Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Richard Daniels. I’m 39.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Lincolnshire

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’ve managed to avoid getting married and having children. It wasn’t that difficult. I teach in a college and I write. I try to be patient and good natured to people.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Right now I’m putting together an anthology of writing from writers that have a connection with Lincolnshire. It will be published by Wild Boar Books. At the moment its early days and we have no idea what kind of material we will get. It’s an anthology of both poetry and fiction.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Even from a very young age I loved to write stories and go into my imagination. One Christmas I received an old Olivetti Dora from my grandad. That pretty much sealed things. I loved the clunk of the keys, the smell of it. I was going to be a writer.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Maybe it was then with the typewriter but only in my own head. It felt like a dirty secret for a long time. I ran away from it and tried to find other things to do until I realised it was no use. By then I was in my twenties and began to feel I’d been living a ghost life.

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It was just the inspiration of what I thought was a good idea. It was a good idea but not at the right time, or at least rendered very poorly. It’s one of those ‘leave it in the drawer’ novels but I’m glad I wrote it. It needed to come out.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I don’t remember now but it was called Blueberry Slush. My latest novel is called Our Bright Dark Summer. That name went through many iterations, then one day the title just popped into my mind like it had always been there. I think I had been doing a lot of mental composting.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I try and write like a man who has nothing left to lose and whose only desire is to tell the story his own way and then disappear into the fog of dawn.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Our Bright Dark Summer is twisted and sculpted out of the memories I had of summers by the seaside. It’s not based on my experiences but would be more accurate to say my experience of viewing my memories through one of those red plastic view finder toys.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Not really. Only insofar as I go for long walks and mull things over.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My old friend Tom Wickstead who sometimes goes by the name of Lawn Flamingo. He is really a musician/composer. I think his pictures are great though his first love is audio.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

If I have any readers they don’t need me to tell them about any message.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’m excited by authors who are published on small presses. That often means it’s going to be striking or powerful in a less conventional way. I’m waiting for a copy of Harry Gallon’s Every Fox is a Rabid Fox from Dead Ink. I read an excerpt I thought was great. I also love the work of Tiffany Scandal, an author from Portland, Oregon. You should definitely read her latest; Shit Luck.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Well up until now the universe has allowed me to get this far – though I anticipate its jaws snapping shut on me at any time.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s the only thing I want to do. Is that a career?

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No – not at the moment.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

If you sit and write for hours at a time during the winter you’re going to get cold – so have a blanket and even a hot water bottle.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Paddy Considine

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep at it.

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Tell your friends about my book, even if you didn’t like it.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Keep the Aspidistra Flying by George Orwell

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

The ridiculousness of it all.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Buddy Holly. I’d tell him to take the bus and forget the plane.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I collect sick bags

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I loved Inside No 9by Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Pizza, black, psych garage

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 Be a gardener.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

He wasn’t an asshole

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

https://wildboarbooks.com/

http://www.richardthewriter.com/

 

 

Link to my author page on Amazon: Richard Daniels author

 

 

