Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Hi Fiona.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Guy Francis Wilgress Hudson and I am 43 years old now. Old enough to want to lie about it.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Mansfield in 1973. My family moved to Lincoln in 1976 when I was nearly 3 years old. I grew up in a village in Lincolnshire. Although I moved around a bit when I was younger I am now very settled in Lincoln.

 

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

My formal education is to, BA(Hons) English 2:1.

GCSE English attempted 5 times and failed 5 times.

I have been unfortunate with education as I was asked to leave 4 colleges in 4 successive years due to misdemeanours.

I have narcolepsy. That was the root of the behaviour troubles.

I have a family that I live with. Two beautiful teenage girls, Ruby 15 yrs and Genevieve 11 yrs. My partner Simone and our gorgeous baby boy, Simon who is nearly 2 yrs. We live in the more depraved district of Lincoln where I exist extremely locally. This is due to arthritis and narcolepsy that limits my mobility.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am about to commence editorial work on the manuscript of Free Party, A novel that is due to go to film in approximately 2021. The book is about the free party and Rave scene in the late 1980’s and 1990’s. I think this is due a retrospective and as such I am excited to be a part of the overall project.

 

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Writing was difficult for me and so was reading. I had hallucinations as a child that made reading complicated. I found writing equally enthralling and hard to master.

I became conscious of writing for pleasure and pain at school doing GCSE English. I failed the course but enjoyed the 2 hour class on Poetry so much I committed my life to poetry that very day.

I began writing song lyrics for a school band to attempt to get in the band and impress the girls. The band accepted my lyrics but not me and the girls refused to believe I had written any of it. I did manage to get in with them though.

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have always thought of myself as a writer of sorts. Just that ‘A writer of sort’s’

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Memento Mori, 2009. Were poems collected while travelling and hitchhiking. They are the poems of my youth. At least some of them are. It is a funny collection to read now. The poems are so confused by dreams and hallucinations. I performed many of these poems with Dr Keith Armstrong in Newcastle and Lincoln back in 2005 – 7.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Memento Mori, A reminder of one’s mortality. I liked the title for no reason at all. It was the working and final title. The book went to print the same day my Mother died of Meningitis.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Well I would describe the genre I write in as Poetry. It is experimental in so far as the books I have written to date have been experiments in poetic creative processes. All my books took a new root of generation for me to apply a frame work of mood about.

 

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Onesie, is an entirely fictional world that was created as a vehicle for expressing certain qualities of an existential Animism.

 

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Nope, not at all. I hardly leave the house. If you were to include mental travel then maybe, yes.

 

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have designed all my covers. It is a part of the creative process I really like to get stuck into andengage with.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

One world, one love. Hippy sounds yet the pursuit of happiness and freedom come with responsibility and should not be over looked. The world is governed by people ruling people. The things we give and share are often expected to bring financial remuneration and its frustrating when they do not. It’s a poetry collection about caring.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favourite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I love Beat era Literature. I really have been utterly entranced by the Bildungsroman novel and these are what I have read most. Herman Hesse, would be my favourite writer of fiction and for poetry, Jim Carroll.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My friend and colleague at Wild Boar Books, Richard Daniels seems to hold some belief in the creative processes I adhere to.

 

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s the only one I have now besides Rune Reading.

 

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think I can live with it for now.

 

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned a few things about a poetry collection such as; there needs to be an epicentre.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

The Only people I can think of have already died. Someone who is convincing asleep. A method actor perhaps who is able to reproduce the symptoms of narcolepsy.

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t ever give up writing if you continue to love the craft. It may not lead to riches but there will be plenty of scenery on the road less travelled.

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

In all honesty, I don’t think I have any readers.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading, Onesie by Guy Wilgress Hudson. As a part of the creative process I have not fully read the whole book as yet since being in Print. I tend to edit backwards, forwards, up and down. It all depends on where the words are leading me.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Iron Man by Ted Hughes. It was the first book that I have read where I couldn’t put it down and at the end simply gasped and said “Wow.” To myself out loud.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love to laugh. I laugh at myself and the jokes I make. I often find myself hilarious. Sometimes I laugh so much it all turns to tears and I cry.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Mahama Ghandi please. We need a man like that amongst this global community we live within and reveal the way back to peace and harmony. He was not perfect but if I were to meet him I would be ashamed of myself if he were.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I can’t mention those here.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I hardly look at the TV even when it is on. The screen tends to send me straight into cataplexy sleep fits. I enjoy listening to the TV as if it were a radio.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Music: Dub sounds, acid rock, blues and Jazz

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 I would become a transsexual maid living at the home of a wealthy stockbroker. I would do the laundry and have breakfast ready for 7.30am every morning. In the evening, I would be his slave.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Journey’s end.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

www.wildboarbooks.com or facebook at wild boar books: Out the Snout.

https://www.amazon.com/Guy-Wilgress-Hudson/e/B00385N92K/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1497098995&sr=1-2-ent

 

 

