Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Dawn Greenfield Ireland and I will be 70 in 2018. I started using my maiden name as my middle name when I discovered there were several authors named Dawn Ireland. I had to make sure everyone knew how to tell if it was actually me and my books.

Fiona: Where are you from?

Originally from Feeding Hills, Massachusetts. I spent almost 45 years in Houston, TX until I moved to upstate NY 12/2015. I’m about to move AGAIN to be closer to son #1in PA.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I was raised on a poultry farm and went to public school. My living room contains twenty-seven feet of custom bookcases.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’ve been working my butt off for the past year. On 6/5/17, I published Writers Preparation Handbook (ebook, PDF, audiobook, online course). My YA fantasy novel Prophecy of Thol is out to test readers now. It will be published and available summer of 2017. Spicy Chocolate, the 3rd book in the Alcott Family Adventures, is currently with the editor and this will be published summer of 2017 as well. And if that is not enough, I have just published J. Mitchel Baker’s book A Journey Within.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always been a daydreamer. Back in 1979, I had a very long commute to work. A portion of that drive was over Addicks Dam/Barker Reservoir in West Houston, which, at that time, was beautifully forested on both sides of the highway.

I’m not even sure how I got to work in one piece from all the daydreaming, but I had a story developing in my head for several days, and I started jotting notes. I had no idea that I was going to write a book. I knew nothing about writing.

But, from this story that kept building in my head, I made sure I had a lined tablet and a pen on the passenger seat. When traffic backed up, I’d write furiously. This was the birth of Prophecy of Thol.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Not until the early 80s.

I considered myself an author when I published The Puppy Baby Book. This is a fill-in-the-blanks baby book to chart the puppy’s growth and progress for the first year, much like an infant baby book. This book has been selling since 2001.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Oh boy. The title went through almost ten changes due to the many revisions of the story.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Many people tell me that I have a conversational style of writing. This is very apparent in Hot Chocolate and Bitter Chocolate, my cozy mystery novels.

 

My non-fiction books are styled after my many years as a technical writer.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I have had a wild imagination my entire life. When I started writing fiction, there were no holds barred. A lot of my friends and acquaintances end up in my books.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

All my research is done online. In the future I would like to be able to take my characters to wherever they want to go, but the Internet is my jet for now.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have several artists who create my covers.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The theme in my novels are about family, loyalty and love.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’m a voracious reader – many genres. I read 2-6 books per week. My favorite authors are many, but I love JK Rowling, S.E. Hinton, Erin Hunter, Lee Child – I could go on for days.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Manuscriptors Guild. They are no longer in existence, but I was a member from 1983 until around 1990. It was invaluable as my writing tutelage.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Since I already had a 34-year career as a technical writer, and I currently create novels and non-fiction books and courses, yes, my career is writing.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Are you kidding? Writers will keep writing and reworking their books until the cows come home, pack and leave again. We just don’t know when to quit so we have to force our hands off the keyboard and let the birthing process complete.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Making changes and listening to your editor is important.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Prophecy of Thol would most likely be unknown actors. For Hot Chocolate, I would love to see Sally Field as Lila Mae Alcott.

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Never quit. Stay away from anyone who does not support what you are doing. You can’t afford to let someone poison your budding career because we are very tender when it comes to negativity and our words.

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

After my desk is cleared from my current work load I will be dusting of two projects. My futuristic novel The Last Dog – I just need to finish the rewrite, and one of my non-fiction books/courses in my Living Smart series, What’s Breaking Your Budget? Once those are out of the way I’ll be working on the second book in the Thol series (Gifts from Thol), and book 4 in the Alcott series, Nutty Chocolate.

 

Send me an email.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading Special Passage by M.L. Ryan (book 4 in the Coursodon Dimension Series).

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Bomba the Jungle Boy

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I cry over the goofiest things, but tender news-worthy animal or people stories will have me sobbing like a baby. Laughing – that could be anything.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Michael Bernard Beckwith – I adore him.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Aside from writing, reading and watching movies, I love to cook and bake.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I do not watch traditional TV. I love to watch Netflix or Amazon Prime shows, and I love all things British!

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I love Indian food. Colors and music change on a whim.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 If there were a medical reason – like my hands didn’t work anymore, or some such thing, I’d most likely dictate what I would want written. That aside, I would teach on various subjects.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I’m not going to be stuck in the ground, so my ashes will be scattered in the wind.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 https://www.thepuppybabybook.com/

My Amazon Authors Page:  https://www.amazon.com/Dawn-Ireland/e/B005SGA8K8

 

