Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

  1. Nation and I am 70

Fiona: Where are you from?

I grew up in North Idaho, married when I met my husband who traveled a lot in his work to the East and South in Texas. I am retired from retail and now live in Idaho and Arizona.

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am the first born of three siblings. I received a degree in Idaho for Computer Information Systems. I had a successful screen print and embroidery business in town which fulfilled my creative energy. I raised three poodles, one after the other, no children. I’m one of those people that if I have a problem, I fix it or find someone who will.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m almost done editing my latest book, Fatal Error, the Seventh Saga in my series and the ninth book I have written.

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

In 2011 I was in a library in Yuma, Arizona where we were staying for the winter and saw a sign that said, “if you have a story, our writing club meets on Tuesday” Having nothing else to do I signed up and found it was a working writing club. Two years later I published my first book, Similar But Not the Same. I chose sci-fi as my genre because it gave me more flexibility.

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After my first book was published and sold.

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to project how we as humans may be living in the future and how some of the mistakes our leaders do today can affect our lives long term.

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

In Similar But Not the Same,my aliens looked like us but were socially different than us. As for Fatal Error, this has to do whena human accidently kills someone andusing humanoid androids as a work force. Is the robot obligated to tell or just record. Will they follow the three laws of robotics?

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Since I have never taken writing classes except for a couple of online courses and college English, I like to present the location, the main characters, and the event that brings everyone together. I have beta readers that help me with grammar and thoughts on how to make it better. My writing club has guided me a lot in this area.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

In my urban fantasy, Where Did They Go? And The Pottery Sale, which is present time and near my home, some situations have happened to me. Such as a Corelle dish exploding on the kitchen table. Things disappearing and returning. If you have bifocals, you’d understand. In Fatal Error, the accidental death has occurred. I have watched a lot of movies, have read a lot of mystery novels, and I pay close attention how people interact with others.

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Sometimes, but I try to finish my work before we head south or north. If I don’t, it is still waiting for me to return. I write the night before and put that on the computer during the day.

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I do. I was not satisfied with kdp/createspace pictures. They didn’t represent what I was writing about. From my screen printing business I inherited the Corel Draw program. It’s like Photoshop. With that I can manipulate my photos.

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

When I began writing my first book, I had no idea that religion or concepts like retribution would be something I would attain. I have been exposed to vindictive people, so I use that in a few books. I try to show how the wrongs in this world can be righted in the fantasy world.

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’m a fan right now of J.A. Jance and C.J. Box. I have read all the Asimov, Agatha Christie, Georgette Heyer, and Tim Stout books. Their work is the mystery, who done it and how the main character solves the crime.

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

The writing club, Writer On the Edge, in Yuma, Arizona. Everyone there has been helpful and easy to get information from.

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No, I do this for fun. I wish for more sales but I don’t need the stress of tracking down an agent that won’t give you much in royalties. I don’t have to do this, but since I enjoy writing, what do I have to lose? By the way, I am self-published.

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Since it’s not quite done by the readers yet, I am thinking about make the first chapter the Prologue. As my betas send me updates, I sometimes think of another scene that should have been mentioned. For right now, it is what it is.

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Memories became more vivid. Some of the early scenes in the beginning have happened in my presence. This is my ninth book and with each writing, I get better in the showing and less in the telling.

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

The lead would have to have some American Indian descent because he’s Navajo. He’s broad and tall with long black hair. Sorry gals, I married him off. I really don’t know any current actors that fit the bill. Maybe someone in your readership can throw out some ideas.

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Read, read, read. Then write like nobody cares.

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I am sure you will all like my stories. They are fast paced, thought provoking, and always have a happy ending. That’s another reason I write, my readers want to know what happens next.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Pretend You Don’t See by Mary Higgins Clark. I like her work too.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

That’s too long ago. I do remember reading Edgar Allen Poe’s work in high school, Then I read some Robert Heinlein, Wow, I just remembered. My mother had me go to the library and I loved the Nancy Drew books.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Kittens that are funny. Sad story like the one I wrote in my Where Did They Go? I’m sure there were more.

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

My mother, she died when she was 66. Because sometimes I thought my mother would like to hear something funny I saw. Just the sharing of thoughts. Now I share with my sister.

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I guess writing is my hobby but I still do embroidery for groups.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I liked the Poirot mysteries, Father Brown, Star Trek series, science programs, Better Call Saul and more.

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

My food tastes are simple now, but I do enjoy dark chocolate and white wine. My music is from the sixties and the seventies. My favorite color is red but I also like aqua blue.

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Have someone else do it or get Dragon. By that time, I may not care.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Always be better that you were yesterday.

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Blog:  http://bloggingwrites.weebly.com/ Web:  http://anationauthor.com/

I post most of my specials and events on Facebook.

Facebook:  under A. Nation Books and A. Nation Author

https://www.amazon.com/A-Nation/e/B00SUHXM6E

