Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Gerard Michael Poulin, friends call me Gerry.  I’m 58 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

My home town is Barre, Vermont

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a BSBA in Accounting from Castleton State University (Castleton, VT). I’m divorced with daughter, Sara, age 21.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Recently finished a second, unrelated novel, tentatively titled Sundown Liberty. It’s a Cold War-era story set in South Korea.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing in 2010 while convalescing from an illness.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I actually finished Silver Lake.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

It’s something I’d been thinking about doing for some time. When I was laid up, I thought ‘now is the time.’

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Silver Lake is a real place in Barnard, Vermont.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging? I appreciate a story that moves quickly and write accordingly.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The story itself is pure lark. The characters, on the other hand, are modeled from real people.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel?

Before or during the process?

For this particular novel, no travel was necessary.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher, Christopher Matthews Publishing.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Nothing specific.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you? I love with work of John Steinbeck. Such visual clarity, a genuine master.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Stephen King’s memoire On Writing was particularly inspirational (and entertaining).


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love for that to happen. If I don’t, it won’t be from lack of trying.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Of course. I would’ve liked to have fleshed out my characters a bit better without compromising pace.


Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes. And that is art takes time.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

There are so many talented, terrific young actors. Maybe Logan Lerman as Tom Farrell.


Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t quit.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I appreciate your faith in letting me entertain you. Hopefully, I’ve done that.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Different Seasons, Stephen King (yes, another favorite).

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Something about a circus in first grade.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Frank father/son interaction.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Harry Truman. I wonder how conflicted he was prior to bombing Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Golf.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I loved Breaking Bad.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Alternative rock and Chinese or Mexican cuisine.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

What I do now mostly, accounting consultant.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Finally.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Work in progress.

https://www.amazon.com/Silver-Lake-Gerard-Michael-Poulin/dp/1945146249/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1496933739&sr=1-2&keywords=Gerard+Michael+Poulin

 

