Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

I’m C Freeland and I am 28.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Arizona.  It’s a dry heat!

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have four crazy and intelligent kids and a loving giant of a husband.  I currently work with a charity organization in the air ambulance business as a care coordinator, which takes up most of my time when I’m not writing.

When I’m not working/writing, I’m usually doing something with the kids.  I love dominating in Super Mario Bros and continually beat Bowser’s castle on the first try to remind them that I’m the real OG.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My first novel is set to release June 23rd!  I’m ecstatic to finally be a published author, as it’s been my dream for as long as I can remember.

Non writing news – I will be attending Phoenix Comicon for the first time ever and all of the kids will be dressing up!  I can’t wait.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always written.  I’m sure my mom still has stories I wrote in first grade somewhere.  I’ve just always had a passion for reading and writing and have had a love for creating whether it be in writing, music or otherwise.

 

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think I finally felt like a true writer when I signed a contract to have my first book published.  I’ve won awards for writing in my school days (the most notable being an honorable mention for cowboy poetry in third grade) but getting my first book published really made me feel like I’ve finally made it.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The World Between the Trees was inspired by this song titled Caveman by Jimmy Eat World.  I first heard it when I was about 14 when I bought their Static Prevails album from FYE (remember those?!).  That song has always been a little magical to me and it really got my imagination going.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I really can’t remember.  I’ve been working on this book for over ten years.  It started out as a short story and morphed into the fantasy novel it is now and somewhere along the way, the title was born.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I think what makes my writing unique is my need for third-person unlimited omniscience.  I feel that the stories I write are better told from multiple perspectives and keeping an air of mystery is quite challenging at times.

 

 


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Absolutely none of this book is realistic or based on anyone I know.  It is pure fantasy and I could only wish that I had the experience of meeting a giant or a girl with wings.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No, my imagination is plenty.  Though I will say travelling to Oregon inspired me to really crack down and get this book finished.  It opened my eyes to a world of possibilities and it made me eager to begin achieving all of my goals.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I have been fortunate enough to have Feather Dreams Press publish this book and their amazing team designed the cover.  I will say they gave me a lot of artistic freedom and worked with me to create the cover I had in mind.  They are just fantastic!

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

You are capable of so much more than you think.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I haven’t had the time to really explore the ever growing world of new authors which is unfortunate!  I have so many favorites but I must say that Ray Bradbury has always been a go to for me.  His books are so poetic and the air of adventure always pulls me in.  I also like Stephen King and his ability to build these immersive worlds.  I especially love The Stand and The Dark Tower Series.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I haven’t really told anyone outside of my family about pursuing my dreams to become a published author, which goes to show that promoting myself is not one of my strengths!  Everyone I’ve told has been so supportive though and I am very lucky to have such an encouraging and loving support system.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I very much hope so!  I have several other works in progress and would love to have a career in writing/publishing.  It would be awesome to have more time to focus on writing and to be able to support myself doing what I truly love.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Absolutely not.  This book has evolved so much over the years and I feel that the version being published is the best it could ever be.  I believe everything happened at the perfect time, right when it was meant to.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I definitely learned how to be a more thoughtful writer. To think about the reader and questions they might have.  I have never written with the goal of having others read it so this was definitely a learning process.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I haven’t given it much thought but probably someone new, up and coming and fresh.  My husband insists he has to play the man with the shovel if this book ever gets made into a film, though.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Never stop writing and always write what feels right!

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for reading!  Please, please review my work, even if you didn’t like it.  I am so eager to see what readers have to say.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King.  I haven’t gotten around to getting another book in line yet.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Aside from children’s books, I believe The Hobbit was the first book I read and that was in fifth grade.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Everything makes me laugh.  I love animals, anything to do with alpacas or camels or dogs being silly.  Oftentimes, I will laugh at something stupid until I cry so ultimately, laughing makes me cry.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Arnold Schwarzenegger, without a doubt.  Since I was about five, my all-time favorite movie has been Terminator 2.  Arnold has been my hero since then and if I ever meet him, my life will be complete.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I consider writing a hobby.  I also love playing the guitar but haven’t had much time for it lately.  My youngest daughter has been begging me to teach her so I have a feeling I’ll be picking it up again soon.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I am currently watching A Handmaid’s Tale on Hulu as well as Fargo.  I love 80s movies, especially Bill & Ted and anything made by John Hughes.  I’m also a huge Star Wars nerd.  And as mentioned above, I could watch Terminator 2 all day.  My kids are getting endlessly educated on all of the movies I grew up on whether they like it or not.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I could eat Mexican food for every meal and not get sick of it.  I love purple and my music tastes span anywhere from 80s music to heavy metal (minus country)

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I think I would do what I do now as a full time job.  I really enjoy helping people and seeing the long term effects of the work we do.  It’s very rewarding.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Be Excellent to Each Other.  That’s cheesy but I’ve never given it much thought so we’re going with a movie quote.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I have a facebook page: Author C Freeland

And I just made an Amazon Author Page: amazon.com/author/cfreeland

Thank you for interviewing me, I enjoyed it!

 

 

