Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Sai: My pen name is Sai Marie Johnson, I’m nearly 33 years young.

Fiona: Where are you from?

Sai: I was born in Eugene, Oregon but at the age of 11 my mother moved me to Nashville, Tennessee. I lived in the middle TN area for thirteen years of my life, until moving to East TN and spending a few years in Southern Alabama. I missed my home state of Oregon though, so in early 2014 I moved back after completing my education.

 

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

Sai: I’m a country girl with city influence. I speak Spanish fluently and used to be a translator but in the past five years of my life I’ve suffered from extreme hearing loss and now writing is my primary means of communication.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.
Sai: As of this past Monday, May 29th, I’ve released my 13th book and 3rd traditionally published one, Embracing His Empire.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

Sai: This question is always odd for me because if I answer honestly the answer is at the age of five but to answer on a professional level, I only began writing about six years ago. The reason why is because I’ve always been good at it and the older I got the more I realized that I loved doing it, was good at it, and that it could better the life of myself and my children.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Sai: I considered myself a writer long before I ever became a “real” one, so to speak. I’ve been writing poems and stories for my entire childhood so it’s hard to pinpoint when I honestly considered myself a writer but I considered myself an author once my first book was actually published in July 2013.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Sai: My first book was a poetry collection and so there were a lot of things that inspired it but I published it so that I could call myself an author and to learn how to self-publish before I got my traditional publishing deal.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Sai: This book is entitled, “The Writer’s Waterfall,” which is a
metaphor for the waterfall of words that I feel pour from my head when writing poetry.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Sai: I think it is a little hard to say what my writing style is, but
I’ve been told by readers that I have a unique and poetic flow that formulates words in ways that is unlike many others. As far as genres go, I don’t subscribe to being a niche or genre writer. I am a multi-genre author and I write whatever I’m inspired to write. However, with that being said my most successful works have mostly fallen into the contemporary romantic suspense and erotic paranormal suspense categories.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Sai: For my current release, none. This book is complete fantasy fiction and I wrote it because I had a daydream about a rich girl hitting a soldier over the head with a vase in an older time. This became the working idea that developed into “Embracing His Empire.”

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Sai: No, not really. I enjoy traveling because it helps to ward away writer’s block for me. Being in nature really helps settle my gypsy soul and I use it for therapy and to inspire new worlds.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Sai: I designed the covers for all of my books except the three
published with Blushing Books Publications, the designer of the covers for “Simply Scarlet,” “The Softer Side of Texas,” and “Embracing His Empire” were all done by a wonderful artist who works for the publisher directly. She’s an amazingly talented young woman and I’m extremely impressed with ABCD Graphics, who does all the covers for Blushing Books publishing.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Sai: In some of my novels there is a lesson. In “Simply Scarlet” that lesson is to learn your surroundings and trust your intuition and to not allow your sexual lusts to lead you into worlds that are dangerous even if they are sensuous. It’s basically a story meant to shed light on how sadistic people use the BDSM underground to abuse and how to avoid becoming a victim by being aware and not naive.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Sai: I have a lot of favorite authors but I’ve been most interested in a beautiful young woman who is the author of the Blame It on the Shame Series, Ashley Jade. The reason why I like her so much is because her ideas and content are similar to my own and she isn’t afraid to take risks just like myself. She writes what she wants to read and she does it with a finesse that is remarkable.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Sai: I haven’t had a lot of support from family or friends when it comes to becoming an author, that being said I do have a few people who did encourage me all the time to go after this dream. I’ve dedicated several of my books to those people because of it and every time I publish another book, it’s a way of saying thank you to the folks who did believe even if they were few and far between.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Sai: Yes, it is a serious career for me and I’ve went to college to pursue it and am continuing in on my Master’s degree to keep pursuing it. I fully intend to be a full-time novelist by the time I am 35 years old.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Sai: No, I wouldn’t change anything about the story at all but I may have lengthened the edition to a full 40,000 words. To be honest though I think this book is perfect how it is.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Sai: I learned that people don’t respond as well to empirical romances as I had hoped they would, which saddens me because they’re great time periods especially for romance.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Sai: Caecelia Servili should be played by Britt Robertson and I think that Scott Eastwood would be a great Xenocrates or Kitt Harrington.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Sai: Connect with the like-minded and grow your platform. It’s crucial to your success. I know all authors want to write and do basically nothing more but if you want to have a real career as an author you’vegot to learn other skills. Self-teach yourself how to do teasers andgraphic art, learn all about Amazon and their policies. I promise it will help you in the long run.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Sai: I’m a huge advocate for the Kindness Revolution. Be KIND. Always. Even when someone else isn’t being kind to you. If we all make a pledge to behave and treat others with compassion and respect then we could really make an impact on our world. I want to be the change I want to see and I’d like for my readers to understand and do the same.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Sai: Passion by Lauren Kate

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Sai: Oh, gosh, no. I imagine it was probably the Biblical Stories for Children book I had as a child and I believe the first story was that of Adam and Eve but I don’t remember for sure the first book I ever read.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Sai: I don’t really know how to answer this question. I definitely don’t want people to know what makes me cry but I will say that traumatic events have that affect on me sometimes. Things that make me laugh are easier because I feel that laughing at all things is best for the soul.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Sai: Yes, there are a few actually. Most recently, Chris Cornell. I was really devastated by his passing and the knowledge that I’ll never be able to meet someone so incredible and influential.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Sai: Yes, I love to go for country drives and take nature photos. It’s
my favorite thing to do beside writing.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Sai: All the shows I love most are coming to an end! It saddens me
quite a lot but my favorites that ended this year are “Grimm,” “The
Vampire Diaries,” and “Sleepy Hollow.” I have a tendency to prefer
horror shows over anything else.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Sai: Purple, Tacos and basically all Mexican food and musically I’m a
total eclectic. I listen to any and everything in every genre there
is. I’ve always believed that to limit oneself to certain genres was
to limit one’s mind from experiencing new things and I never wanted to
be close-minded, so I gave all music a chance and can honestly say I
love artists from all genres.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Sai: If I couldn’t write I would basically be screwed because I’m not able to work in normal workplace settings due to being nearly profoundly deaf. This means, if I couldn’t write I’d be in a dire circumstances that I’d rather not think of. Being disabled is awful and it’s hard to explain to someone who doesn’t understand it firsthand. I take good care of my hands because of how imperative they are to my craft.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Sai: I don’t want to be buried nor do I want a headstone. I’d rather be turned into a tree and have my ashes buried with it. If my family wanted a placard with the tree I’d probably ask for them to put this quote because it is the essence of myself, “I’m just a woman with a dream and a pen…” ~ Sai Marie Johnson

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates,
events and special offers?

Sai: I sure do! http://www.saimariejohnson.wordpress.com but the best
place is my reader group, Sirens of Sai Marie at
http://www.facebook.com/groups/sirensofsaimarie

Amazon Authors Pages

https://www.amazon.com/Sai-Marie-Johnson/e/B00EE8A52W/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

https://www.amazon.com/Sai-Marie-Johnson/e/B00EE8A52W/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

EMBRACING HIS EMPIRE on #Amazon:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072C8TGG5/ref=sr_1_4…

Embracing His Empire!!

BLURB
Caecelia of House Servili was born and bred to be a powerful woman
with an education and the life of splendor as a senator’s daughter,
but when a foreign enemy sieges their estate, killing her family and
abducting her, her entire world changes.
Now the captive of a strong and dominant king from the enemy kingdom,
she learns truths about her past that will challenge everything she
imagined for her future. In the process, will she learn to love the
man she was destined to spend her life with?

Book trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iVT3Ei-Q-_g

