Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi my name is Suzanne Lowe and I am in my forties.

 

 Fiona: Where are you from?

I am from Perth in Western Australia, in the southern half of the world.

 

 Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a Bachelor of Science and worked for several years as a gym instructor. I have also worked as a barista, library assistant and sports masseuse. I am married and have two daughters, who keep me updated on the latest trends and fads.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My YA novel Seventeen, is now available in the Perth bookstore Boffins. Which is very exciting!

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing three years ago, when I first decided to start writing my novel Seventeen.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I think just recently, when I saw Seventeen for sale as a paperback, on the shelf of Boffins bookstore. To see it up there on the shelves with all the other books, was very exciting and encouraging.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I always wanted to write a book and as my children grew older, I found that I had some time available and I finally decided to do it.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I wanted a title that had a connection with the story and ‘Seventeen’ is literally the age in the story where you are ‘safe’ from the virus. Or so they think

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

As I write mainly for the young adult/teen audience, it can be a fine line not to go too overboard with swearing, violence and sexuality. This is especially challenging in a dystopian style genre were quite often the rules of society have broken down, like they have in Seventeen.

 

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I think the book is a scarily realistic scenario, but thankfully not yet, or I wouldn’t be here to write it, as all the adults in my book have died! Having two teen/ young adult daughters, I based some of the jargon and colloquial language the characters use, on things they, or their friends have said.

 

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No. I grew up in a small town in outback Australia as a teenager and so know what it is like to live in a small town, like the one in Seventeen.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My publisher Creativia organised the cover through, The cover collection.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

You have to stand up to bullies. Even if it is not effecting you directly, you can’t just stand by and watch it happen. Also, everyone is capable of a lot more than they think they are. Sometimes you have to force yourself to step outside your comfort zone to realise this.

 

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’ve always enjoyed reading Anne Rice. She’s very descriptive and made vampires fun way before they were “cool”.

 

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My independent publisher Creativia. They gave me the chance to become a published author and publish my first, and hopefully not my last, book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Not yet. I have a pretty busy life, so for now I’m happy to have writing as a hobby

 

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I’m happy with my characters.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

It’s quite a long process from starting a novel to actually getting published.It really is a journey.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

That would be very exciting. Probably a young, up-and-coming Australian actress like

Maia Mitchelle,Natalie Walker, or my daughter Emilie Lowe!

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Be patient and don’t get frustrated by rejection. If a publisher doesn’t want to take you on, don’t give up. You can always successfully self-publish.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for your support and I hope you enjoy my characters as much as I do.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

Saturday Requiem by Nicci French

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The Faraway Tree series by Enid Blyton

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My husband, he has the same sense of humour as me!

Black comedy like the English TV series “Black Books”

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would love to meet the Actor Maggie Smith. I think she would be able to tell some really interesting and funny stories.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Besides writing, I love photography. I’m that annoying person taking a hundred photos in the background!

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Anything dystopian or sci fi, and the occasional horror.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Anything chocolate, purple and the Foo Fighters

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Travel the world taking photographs!

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She had an adventurous spirit

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Website   www.seventeentheseries.com

Amazon Page www.amazon.com/Seventeen-Suzanne-Lowe/dp/1541008898

Goodreads www.goodreads.com/book/show/33349088

Instagramwww.instagram.com/seventeentheseries/

Facebook www.facebook.com/seventeentheseries/?ref=bookmarks

Publishers page http://www.creativia.org/author-suzanne-lowe.html

 

