Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Michel Prince and I’m about to be forty.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

The Midwest. I live in the Twin Cities currently.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I met my husband in college at Iowa Wesleyan College where I earned a degree in History and Political Science. We have one boy and a dog. Most days are spent on a sideline somewhere.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

 

I’m about to release my 30th book. How in 5 years I’ve done that I’m not sure. Thankfully I had quite a few written before I got my first contract. Book four in my Love by the Yard Series Fourth and Goal was supposed to be the last, but due to the series popularity there will be four more.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve written little things for most of my life, but my first real step was in 2009. Frustration over a book had me going back to a scene I had in my head. That spawned my first series.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When my first book came out in print. Even after signing a contract it didn’t seem real until I held it in my hand.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 

Again, frustration with the way a popular book finished. As I looked for a book to reflect the type of men I knew and wanted to see as heroes I discovered I needed to write them myself.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 

For my latest series, Love by the Yard, each of the titles reflect the player’s position. First and Ten- running back Jerome Speed, most teams will have a running back take the handoff. Second and Short-Left tackle Dalton Gresham, most short yardage, especially when it’s just a few inches requires a hard push from the line. Third and Long-Tight end, now coach, Xavier Jackson, seven to nine yards out you’ll use a tight end on a slant route usually. Now with Fourth and Goal-Quarterback Beaumont Guthry, in general most football series start with a quarterback and like I said I wasn’t expecting to go past book four so I wanted to include a quarterback.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 

I’m a pantser by nature, but as my books are getting more complex I’m becoming a plotter with bibles and drawing out of worlds. The challenge I face is I enjoy multiple genres. One moment I’m in a paranormal world, then I’m thrown into a stadium, then a classroom and then aliens take me away.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 

Whether it’s paranormal or contemporary there is a little bit of me in every book. Experiences, catch phrases or research I’ve done. I love when paranormal books make you second guess what you see and that happens best when you tie in real places. As far as my contemporary I’ll spend time figuring out timelines, talking to experts whether it’s a doctor or nurse to get dosages right. Or sitting down with current or former NFL players to find out that Tuesday is their day off most weeks and how many meetings they have and travel times. There is some license you can take as an author, but if you continue to have realistic issues it causes readers to disengage no matter how good your story is.


Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 

I get ideas when I travel. Most of my research of an area is done on the internet. In the cyber age we do have a street view cameras everywhere. Mix that with tagged posts and restaurant menus you can learn a lot about a place.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 

For my football series it is my publisher. I supply the images because I also have a stock art site. Most of my self published pieces are done by Dusk To Dawn Designs with my images.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 

In Fourth and Goal you meet people that seem to have everything, but fear that next step. Even with the safety net of a supportive family, they have to over come their fear to grow up and fall in love.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 

New authors, Ines Johnson, has a fresh new voice. I have quite a few favorite writers, but Darynda Jones humor keeps me entranced when I read.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 

Kathryn Harris, she runs Paperbacks Plus Bookstore in North St Paul. She’s a great supporter and supports authors in every step.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I pray one day it can be. I have the stories inside me.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 

Not this one. My first one I would have held out for a different publisher. I feel I’ve been trying to make up for mistakes in my first release.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 

I learned about private planes and more about Chicago. Since I don’t live in the city each book in the series has shown me new neighborhoods.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 

My hero is young and cocky so ZacEfron. Rachel McAdams might work for Esme. She’s got the comedic timing needed to deliver some of her zingers.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Write. Don’t worry about the rejection letters or sales. Write. Each word you put down teaches you something. You’ll hone your craft and soon be sharing laughs and tears with your readers.


Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 

Thank you. The fact my series went from four to eight is 100% because of you. Whether it’s your encouragement, joy for characters, reviews or sales you’ve helped me create my characters.

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Bound by Submission, by Jenna Jacob.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Changeling was one of my favorites when I was little, but I’m sure Frog and Toad were my first books.

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 

Sarcasm and intelligent banter makes me laugh. Crying comes from characters I’ve connected with and can feel their pain.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 

Kevin Smith. The more I learn about him the more I want to buy him a beer and pick his brain.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 

I cross stitch.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 

I’m a junkie. I love Walking Dead and Game of Thrones. Superhero movies and John Hughes type movies. But a good sci-fi show or movie written by Joss Whedon will get me every time.

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

 

Give me a good cake donut and I’m yours. Lilac is my favorite color and music is like reading I love it all. You never know what will be on my playlist.

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d focus on my photography. Expand and do more. I know my models would be happy because I have so many images I haven’t put up yet.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Her word was trusted.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

www.MichelPrinceBooks.com

https://www.amazon.com/Michel-Prince/e/B007XWI6OA/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1496826318&sr=8-1

