Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Beau Johnson.  Forty-four.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Brantford, Ontario, Canada.  I have my very own igloo.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have no degrees.  High school only.  I have a family though.  A wife and three boys.  As I hoped, they complete me.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I have a book coming out!  A collection of shorts titled A Better Kind of Hate.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Hmmm.  Long story is I’ve always liked to write.  Short story is life went and got in the way.  I didn’t really get back to writing until my youngest turned three, so about seven years is the most accurate number.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Ha!  I still find it hard to believe, but maybe when I got my first check for a story I wrote.  It was only eighty bucks, but really, it was so much more.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Not inspiration per se, but an idea, one placed there by Tom Pitts, a former editor at Out of the Gutter Online. He suggested I put out a book of shorts.  Duh!  I look back and sometimes wonder where my brain was and why didn’t I think of it myself.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Murder is wrong, you bet, but sometimes it has to happen.  It’s just a different kind of killing.  A better kind of hate.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I think maybe I’m a minimalist in style, or my brother has mentioned I’m like syntax on steroids sometimes.  Either way, it’s all a challenge.  Every.  Single.  Day.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Ummm, nothing to see here.  Moving on.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Does taking the bus count?

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Eric Beetner over at Down and Out Books.  Totally captures the majority of what is inside.  I love it.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Respect one another.  If not, I might have to send Bishop Rider after you.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

New?  Well, there is Eric Beetner, who did my cover.  There is Tom Pitts who suggested I put a collection together and submit.  There is also Marietta Miles, Sarah Chen, Joe Clifford.  Honestly, the talent out there it too great for me to name them all.  The one I will go on about, even though he is far from new, is Stephen King.  He more than anyone put me on this path.  First book I ever read was Misery.  I haven’t looked back since

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Tom Pitts.  Bar none.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Nah.  But I’m having fun.  I’ll never say never, mind you.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

More cowbell.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I’ve learned to become more terrified than excited as the day of release draws near.  Does that count?

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Thomas Jane, Bryan Cranston

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Rewrite.  Always.  Reading helps too, of course.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Ha!  My readers.  Nice.  For all six of you out there, I thank you.  From the bottom of my heart: thank you.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Blister by Jeff Strand

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Oh yes.  It involved Annie Wilks and Paul Sheldon and a little something Mr. King called hobbling.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

What makes me laugh is when I can laugh at myself and not take things to seriously.  What make me cry, or remove the dust from my eyes, is almost every father/son, father/daughter moment that happens on the screen.  Gets me right here.  Every time.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

My father.  To tell him I understand now, that I only want to watch my boys grow too.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Golf, bowling.  King of leisure sports, that is me.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Watching Lot with my boys right now.  Love to see there faces when they start putting things together.  Breaking Bad.  X-files, excluding seasons 7 and 8.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

All of them except peas.  Music?  The Tragically Hip.  A Canadian treasure to be sure.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Can’t.  These voices, they need to get out.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

He liked cheese.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

No blog or website, no.  The igloos up here lack the necessary wi-fi.  I’m on or around the web though.  Facebook and Instagram as well.  My twitter handle is @beaujohnson44, though I must admit I am the world’s most worst tweeter.

If your so inclined, you can also purchase A Better Kind Of Hate at

https://www.amazon.com/dp/1943402922/ref=cm_sw_r_fa_dp_t2_znq5ybPAH21JZ

