Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Kay and I use C.K. Alber as my author’s name. I’ll just say I’m a grandmother of eight, ranging from 2 – 18.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in South Bend, Indiana and have lived and visited all around the world. Now I’m living in Colorado.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I grew up with the maize of cornfields in Indiana and Illinois. Many years later, a trip with my husband, took me abroad and I fell in love with Europe. Later in life, I moved to Italy (where I lived for thirty years) got my teaching degree from a university in Rome, and began to put my passion for writing into stories, which I then put down on notepads.

I came back to the US in 2006 and turned those notes intotales. I first became published in 2015.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m writing a Young Adult fiction and my teenaged grandsons are helping me with the modern day language that teens use. This one will be a Valentine’s story.

AWomen’s Fiction, which actually was the first book I wrote about seven women from around the world who meet in Rome Italy, is being edited now by my critique group. Both stories should be finished at the end of this year.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I always had stories in my head as a youngster. My mother asked me to stop lying when I told a tale, but I just could not get rid of those characters that swirled around in my mind, so at a young age I began writing poems.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Writers are in my family, so I always dreamed that one day my stories could be read by others. After my first book became published I realized my dream had come true.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My three daughters encouraged me to put the love for my characters into stories so that others could read about their lives as well.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Promises became the series title and after my eighteen-year marriage broke up, what could have come from that other than my first title — Broken Promises.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write suspense with romance. I am not a plotter, so my stories are the dreams I have during the night, during a long driving session in the car, during the extracurricular activities of my grandchildren and on and on. If you ever see a writer staring out the window, he/she is at work. I read that somewhere and it’s so true.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My favorite saying is — A life experience is a learning experience. Thus The Promise Series was written. Those experiences were taken from my own experiences and from others I know.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

It’s said that you should write about what you know. My travels have helped me along those lines regarding settings or characters but I also love doing research.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Deana Jamroz is my cover artist.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Messages are hidden in the way my three published books end. Hopefully it will come across that through all of the bad things that could happen in life, the good things can and will make a survivor out of you and make you a better person from the mistakes or learning experiences.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have recently come across an author by the name of Caenys Kerr. She has become one of my favorite writers during this period as her stories take place in other countries. Her knowledge of food, wine and particular foreign sayings is incredible -making her stories seem more realistic.


Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Teaching was my career in Europe and now writing is my passion. I want others to feel the love for my characters as I feel it.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

“A Prisoner’s Promise” would stay as it is.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Research helps that learning process, especially when writing about prisons and inmates.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Pierce Bronson or Jamie Dornan for the male characters.  Or possibly Daniel Gil, my favorite extreme sports person.

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Stay with your passion.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Even though my first three books are digital, I still prefer holding a book and love carrying one when I travel.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished “Loving the Celebrity Chef.”

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I cry (silently) when a family member isn’t well. I laugh at my grandchildren’s antics.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

You will be surprised by this answer. I love “Pit Bulls and Parolees,” and “American Ninja Warriors.” Or any program that involves a good mystery.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Italian food is my favorite to cook and to eat. My color is green. All kinds of music. The louder, the better.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I can’t ever imagine not writing.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

“A story-teller at heart.”

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

www.ckalber.com

Authors Amazon Page

https://www.amazon.com/C.K.-Alber/e/B00WJ8NM0Q/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

https://www.amazon.co.uk/C.K.-Alber/e/B00WJ8NM0Q/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

