Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Christin Lovell, 31 years old

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Originally, Charleston, SC, however, I currently live in Tampa, FL.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie, your education, family life, etc.).

I am a single mom of 3 kids, 2 boys (13 & 6) and 1 girl (12). I work full-time as a loan officer, write on the side, and am in school to one day become a doctor.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

After a couple years away, I am finally getting back to writing new content for my readers.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

As a child, writing was an outlet and an escape for me. I wrote my first “book” at 8 years old. I typed it on an old MS-Dos computer and added archaic clipart before printing and binding it. I still have it in storage.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I became a full-time author in 2012. I had published prior, but since it wasn’t my career, I didn’t label myself as one. Today, it’s not a title I assign myself, as I am no longer a full-time author, but rather, it is a passion I elect to embrace.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The characters. As odd as it may sound, it’s as if they invaded my mind and refused to leave me alone until I wrote their story.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Titles are something that seem to naturally evolve or to spontaneously pop out mid-writing of the story.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I think every writer has a unique style centered around their sentence structures. Personally, I typically write in first person. Earlier on in my writing career, it became challenging when I wanted so badly to share other character’s points of view. As I’ve grown as a writer, I’ve learned to show the character’s views in their actions, observed by the main character, or shared in conversation with the main character, rather than try to justify a reason to insert a clip from that particular character’s POV.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I try to keep a foundation of realism in every book. For me, that connection to realism is primarily done through emotion rather than from the details of the story. A lot of that stems from my desire to read books with characters that feel relatable. That is also the reason why I tend to inject a little of myself, my emotions, and my experiences, into every book I write.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 

While I’ve traveled for writing retreats, to see family, and for work, and have certainly been inspired by the environments, I haven’t purposefully sought out a location for the specific purpose of inspiration.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

90% of my covers were designed by me. The covers done by my publishers, both past and present, have a good deal of input.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Love yourself. – It’s such a basic concept yet we seem to complicate it with fear. So many people live their lives based off of unspoken expectations from others rather than simply embracing who they are, where they are. No one is perfect. And loving yourself doesn’t mean that you believe you have the perfect body. It merely means that you refuse to punish yourself for not being where you want to be yet.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Admittedly, most of what I’ve read lately are textbooks for school. I’m one where I don’t pay attention to who wrote the book. As odd as that sounds, I’ve learned that just because I enjoy an author doesn’t mean I’m going to enjoy every book they write. When I want to read something specific, I will search and buy/borrow whatever sounds the best, not paying attention to whether it’s by a new author or a veteran.

My favorite book series is The Mortal Instruments, by Cassandra Clare. For me, that series is about the storyline and the details. There is this perfect combination of action, suspense, mystery, sci-fi, paranormal, innocence, girl power, and romance; all of the elements are balanced so well that I can’t help but devour each page again and again.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

To be honest, I didn’t have anyone. This was something that I had to pursue and conquer on my own without support. After a short time, when I shared it with my cousin, she supported me. It wasn’t until I proved myself to be successful at it that I received support from others, but it quickly waned.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

At one time I did, and, looking towards the future, I still do. I would like to make writing my full-time career again, but it’s become harder and harder to do, as the industry is ever-changing.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Once you’ve been writing long enough, you realize that your next book is always your best book. You learn and grow with each one. Every time I go back and read what I wrote, no matter how recent, I tend to cringe. The worst was editing and essentially re-writing the first book I ever published. I’ve definitely come a long way, thankfully.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

As I said, you learn and grow with each book.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I don’t stop to think about that sort of thing. While I think every writer dreams of seeing their title come alive on the big screen, it’s not something I give my time or thoughts to, especially since you rarely have casting input.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t stop. – It sounds generic, but holds so much power. If writing is your passion, never stop doing it, regardless of how many people read it, regardless of how many people love it or hate it, regardless of how much or how little you make doing it. Never stop.


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I appreciate each and every one of you, more than you will ever know.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

A Biology and Physiology textbook, and it’s definitely not nearly as enticing as a spicy romance.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I’ve always enjoyed books since I was little. Books are an enjoyment comparable to little in my life.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kids; they know how make me laugh and cry, and sometimes how to make me do both at the same time. I seriously love them for it, too.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

No. I don’t live my life wishing for another person to be present. I live in the present, embracing whoever happens to be present.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading, art, adventure seeking.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy action movies; for TV shows, most comic book based, Big Bang Theory, and VICE are a favorite.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Mexican food is always welcome in my house. My favorite color is teal. As for music, I listen to a little of everything, depending on my mood.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

What I am doing now: working in the finance industry as I pursue a career in medicine.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

All who knew her knew what it was to be loved.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Website: www.christinwrites.com
Instagram: @christinlovell
Facebook: Christin Lovell
Snapchat: @angelcheekz

Amazon Authors Page

USA   https://www.amazon.com/Christin-Lovell/e/B005H5G91M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1497344840&sr=1-2-ent

UK   https://www.amazon.co.uk/Christin-Lovell/e/B005H5G91M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1497345009&sr=1-2-ent

