Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Hi Fiona, thanks so much for having me today.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Mira Lyn Kelly, 45–*gasp* when did that happen?!

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I grew up in the Chicago area (which is one of my favorite cities to set my stories in) but now live in beautiful Minnesota.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a write-at-home mom to four amazing kids and one amazingly naughty pup named Pluto. I married my best friend almost twenty years ago after meeting him at Loyola University of Chicago’s Rome Center. In addition to having the time of my life and meeting the love of my life, I also graduated with a Fine Arts degree 🙂

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’m all jacked up because I’ve got a new book, THE WEDDING DATE BARGAIN, out on June 6th! LOVE when these books I pour all my flirt, sizzle and fun into(you know, in addition to the usual blood, sweat and tears) finally hit the shelves.

In a nutshell: He’s the best man set on doing the right thing. She’s the girl who got away, determined to bring out the bad boy she used to know. Think bargains struck between breathless, smoldering kisses. Rules that were made to be broken. And a second chance at love no one saw coming.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing forever. It’s been a sanity saver for me from as far back as middle school. But it wasn’t until I had my first son (about sixteen years ago) that I started writing seriously. We were livingtwo thousand miles from our families and didn’t know many people in our new town, so it was really just me and this tiny little bump who liked to blink and sleep a lot, lol. And when I found myself going a smidge stir crazy, I turned to writing. This time my little hobby sort of got away from me, lol. Twenty books later, and I haven’t stopped writing yet.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

It’s funny, but it took quite a while before I stopped putting a question mark on the end of my answer “I’m a writer?” when people asked me what I did. If I had to guess, I would say I was probably about two books into my second pen name before I really believed it.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Honestly, I can’t remember the inspiration for the story, or really much about it except that it seemed to just pour out of me, like it had been waiting and waiting, and finally there was an opportunity to get out, and this story wasn’t going to miss it. The story was terrible, lol. But I loved it. I loved writing it and editing it and finding my voice alone the way.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

WHAT YOU WISH FOR… I have no idea! But I am pretty sure it was there from the start, because I think those were they first words I typed.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write sexy contemporary romance with a fun, flirty feel. While I write in third person, my style often has a conversational feel. The most challenging thing about my genre is probably remembering to stick to it. NO Mira, that is way WAY too grim. You may not add that backstory and expect your readers to be laughing on the next page. No.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think my stories themselves are very relatable and mostly realistic. And while I always put bits of my husband into my heroes, none of the characters are actually based on real people or actual events.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

Sadly, no. But I totally need to work on that!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

To this point I’ve been traditionally published, so my publishers are behind my gorgeous covers!

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

If I’m really reaching, lol… Have fun and love hard 😉

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Sally Thorne is pretty new and her HATING GAME is one of the best, most fun, awesomely addictive enemies-to-lovers stories I’ve ever read. But my all timefave is Kresley Cole. LOVE HER. I am an embarrassing fan girl for Kresley.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I had a little Mom’s group when my first son was a toddler, and those women were behind me in the most wonderful ways. They got me my first subscription to Writer’s Digest and read my crappy first book and told me to keep going even when one baby became two, and then two became four, and time became scarce. They made the difference, and I’ll never forget it.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely. It took me a while to recognize that I could actually call it mine, but now that I’ve embraced it, lol, I’m not letting go!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not really, lol. I’m pretty happy with this baby.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

One of things I always learn when I’m writing is how time changes things, particularly the city I haven’t lived in in almost twenty years, lol. I’m always stalking Street View to see where one thing is in relation to another… and often I find that my favorite places aren’t there anymore.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Hands down, Taylor Kinney. From the planning stages of the series, in my head Max looked exactly like a shirtless, slightly sweaty Taylor Kinney. I have a picture, lol.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just this… If you love it, never stop.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Just that I love them very much!! Thank you!!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

FALLING HARD by Lexi Ryan. Man, she gives good Feels!!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but the first book I REMEMBER is THE WORLD ACCORDING TO GARP. To this day, a favorite.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I love to laugh more than anything, so I’m always looking for an excuse, lol! I’m a big fan of the witty banter and flat out trash talk. I love heroes and heroines that can laugh at themselves. But if you want to make me cry… the movie Mars Needs Moms…KILLED ME. *Gulp* Damn it, I said I wouldn’t do this again. *Sniff*

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Susan Isaacs. Her books inspired the story teller in me.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Does writing still count lol? Honestly, I used to have a zillion hobbies, but with four kiddies and a full time writing career, I don’t have a ton of time for much beyond reading. Which I ALWAYS make time for. I’m a reader first. Writer second. Wait… I should probably put something about being a mom in there, lol. You know what I mean!!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Favorite shows I have or am binging on: Shameless, Continuum, Travelers, Entourage, The Good Place, The Mick, Dexter, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, Breaking Bad, and Malcom In The Middle (Which I’m watching for the second time with the kids and makes me laugh just as hard as the first)

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Love Mexican and Thai food the best and since we have limited restaurant choices here in smallish town middle of Minnesota, my husband and I have gotten pretty good at cooking up our favorites! Maroon 5 is my favorite band (love Adam singing dirty in my ear, lol), and my favorite colors are blue and green. Can’t pick, sorry!

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Don’t make me think about that. It’s terrifying and involves a lot of housework and laundry and no good excuses to get out of them!!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Ryan Gosling loved her best ;-P

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Absolutely!! In fact, here’s a list of all the places you can find me (because, you know, I get around, lol)

 Website: miralynkelly.com

Newsletter (this is the best way to never miss a new release, give away or super fun somethingorother): miralynkelly.com/newsletter

Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, and Twitter: @miralynkelly

 

https://www.amazon.com/Mira-Lyn-Kelly/e/B003VPS32S/ref=dp_byline_cont_pop_ebooks_1

 

Short Excerpt:

“We can talk, Sarah.” His hand curved around her hip, gently guiding her around so she faced him, so she was looking up into the eyes that had haunted her nights for years. His other hand slid into her hair, sending delicious shivers dancing across her skin as he tipped her head back. “We can have a drink.” His mouth lingered a breath above hers. So close that the absence of actual contact almost hurt. “But I can’t go another minute without this.”

And then that brutal space between them, the one filled with all the what-ifs Sarah had spent the last hour agonizing over was gone, replaced by his kiss and the potential of a night that would change her life.

His mouth moved over hers in a smooth glide, creating a soft friction that wound down to her toes and parted her lips on a quiet gasp.

One kiss, and she was alive.

One kiss, and she was hungry.

One kiss, and it was like time had folded back on itself and they were in her apartment, drowning in the rising need between them.

 

 

 

