Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Rhonda Frankhouser. I’m a member of the ½ century club.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Central California

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I was born and raised in the San Joaquin Valley. I earned my degree in Philosophy, Pre-Law from Cal State Bakersfield. Worked in the securities business for years, worked in hospice care for years and now finally finding myself in a writing career. Survived Cancer, married to the love of my life, have 3 beautiful step daughter and 3 ornery dogs. Life is good.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I just learned last week that my debut novel, Return to Ruby’s Ranch, is a Finalist in the InD’Tale Magazine RONE Award – Cops, Jocks, and Cowboy category. It’s a fabulous honor.

Also – my second release, HEALTH NUT CAFÉ, will be coming in October 2017.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing to heal after I was diagnosed with cancer in my late twenties.  It was cathartic to get my fear on paper.  It expanded from there to Happily Ever Afters.  After surviving, romance felt like the right genre to turn to..

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The day I signed my first contract with SoulMate Publishing.  It validated the work and time I’ve put in.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

As I mentioned above, illness inspired my first book, which is entitled MY LAST DAY.  It was my way to move through the process and beyond to healing. It saved me.  The first book I published was Return to Ruby’s Ranch.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I was raised on a small ranch that was later named Ruby’s Ranch. The story and that ranch go way beyond that little home I lived in, but it was an inspiration to me all the same. Always will be home to me.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I actually prefer writing my books in first person. I love writing from my own head, but that’s not what sold my first book.  The biggest challenge I faced was converting my first person perspective to third person in Return to Ruby’s Ranch. It was harder than writing my dissertation in college.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Return to Ruby’s Ranch is a hugely expanded version of what I remember as a young girl. The personalities are a mix of people I know with traits I find interesting in characters. There are a few events in the book that actually happened in my own life. Mostly is purely fictional.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?  

I do my best work when my mind is not distracted.  I excel when I’m in the mountains, clean fresh air to breath or in front of a fireplace at the beach. Anywhere where nature is calming me down enough to let the characters talk.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

SoulMate Publishing uses some amazing cover artists for their books.  Ramona Lockwood created the awesome cover for my book.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

My heroine NEVER gives up. She needs answers and she works hard throughout the book to find her answers. I think that’s a great message.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’m ashamed to admit that since I’m writing, and I still have a full time ‘day job’, my time to discover new authors is very limited. I’m hoping to remedy that soon. One of the first romance writers I discovered was Kathryn Harvey. I loved her STARS series. It showed me how smart, and sassy romance could be.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I have a circle of friends and believers that forced me to keep trying. I am in their debt because they were right. This has helped fulfill a part of me I’d never knew was missing.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. Hardest job ever but so rewarding.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope, I like the road my character took me on.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned that no matter how great or perfect you might think your book is, a good editor can make it better if you just listen and trust.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I think Jessica Chastain would be a great Ruby. I like Alexander Skarsgard or Bradley Cooper for Billy.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Let your inner voice free to say whatever it needs to say – edit later.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I love readers with an open mind. At first sight, Return to Ruby’s Ranch, may look like a corny cowboy story. For those who ventured to read it – they found a curious mystery and a heartwarming journey home. Oh and a hot romance to boot.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m actually reading my current WIP, Book 2 of the Ruby’s Ranch Series, Escape from Ruby’s Ranch. I’m reading it over and over and over and over again since I’m still editing.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Charlotte’s Web. Started my love affair with reading.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I laugh at inappropriate sarcasm – I hate to admit. I laugh at my dogs.  I cry EVERY SINGLE TIME when I see animal cruelty. Makes me so mad.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would love to meet Jim Morrison from the Doors, when he’s feeling philosophical.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I used to play golf five days a week. My favorite hobby with my husband. I don’t get to play so much when I’m writing.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I enjoy Big Bang Theory, Game of Thrones, and hmmmm, love and miss Bones and House but I still take in the reruns.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

Mexican food and Pizza.  John Denver, yes I said John Denver, and The Eagles. I’m retro to the max.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Well that would be a sad future without writing, but I would probably read a lot more and play more golf.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She laughed, she loved, she won the Pulitzer Prize J

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Please subscribe to https://www.rhondafrankhouserbooks.com/ to receive my newsletter for all the cool events and updates.

Return to Ruby’s Ranch RONE AWARD FINALIST Available at Amazon & SoulMatePublishing

Escape from Ruby’s Ranch, Book 2 Ruby’s Ranch Series soon to release!

Paranormal Contemporary Romance, Health Nut Café to release in 2017!

Subscribe to Rhonda’s Webpage: https://www.rhondafrankhouserbooks.com/

Follow Rhonda on Amazon, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest

Amazon Authors Pages

USA  https://www.amazon.com/Rhonda-Frankhouser/e/B01N09EUWS/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1497252456&sr=1-2-ent

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rhonda-Frankhouser/e/B01N09EUWS/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1497252495&sr=1-2-ent

