Name Annabelle Anders

Age:  Never ask a lady… LOL!

Where are you from

Born and Raised in Colorado.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My debut novel, Hell Hath No Fury, is going to release on Monday, July 17th! We’re joking that it will most likely be the hottest day of the year… J

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

As soon as I started reading, I remember the books I loved to be romances. I always wanted to be able to create something special like that. I mean, it’s a book, right? It lasts forever? LOL J

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I was about 15. I tried to run away from home, got on a plane for Hawaii. (I had a pretty good home life but I hated school).  So I emptied my bank account and made my reservations under the name “Jana Harvey.” (Name of heroine in the Harlequin book I was reading at the time), and took a cab to the airport one day instead of going to school. Well, I got caught when the plane landed in L.A. and was eventually sent home. I wrote a short story about this and I really felt like I was a writer at that point. A tragic one, of course.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Always had stories inside of me.  When my dog died, something triggered me and I wrote a full novel within a month. This was in August of 2014

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not very formal. There are rules, you know, that editors and publishers want you to follow. So I adhere but like to write how I think… except for when I’m in one of my hero’s heads.  Then I need to think like a dude.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Hell Hath No Fury?  My heroin is totally ticked off in the beginning of the story.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Even when we do everything right, things can go very wrong.  That’s when we need a little bit of help… or luck.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Oh, we always pull on both good and bad times, don’t we? I think we’ve all felt betrayed at one time or another. That’s what this book plays on…

Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Mary Balogh. Her books saved me from depression. She helped me to escape life when I needed to. I want to bring that kind of comfort and entertainment to my readers.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Christina McKnight.  I am fascinated with her work ethic and success in self publishing. I like to follow her for motivation and inspiration. She is also in one of the writing groups that I follow.

Another author, who wrote one of my all time favorite books is Maggie Fenton. She wrote The Duke’s Holiday. She released  a new one recently that I haven’t had a chance to read yet, The Alabaster Hip.  IF you haven’t read The Duke’s Holiday, though, I highly recommend it. It is REALLY funny, but also touching and sexy.

Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My burning desire to quit my job… so my bosses… corporate mentality. So a big thank you goes out to my old General Manager for keeping me just frustrated long enough that I keep writing. LOL

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely, but it needs to be treated as such.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Always.  They are all like gardens that need to be weeded. It seems like I learn new things with every book, things I could have done to make the previous ones better.

Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I wasn’t’ really outgoing in school. Can be whoever you want when you write.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I’ve completed a four-book series called Lord Love a Lady.  My editors and I are prepping it for release beginning late this fall. I LOVE THESE BOOKS. Especially the last one. Although they each can be read as a stand alone, the last book, Penelope’s Passion, pulls everything together. I balled like a baby as I wrote the last chapter.

Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Keeping titles and names, estates, etc. organized in series with multiple characters…

Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, but I’d like to. It can’t hurt to see a bit of England, now could it? LOL

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The publishers choose the artists and I’ve been very lucky. J

Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Getting it cleaned up for publication.

Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

People grow… characters need to grow. It’s a part of what makes a book really good.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Nicole Kidman

Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?j

Write a full book without getting too involved in editing it. Leave that for later.

Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I love talking with you all! Love to talk about my characters with others who love them too! Otherwise I’m just a crazy person making stories up inside my head.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I read books for my critique partners but have to slip them in between all of my edits, rewrites, marketing and writing days. When I need to escape, though, I always go back to Mary Balogh…

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Are you there God, It’s me Margaret?  Not the first, but the first one that impacted me

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Seeing other people laugh and cry. I’m a pretty empathetic person. It’s hard for me not to cry when I see somebody else struggling.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

Fictional ones… lol  I’m usually disappointed by larger than life personalities. I mean, I met Mary Balogh last fall at the Historical Romance Retreat in Spokane and was totally tongue tied.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

She never gave up, so… obviously something has gone terribly wrong.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Singing, photography, I love music though… (Don’t hate me but I love singing sappy songs at Karaoke)  And I love my Wiener dogs.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

BBC Productions. Especially Puldark… North and South… I tend to rewatch my favorites.  I don’t like a whole lot of change.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Any food I don’t have to cook myself, Royal blue, and sad songs. Adelle, Christina Perri…

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I’d like to have been a labor rights attorney…

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Most of my energy goes into managing my Facebook page and twitter. I’m working on the website right now but getting it to synch up with mobile aps makes it harder than it used to be…

www.facebook.com/happywritinggirl

www.twitter.com/AnnabellReadLuv/

www.annabelleanders.com

www.instagram.com/annabelle.anders/

 

