Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi y’all. I’m Sylvie Stewart and I’m 43 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m originally from Indiana, but I live in North Carolina now. I was clearly born in the wrong state.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’ve been married for fifteen years and have twin boys who are about to turn nine. They love talking about poop and have a lizard who seems to do nothing but poop. I went to Notre Dame for my undergrad (Go Irish!) where I majored in Communications, and then I went on to get a Master’s in Graphic Design from Indiana University. Our family loves to kayak and camp and do all sorts of outdoorsy stuff. Okay, that’s a lie. I’d rather be in the air conditioning, but I suck it up or life would be boring!

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Ooooh. This is a good one! One of my novels (The Spark) just won the National Indie Excellence Award for Romantic Comedy!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Writing is something I’ve always done, but just for myself. It wasn’t until last year when my kids were in first grade that I finally said, “What the hell!” and gave publishing a try. Three books later and I’m going strong.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think it was when I finally announced to my family that I’d published a book. The feeling was pretty incredible!

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’d just put down the fifth book in a row that I couldn’t bring myself to finish reading. I was frustrated that I wasn’t finding any satisfying reads (I just happened to be in a rut at the time—I know the world is filled with tons of fabulous books. Unfortunately, none of them were on my Kindle at that moment). I sat down at my computer and figured I’d take a crack at writing a book I’d love to read. It’s been awesome so far, and the feedback has been really gratifying.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The Fix was just stuck in my head from the beginning. I love words with more than one meaning.The Spark couldn’t have had any other title because the female main character wouldn’t allow it (her name is Fiona, by the way – lol). The Lucky One was partly inspired by Loggins and Messina’s Danny’s Song, the first line of which is, “People smile and tell me I’m the lucky one.”

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Romantic Comedy is my specialty.

Writing humor is hard. You can’t just sit down and make yourself write something funny when your mood doesn’t fit. I tend to write in random bursts, and I am a terrible procrastinator. My favorite part of writing romantic comedy is the snarky banter—I love that!

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

So many aspects of my books come directly from my life. Each female lead shares some personality trait with me (usually the annoying or troublesome kind), and my husband is responsible for some of the cringe-worthy things the guys in my books say. I also have a recurring character who is basically both of my kids combined.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Nope. All my books are based right here in North Carolina!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I design the covers myself since I have a background in graphic design. I also do my own teasers and video trailers.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Love is always better with laughter.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have a special love for Kristen Ashley. I want to have her babies. She writes in so many different sub-genres that there is always a book of hers that fits my mood.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Several friends have been extremely supportive, always buying my books on release day and leaving reviews. And, I have to say, other members of the indie author community have been invaluable to me on this journey.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s certainly my goal to write full time and earn a respectable salary. I treat it as a career, giving it the time I feel it deserves.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I love it just the way it is. Ask me again in a couple months when I’ve gone back and found a missed typo, though!

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Listen to the characters and trust my gut.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Yikes – that’s so hard! I feel like they’re my friends, and they live in my head as their own individual people. To assign another face and voice to them would be so hard to envision. Not that I’d turn the opportunity down, mind you!

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t hire an editor until they show you credentials and you read several books they’ve edited!

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you so much!! You guys rock and are so supportive. I’m stoked to be able to make you laugh and swoon!

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading about five books at once, for some odd reason… Lisette Kristensen’s Running Blind, YM Zachery’s Highlander at Heart, Abbi Glines’ Up in Flames, Emma Chase’s Royally Matched, and I just started re-reading Kristen Ashley’s Rock Chick series because I was feeling nostalgic.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t remember the first book I read, but I do remember the first book I bought at a book fair. Sylvester and the Magic Pebble. I think I read that thing a hundred times.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My friends, my husband, my kids, movies, and books make me laugh. Music makes me cry, but I love that it can do that.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I could probably come up with a list a mile long, but I would love to have met Jane Austen. To pick her brain would have been a real treat.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading, kayaking, giving my husband a hard time, anything crafty, and I’m trying gardening with mixed results. If you need any cucumbers, just let me know…

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a sucker for competition reality shows – The Voice, Project Runway, Top Chef. I will also watch just about any sitcom. As for movies, I’m pretty much a RomCom girl, if you couldn’t have guessed.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Burritos!

 

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d go back to design and I’d probably open an Etsy shop because I am ridiculously crafty.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I’ll be back. (Just kidding)

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

www.sylviestewartauthor.com

http://facebook.com/SylvieStewartAuthor

 Authors Amazon pages

https://www.amazon.com/Sylvie-Stewart/e/B01ESDMZY8/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sylvie-Stewart/e/B01ESDMZY8/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1496710080&sr=1-2-ent

 

