Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hello. My name is Danielle Bigsby but some know me by my erotic alter ego, Nasti D😜😜😜

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am Nashville, TN. Born and raised.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

My family is a little complicated but I have a birth family, an adopted family, a God family and a Spiritual family. I am the mother of four beautiful children who give me a reason to live. I have several degrees including an Associates of Applied Science in Massage Therapy and an Administrative Assistant with Accounting Emphasis Diploma. I have also taken Music Technology and Business Management Courses.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Well my latest news and accomplishments include celebrating my one year anniversary of my erotic radio show on Queen City Bullies Radio inspired by my erotic poetry collection, NastiDesirez titled Raw Sex Uncovered. Also celebrating two of my children, Te’Ontez and DanterryiaBigsby becoming authors.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing when I was twelve years old as an outlet for my emotions.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When Iheld my first book in my hand for the very first time.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My adopted brother Juan Bell. I had been writing poetry since I was twelve and performing it for family on holidays. My brother told me that I should write books in 2014. I told him that I had no idea how to do it so no. He died in September of 2014 and I decided to make his dream for me come true. I started living what he saw in me and made writing my career.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

All of my titles are unique because they speak a truth to a part of my life.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

My writing attempts to push the envelope. It is very real and raw sometimes even nasty! The hardest part of my writing style is reliving certain situations and emotions.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

With my erotica, the world may never know.😜😜😜 But with my other titles, there is some element of my personal truth in every one.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I have to travel to promote them most definitely. Now when writing, I may write in the park, coffee shop, kids game practices, etc. I will write anywhere! I keep pen and paper on me at all times.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Braving the Storm- Me

Hood Love-Me

Deadly Pride- Me

Hood Love 2- Me

NastiDesirez- Mario Patterson

From A Rock To A Diamond- DollHouse Designs

I have also used others. My current go to guy is Navi’ Robins of NorthshoreDesigns.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Braving The Storm: “Sometimes you have to learn to dance in the rain while braving your storm in life. I am living proof that it gets greater later.”

Hood Love & Hood Love 2: “Put down the guns and Just Live! Don’t let the victims of gun violence lives be in vain.”

NastiDesirez: “Be as nasty as you want in that bedroom with no fear of what others think. Enjoy sex on your own terms.”

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

New authors that have currently caught my attention are Fabiola Joseph and Navi’ Robins as well as PenGame. A few other notable mentions that I am dying to read are: Dean Swift aka BlaccTopp, Shawn Starling and Raynesha Pittman. The hustle of these authors is what caught my eye and of the ones that I have read, their work is definitely a solid representation of their brand. My all time favorite authors are K’wan and Zane. K’wangives you deep storylines and well developed characters that you either fall in love with or you hate. Zane serves up sex so hot and steamy that you can’t help but to love her.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I have to give you two. They are Don’t Read Me, Read A Book (DRMRAB) and Queen City Bullies (QCB). These two entities have shown me more love and respect than I can ever put in words. They are there on business levels as well as personal levels. These two definitely have my loyalty. I also have to mention my Spiritual Mother, Ms. Choo. She had been my rock and solid foundation through this process. I have cried to her as well as laughed with her. She is very dear to me and I pledge to give her the world once I hit it big!!!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

It’s my passion so I never see it as work but it is my career because it’show make my living.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I actually already am. I learned some valuable lessons with my latest release and I am grateful for every new brick in my foundation as an author. This journey has beenwild but it’s something that I wouldn’t trade for anything in the world.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

As I stated in the previous question, I learned lessons that will stay with me for a lifetime.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I feel like no one can play me better than me so me.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Stay true to yourself and remain humble. Put out your work when you feel it’s ready and most of all, DO YOUR RESEARCH!!!

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

An author’s measure is not how many mistakes they make but the way they take ownership and fix the problem. That’s an author who values their brand as well as their supporters.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Prada Plan 5 by Ashley Antoinette

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

It was either Flyy Girl or the Coldest Winter Ever that made me enjoy reading again but it was K’wan’s work that made fall in love with charcters and stories. His books pulled me in and made me feel like I was right there. They also provided a much needed entertaining escape from my day to day life.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I’m goofy so anything can make me laugh and I’m a Pisces so I’m naturally emotional. But seeing my children hurt rips my soul apart. My four babies are my rocks and if something is off with either one of them, my heart will break and the tears will flow.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Yes. K’wan. I have to meet my favorite author!!!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Crocheting, Making tutus and coloring

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The ID Channel, Snapped, Empire, American Ninja Warrior, Law and Order: SVU, The Voice, So You Think You Can Dance, Glee

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Favorite Food: Fried Ribs; Macaroni Tomatoes

Favorite Color: North Carolina Tar Heel Blue

Favorite Music: R&B (preferably Old School); Gospel; Rap; Coumtry… My musical tastes are diverse. Music eases my mind. I always have a pair of headphones because I have to write to music.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I can’t imagine that. I am going to do this forever even if I stop publishing.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Real & Raw…. She lived life with no filter!!!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

It is currently under major revisions but I can be reached at:

FB: Author Danielle Bigsby

IG: daniellebigsby

Twitter: AuthorDanielleB

GoodReads: Danielle Bigsby

 

My Radio Show can be heard at/on:

Queencitybullies.com

Tunein.com

Queen City Bullies App (Play/Google Play Store)

Kodi

Fire Stick

The show airs at 1 PM EST & 11 PM EST 7 Days A

 

 

 

 

 

