Hello and welcome to my blog, ​Author Interviews.

My name is Fiona Mcvie. 

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age? 

Hi, my name is Melissa Rutter and my pen name is M J Rutter and I am 25… Well, plus another 20.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am from the Dorset, seaside town of Bournemouth. I now live in Poole.

 Fiona: ​A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am married to Franie and we have two lovely children of 14 and 12. I worked in New Hampshire as a nanny and studied Creative Writing at the New Hampshire School of Art. I currently work as a benefits and council tax adviser for our local council.  Fiona: Tell us your latest news. I am about to release my 19th book. My third rock star romance.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was sixteen. I was obsessed with a book called The      Outsiders by S. E. Hinton. I started writing my own story and it took me ten years    to finish. I didn’t publish anything until July 2012 and was signed by a small  publishing house in Kentucky, USA.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not until after I had released my second book.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As I said earlier, I loved The Outsiders, but I hadn’t read anything like it from a girl’s perspective, so I came up with a story about a tomboy/girl called Bobby and her older brother’s gang. I called it Never Too Young to Die.  Fiona: How did you come up with the title? In the story, Bobby’s best friend Julie is murdered, she was fourteen and it took Bobby a long time to come to terms with it. Later, as she is older, her brother and his wife suffer a cot death, making her realize that death has no preference, that sadly, no one is too young to die. – I haven’t released this story though, it needs a lot of work.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I have written stories in the first and third person, in past tense and present, present is difficult, to write, I say instead of I said and keep to the same tense, I think that is the hardest. I write for many genres, romance, YA, fantasy, paranormal, thriller and gangster.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic ​and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My fantasy novels are not realistic at all, not with Angels, Demons and Soul Collectors. But my story, Shadows Lost is one where I bear my soul. My thriller, Back to Innocence is largely based around something that happened to someone very close to me. I try to keep it real, I don’t always have a happy ending, because let’s face it, real life isn’t always like that.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I haven’t yet, I try and base them on places I have already been to. You never know though.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Most of my covers are designed by Sassy Queens Of Design. My Lunar Ryce series, those covers were made by Amygdala Design.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Back To Innocence carried a message about forgiveness and how holding onto something so bad can control your life in every aspect. Generally though, I wouldn’t say they carry a message.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Wow, way too many to speak of. I will read practically anything, even if I find I am not keen on a story, I will read it until the end. I must confess though, I have not, will not read the paint swatch books, you know, the Fifty Shades of Whatever, sorry, that is not for me. To name a few authors I would say, Electa Graham, Stacy Eaton, K M Lowe, C L Bentham… I could go on forever. I have always been a fan of Anne Rice and Stephen King, I think that’s because they touch on the unbelievable, I am safe reading them because they couldn’t be real. I still get nightmares though.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author. 

My Friends, where would I be without them?

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes, alas, not one that can support my family though. It is a hard world to be in.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nothing, I am completely happy with everything about it.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Take a chance, no one knows what tomorrow will hold.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead? 

Male lead, Logan, I would love to be played by Scott Eastwood, female, Penny, I have no idea.

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t give up, it’s hard, it’s cut throat at times, but don’t give up and be careful who you trust. Finally, remember to copyright EVERYTHING! – I have even had blog posts stolen.

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers? 

Thank you, for being patient, for reading my work, for sharing and for your reviews.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Everything, Everything, by Nicola Yoon. Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?  Ladybird version of Cinderella, there were three balls and she got to wear a pretty dress to each.

 

 

 Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Animals to both.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Stephen King, I’d like to talk about movies and books with him. We’d drink good coffee and just talk.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Other than reading or writing? No. I don’t have time. I do enjoy a nice walk though.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Game of Thrones, waiting for season 7. Nashville, loving that at the moment and True Blood. I will watch any movies that are on. I love movies and will watch most. Again, not too keen on the paint swatch ones though.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Food- I love fruit, I adore chocolate, though I haven’t eaten any for a long time, honest.  Colours – I like blues, all kinds of blues especially ocean colours.  Music – Imagine Dragons, Taylor Swift and Coldplay at the moment, it changes, a lot.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write.

What would you do?  I’d probably go crazy, way too many voices in my head, but as long as I could have my family with me, I am sure I would be fine.

 Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone? 

Life is a journey, and like all journeys, they have a beginning and an end. It’s what you do along the way that makes your memories, these will stay with you for an eternity.  Melissa J Rutter, she came, she saw and she wrote about it.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

http://melissajrutterauthor.webs.com / https://twitter.com/melissajrutter  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7048761.Melissa_J_Rutter   https://www.facebook.com/MelissaJRutter   https://www.amazon.co.uk/M-J-Rutter/e/B00A0LWJ76

Thank you for having me, I truly appreciate it. If you are on any of the above, please drop by and say Hi. I always have something going on.

 

Bye, from sunny Poole 🙂

