Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 

My name is Leighann Dobbs and I’m old enough to remember black and white TV, rotary dial phones and manual typewriters.

 

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

 

I grew up in Chelmsford, Massachusetts but live in Laconia NH now.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 

My career before writing was as a software engineer.  I also sold antiques as a side-job for decades.  Right now I live on Lake Winnepesaukee with my husband, my dog Mojo and my cat Kitty.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

 

I’ve just started writing a new humorous romance series with my sister and have releases in my cozy mystery series planned this summer as well as a new release in my not-so-cozy mystery series written as L. A. Dobbs.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 

I started writing fiction about 5 years ago. Prior to that I had been laid off from my job as a software engineer and had been freelancing as a website designer which included writing a lot of non-fiction articles for websites.  I wrote some non-fiction books and a friend talked me into trying fiction.  I’ve been a huge mystery reader my whole life and I was hooked after my first book.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I suppose once the first person who was’t released to me bought a book and told me they liked it!

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 

I got the idea out of the blue.  I guess I might have been reading one of the Goldy Schulz books by Dianne Mott Davidson so had culinary cozies on my mind.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 

The murder involved cupcakes and I wanted a “murder” word to go in the title and Killer Cupcakes had a good ring to it.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 

I’m not sure if I have a specific style.  People tell me they like my descriptions and feel like that are right in the scene. The challenging part is writing a mystery where the reader can’t guess the killer.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 

None of my books are based on real life. Some are actually pretty far-fetched like my  Blackmoore Sisters series.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 

Nope. It all happens inside my head.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 

I have several cover designers.  CoverKicks, Cover Reveal Designs, and Tina Adams.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 

Not really. My books are just fun reads.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 

I have so many favorites, I really couldn’t pick one.  Robert Parker because I like his mysteries, Janet Evanovich for the humor, Agatha Christi  for the mysteries, Dennis Lehane for the deep immersive writing style.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 

My readers.  I’m self published so no entity has really supported me except for them.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 

Yes, it’s my full time job and a very nice one at that!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 

Not my latest book, but my earlier ones are rather simplistic and have some errors (I’ve had them re-edited but there are still some old copies floating around).  I was learning the ropes back then.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 

Yes, I learned that butterflies can remain dormant for 5 days if kept under 60 degrees.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 

Betty White would make a great Ida in my Lexy Baker series.  She’s not really the lead, but she’s my favorite character and she does steal the show a lot.

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 

Be patient.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 

You guys are the best!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 

Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 

Yes! It was Green Eggs and Ham.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 

Humorous books and tv shows make me laugh, seeing animals mistreated makes me cry.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 

Agatha Christie.  I would love to pick her brain about writing mysteries.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 

I mostly spend all my time writing, but on the rare occasion I do something else it’s usually something easy and creative like zentangle or coloring.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 

I like crime shows mostly.  Right now I’m waiting for the final season of Longmire this summer and watching Bloodline. 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

 

Food: chocolate  Colors: pink and purple  Music: 80s rock and roll

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 

Probably be bored to death.  Not writing?  I can’t even imagine it. 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

 

I’ve never really thought about that. I don’t think I even want one.  Would rather have my ashes spread somewhere.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

I have 3 as I write under 3 names:

http://www.leighanndobbs.com

http://www.ladobbs.com

http://www.anniedobbs.com

 

 Author page:

https://www.amazon.com/Leighann-Dobbs/e/B008BH1VQQ/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1497140421&sr=8-1

 

Cry Wolf: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06ZYTNTLW

In Over Her Head: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071DH38NZ

Telling Lies: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B06XQ655PC

 

 

