Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 

Hello, Fiona, and thank you for having me! I’m Lindy S. Hudis and I am 49 years old. I am going to be 50 in September and I can’t wait!

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

 

I grew up in Germantown, Tennessee, but I have lived in Southern California for the past 25 years. I consider myself a Californian. I also lived in NYC for a few years to attend NYU, so I guess you could say I have been around.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I attended New York University Tisch School of the Arts and studied Drama. I am married to an actor-stuntman Stephen Hudis and we have two kids, Cameron and Veronica, both of whom want to be actors and writers. I guess they inherited my artistic bug.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

 

I have an incredible Rock Star Romance Boxed Set that has just been released! There are some really amazing rock & roll romance authors. It’s called “Get Rocked Vegas” and it is available on paperback and Kindle. If you like erotic romance with a rock& roll flavor, this boxed set is for you!!

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

 

I grew up reading Judy Blume, Jackie Collins and Stephen King.  I just fell in love with reading, and then one day I thought “I can do that” – so I did!

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 

When I was first published. That was a major boost to my confidence.  Sometimes I still don’t really consider myself a writer, then I get that jolt of positive energy and think to myself “This is what I am meant to do.” So I do it!

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 

I was pregnant with my daughter, and was quite literally bored out of my mind. So I just sat at my computer and starting writing a story, just for something to do. I wrote a little bit every day, then one day I realized that I had written 200 pages. So I sent out query letters and kept on plugging away. I published my first book WEEKENDS.

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 

I have always found weekends to be romantic and sexy! It is a fantasy of mine.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 

My stories are very character driven, coming from an acting background helps me develop my characters, so I bond with my characters. I let them tell me what they want to do. They tell me the story.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 

My book CITY OF TOYS is inspired by my years as a struggling actress when I was living in Hollywood. It’s a work of fiction, but inspired by actual events. It’s not for the faint of heart. It’s general women’s fiction.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 

Most of my work is set in Southern California, so I travel around here.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 

The publisher usually does, there are some amazing artists out there.

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 

It’s art, and it is all in the eye of the reader.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 

I love how prolific Stephen King is, and I love how character driven Jackie Collins is. Her characters are so over-the-top it is just an adventure living that fantasy life through them. That is what I wish to do with my writing – to take the reader on an adventure.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 

My late father-in-law was the English comedy writer Norman Hudis. He wrote for BBC television writing the “Carry On” series. He also wrote for American television shows back in the 70’s. He told me I was a “good commercial writer”, and that is all I needed to hear!

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 

Yes! I do!

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

 

No, never!

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 

I was inspired by all the amazing authors in the boxed set. They are some talented and driven writers.

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 

Myself!, lol.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 

Never, ever ever give up. Keep plugging away. There is a reader for every genre.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

That I am in the process of writing another book right now. I have a November deadline to finish. I won’t go into too many details, but it’s the first installment of a new cozy mystery series.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 

The Power of Positive Thinking by Norman Vincent Peale. I read it every year. It’s an incredible book, very inspiring.

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 

My kids, they are so funny.

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 

John Lennon. He was so brilliant and had such a positive message. He seemed like a real down-to-earth guy as well. He seemed creative and kind.

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 

I am a fitness buff. I am a certified personal trainer and I am a gym rat. I love to exercise and help others reach fitness goals.

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 

I love crime shows, like Forensic Files

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

 

Rock music! I love to cook Thai food too. Pink and yellow are my favorite colors

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 

Just sit and think weird thoughts, I guess, lol.

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

 

Bad-ass author!

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

Of course! Here is all of my info:

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/LindysHudiserotica/

Twitter:

https://twitter.com/Lindyscribe

Amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Lindy-S.-Hudis/e/B009PODN24

IBooks:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/lindy-s-hudis/id543411740?mt=11

BookBub:

https://www.bookbub.com/authors/lindy-s-hudis-7465b3c0-d0b3-42fc-89c1-a83769b363e9

My Websites:

http://lindyshudiserotica.tripod.com/

&

http://lindyshudis.tripod.com/

 

 

