t travel for my books. I travel for pleasure. My books are more character driven and the settings are secondary.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 

The majority of my Evernight books were designed by two fabulous cover artists: Jay Aheer, and Sour Cherry Designs.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 

I feel it’s very important for romance readers to have characters that are strong, or become strong through the story. Readers deserve characters that make sense to them, but characters don’t always need saving. Sometimes, they save themselves and fall in love in the process.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 

I don’t have favorites! I read so much that it would be impossible to name a favorite writer.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 

Evernight Publishing is the most supportive publisher out there. Seriously. I would not be where I am today without them.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 

Oh, yes. Definitely. I also see it as a passion.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 

Nope. I love the characters in Dawn. Saige and Isaac are wonderful.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 

Every book teaches me something more about how to communicate a story to the reader. Sometimes what I learn is incremental, and sometimes it’s huge.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 

Ashmit Patel is the actor whose face I used for Isaac Dawn.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 

Read. Read everything. When you find a story that you love, try to write in that style and see what happens. Then, keep writing. Do this for a long time.

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 

I love my readers! Without them, I wouldn’t be able to tell my stories.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 

You caught me at a rare moment: I just finished reading a book (like, five minutes ago). I plan to read Lindsay Buroker’sStolen Legacy next. Her sci-fi space adventures are delightful.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 

I started reading when I was around four. My earliest memory of reading was one of those old “Jill Jumped Over” books that children read in the 1970s.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 

Life: my husband, my children, good stories, movies, the news…

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 

I’m not the kind of person who yearns to meet someone famous. This is probably because I have friends who drag me to all sorts of places where I inevitably end up meeting famous people. It’s very awkward. And hilarious.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 

I have too many hobbies! Here are some of them: hiking, photography, cooking, reading, birding, dancing… The list goes on and on. I’m insane.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 

Okay, here’s my guilty secret: I adore disaster films. Twister remains one of my favorite movies of all times. World War Z. Independence Day. I’m a sucker for explosions and ridiculous, unrealistic plots.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

 

My office is painted blood red. I find it stimulating. I love too many different foods to choose just one, but if you forced me to pick, I’d probably mention ice cream. Music? I have a really wide range of loves: from baroque to indie rock to electronic dance to pop to jazz.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 

I’d simply spend more time on my hobbies: hiking and traveling.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

 

I honestly do not care. Whatever gives my children solace, I suppose.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

I do! Here are all my social media sites:

 

Website: http://erinmleaf.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/EdgyAuthorErin/

Twitter: @erinmleaf

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/erin.m.leaf/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4355929.Erin_M_Leaf

Evernight: http://www.evernightpublishing.com/erin-m-leaf/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Erin-M.-Leaf/e/B0042TXIYU/

