Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Marsha Black and I’m in my mid 30’s

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Virignia

 

Fiona: A little about yourself (i.e: your education, family life, etc.).

I am currently taking college classes to get a degree in Web Design and Development. I have two kids. One is 16 and the other is a year old, both are boys.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am currently working on my first book. It’ll wind up being a trilogy, and I have some ideas for spin off books concerning it as well as a prequel.

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always enjoyed writing, even back in elementary school. I started back up and actually am working on finishing my current WIP thanks to all the indie authors I’ve met and befriended.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I feel that everyone who takes the time to write is a writer. It doesn’t matter if you are published or if only you have read your works.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I’ve always been interested in the paranormal and I’m not a fan of writing sex scenes, so paranormal YA is what I’m going for. Indie authors and their support are what has inspired me to start back writing a book I had started writing about 12 years ago.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

It’s pretty self-explanatory. Triplet sisters that are cursed. Hope’s story is about Hope’s story, her part of the curse and what she does about it.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

To be truthful, I don’t. Once I have an idea of what I want to write, I sit at my laptop and just let it come out. There are somethings if I’m undecided, I do ask for other people’s opinions, but outside of that I just let it flow through my fingers to be typed.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

None of the book is realistic or based on anyone. It’s all just ideas and portrayals of people from inside my head.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I don’t travel at all, I may use normal states, but I usually make up the town. I’m not worried about being specific as it’s just a story, no realty is based on it.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did for the most part. Did have some help from another indie author who writes as well named Veronique Poirier.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No, I just want readers to be interested and if it helps them to escape reality, if that’s what’s needed, then that is all I ask for.

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’ve met a lot of new authors that in one way or another their books have tickled my fancy. I would have to say Nora Roberts is my favorite as she was the first author I really remember reading. I’m really big on her Key of Trilogy books. Find them fascinating.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

All of the indie authors that I have met through Facebook are all so supportive and help so much in keeping me going as a writer.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would love to write as a career if my books are liked well enough.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

At this point I would say no, however I am only about a quarter to a third of the way through it 😊

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned my grammar is horrible. LOL. But that is what editors are for. I think the biggest thing I’ve learned is that there’s a lot more to writing a book than you would think.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Good question! I absolutely have no idea. I’m just trying to get the book done 😊

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t let anything stand in your way if you truly want to be a writer. Take into consideration what your readers would like to read, while keeping in mind what holds your interest. If you try and write books that don’t hold your interest, it will show to the readers.

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Only that once my book is available to order, that they purchase it and leave reviews if they find it catches their fancy.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I am currently reading The Moorigad Dragon written by: Debra Kristi

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I honestly don’t. I’ve always been an avid reader and even in elementary school I would read all the way through our reading books, not just the stories we had to read for the class.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My kids make me do both. Family is good for a laugh. Cry, when something bad happens to kids. It’s hard for me to watch or see on the news, movie, read about something bad ending up to a child. Especially if they are around my own kids age as I think, what if this was them and it upsets me.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Ian Somerhalder, because he’s just so hot!

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Reading, watching T.V, spending time with my kids. I sometimes crochet and have sewn a little(still learning so really bad at it.)

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Castle, Bones, The Vampire Diaries, Once Upon a Time, Baby Daddy, Young and Hungry, Lethal Weapon, Red Sonja, the XXX movies, RED, Kickboxer and so many more.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Junk food, chocolate, burgers, steak, fries lol. My favorite colors are black and red. I listed to an eclectic of music. Just depends on my mood at the time.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

As I mentioned before I am taking classes for web design and development, so will probably go/stay in that field.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Random much? I would have to say probably. Loved by all and who brought special meaning into the lives of those she left behind.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

I am working on creating a website, but don’t really have too much on it until I get this book published. Then I plan on doing a whole lot of stuff with it.

 

