Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Shawna Hunter and I’m 30 years old.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Ontario Canada.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a B.A. in sociology and come from a relatively poor (by canadian standards) family. I lost both of my parents before I finished school though I still have 4 siblings and several nieces and nephews.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’ve recently signed a contract to publish my sixth book A Touch Too Real: Secrets of the domme queen’s daughter with Wordwooze and that should be coming out in the next few months.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing my first novel a little over a year ago but I’ve been writing all my life.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I felt it was pretentious to call myself that until I was officially published and had made my first sale.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Boredom. I started writing it as a fetlife post but it just grew and grew so I decided (almost on a whim) to make the effort to turn it into a real novel.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Their Wild Little Girl was actually a marketing decision by my first publisher who specializes in Age-play novels. They wanted “little” in the title to emphasize Elizabeth’s role in a BDSM relationship. The original title was Savage Seduction which later became a joke title within my book universe.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I try to write first person so that I can really enter the character’s mind and get a sense of who they are and how they react to situations. Letting the reader experience the world and the sexuality in a direct manner also makes it a more engaging read. It is difficult, however, when writing a character with a different background, gender, orientation, etc from my own but that is also part of the fun. I suppose its a little like acting.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I try not to kiss and tell but I’ve at least experimented with most of the acts I write about. I’ve also taken inspiration from my real life but I try to limit my characters to aspects of my own personality and not to directly base them off people in my life for fear of offending or making things awkward.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Only to and from the local sex shops. I wish I could justify traveling for my work but, unfortunately, all of my traveling is done in my mind.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

That’s done through my publishers. Their Wild Little Girl’s ebook cover was done through Stormy Night and the rest through WordWooze. I don’t actually know the name of the artists but they do good work.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Be true to yourself. Never be ashamed of who or what you want. Embrace it and take the chances necessary to attain it.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I don’t pay much attention to authors. I focus on the work. That said I have always enjoyed the works of Nietzsche, Anne Rice and Drew Karpacyn. They all share a philosophy that I greatly enjoy about striving to remake the world according to your will.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My family didn’t even know until it was done. I kept my cards pretty close to my chest until I actually was published. I didn’t want to get my hopes up.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I desperately want to but no, I do have a day job to pay the bills.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In my latest book? No. The only thing I think I’d have changed was self-publishing Their Meddling Aunt.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

It’s harder to create a hate able character than a love able one. My new book will introduce the mayor of my fictional town. A man hating femdom who’s attempts to “help” her daughter are better defined as abuse. She’s stone cold, cocky and mocking. Creating her without too many redeeming qualities was a challenge because she even raises my hackles.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I couldn’t imagine. I was inspired by Nicole Kidman’s monologue in Eyes Wide Shut for Submission Backstory but for A Touch Too Real? Maybe Shailene Woodley if she put on about 100lbs.

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Write. So many potential authors obsess over the challenges or daydream about success and never actually sit down and write. Put all the thoughts aside and just write a story. You can worry about little things like continuity, editing and getting published after its actually written.

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Expect the unexpected. I do a lot of experimenting with the genre so no two Shawna Hunter books will be exactly the same. A Touch Too Real will bring something entirely new to the table.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m currently reading a Canadian scholastic book called “No Safe Harbour” a fictional diary of a girl living through the Halifax explosion. It’s the most emotionally powerful thing I’ve ever read and it keeps making me cry!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I recall a book called “Who is Coming to our house?” (spoiler: it was Jesus) that my grade 3 teacher gave me for Christmas but the first “real” book was Robin Hood.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The most random and inconsistent things. The “take my hand” scene in Guardians of the Galaxy had me weeping in the theater.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

As socially awkward as I am I doubt it would go well but I’d love to meet Nietzsche. The stories of him writing until he collapsed into seizures then getting up and doing it again were always an inspiration.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Hiking, photography and working out. I like to be able to go places others can’t reach and share their beauty.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Oh it changes constantly but anything with an immersive story that provides escapism.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Meat (all kinds), Black and Red, it changes constantly but I really like Evanescence.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

If I ever had the time I’d like to walk the trans-Canada trail with my camera. The idea of walking coast to coast and sharing the wonders of this country is appealing…though it would likely kill me. 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

To quote Red Foreman from That 70s Show: “When I die I want to be burried face down so that anybody who doesn’t like me can kiss my ass.”

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Facebook: www.facebook.com/ShawnaHunterErotica

Twitter: www.twitter.com/Shawna_Hunter_A

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14982661.Shawna_Hunter

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Shawna-Hunter/e/B01BPPELTY

 

 

 

