Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

JB Trepagnier. I’m old enough to know better, but young enough to do the wrong thing anyway

 

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Louisiana, but I promise, we aren’t all like what you see on True Blood or Steel Magnolia. Though several lines from Steel Magnolia become catcalls backstage when I do community theatre locally

 

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I have a BFA in art from Louisiana State University with 3 art related minors. My family life is pretty boring and revolves around two cats and two dogs that I’m pretty sure are trying to kill me.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I’ve just published book 4 in The Spirus series and released a box set in that same series. I’m almost done with a full length book for Special Agent Mauve because several people got upset with me that her short story wasn’t longer. I’m having a blast righting the full length and wished I had just done that to start with

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing when I was fourteen. Computers existed then, but word didn’t. I think when I was around eighteen, windows finally came out, as well as word. I attempted to start putting my work into typed documents instead of notebooks. Several hard drive failures later, school, enrolling in cello lessons, and after about twenty years, I finally started finishing what I had started

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I don’t? I’ve always written, but putting a label on it seems so weird. I’ve been a performer longer than I’ve been a writer and no one who knows me in real life knows my pen name. If you met me in person and asked about my hobbies, I’d probably talk about dancing and music

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I had a dream waking up from tonsil surgery that I ended up writing into my first book. I had written several short stories before that, but they were mostly for school

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Pretty easily. My first two books, their titles came from songs. Either titles or song lyrics. Midnight’s Sonata came from Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata and Feet of Clay came from a Fiona Apple song. The rest of the titles just came from the plot

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging? Not particularly. I have a basic idea, then I just open a word document and let it come as it does

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my books have something that happened to me in real life with the exception of a few. That big barfing scene in Special Agent Mauve? Totally happened to me in the 6th grade

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel?

Before or during the process?  I haven’t traveled, but I do extensive research

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I did all my covers. Usually they are photos I’ve taken myself as well, but I’ve recently had to break into stock photos for some of my photos because I simply didn’t have the props or could not find the right model for the phoeo

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

It’s different for every book, but most books are about overcoming some adversity

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? 

Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I’ve read a couple new authors recently that I really enjoyed. They were indie authors that we had talked about our books. A Murder of Crows and The Lunam Ceremony were two totally different books that I really enjoyed lately

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Actually, no one in my family knows my pen name to support me. Maybe 2-3 people in real life actually know my pen name and no one who knows my pen name knows my real name except perhaps my assistant. I’d like to keep it that way

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I’d like it to be eventually, but like everything else, it takes time and effort

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would have started with a full length instead of a short story

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Over my past few works, I’ve learned several Irish and Chinese insults and swear words

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Oh lord, I have so many characters, I can’t pick just one

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Keep writing. You’ll only get better

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for giving me a chance

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading a book called Jimmy Darwin

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not exactly, but I know I’ve read the Narnian chronicles at least 50 times growing up

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Musicals. Showtunes every time

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Buddha

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I’m learning guitar, but I also play several other instruments. I try to take dance classes when I can

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m binge watching the Golden Girls while writing this book

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I love Greek and Indian food. My favorite color is green. Music wise, I’ve been listening to Tom Waits and Tracy Chapman discography for about 3 months now

 

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

If I stopped it’s because I went back to cello lessons

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

You knew I was a jerk

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My website is http://jbtrepagnier.weebly.com/ , my blog is http://jbtrepagnier.blogspot.co.uk/ and I have a street team on face book called JB Trepagnier’s Trippers

 https://www.amazon.com/JB-Trepagnier/e/B01AE2N9O2/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1495217684&sr=1-2-ent

 

