Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Mona Moore (pseudonym), I am 38 years old and I write Erotic Romance.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I am from Montreal, Quebec in beautiful Canada!  We seem to have skipped over spring and gone straight to summer, but I’m not complaining.  The sunshine is my friend.

 

Fiona: When I was very young my parents decided it would be best to send me to private school. They noticed that I was a little more advanced than my peers. So, they bought my little Navy blazer and penny loafers; my little grey skirt and knee high socks and off I went to Prep School (this was literally the name of the school).  Very early in my education, I found that I loved books.  I loved the smell of them, the feel of them.  They filled me with an unexplained sense of satisfaction and comfort.  But it was what lay beneath their covers that truly help me captive.  The stories sucked me into their world and I have never been able to return since! I’ve held every job under the sun since College, but it was while working in the Transportation field that I met my amazing husband.  We live in a quiet suburb on the outskirts of Montreal and have four children: A twelve-year-old boy, two five-year-old girls and our Brussels Griffon, Lulu (aka. Louise, Loogle, The Creature).

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am currently writing the fourth and final installment of The Allison & Blake Series, soon to be called, The Criminally Yours Series (you heard it here first!).  It’s been difficult writing Book Four (Entitled, Sweet Surrender) this time around. My mind knows it should be coming to an end, but my heart is making me stall.  Allison & Blake have a very special place in my heart.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

My family encouraged my voracious appetite for books from a very early age and soon enough I began to write.  Poetry took up most of my time, but as I got older, I discovered a love for horror!  John Saul, Stephen King and Dean Koontz were my men back then.  However, it was around the early years of High School that I discovered a little book called Ashes On The Wind by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss!  I read it front to back within days before I’d realized I had fallen in love with Romance.  That was when I began writing what we call today, Young Adult books.  I found my friends loved to read them and soon had my own section of the School Newspaper dedicated to my stories which I wrote in Serial format (as I do now!).

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Well, I always considered myself a writer.  I called myself one long before I became one.  However, the day I truly said to myself, “I am a writer!”, was the day I published Breaking In (Book One in The Criminally Yours Series).

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

For a number of years, I was a freelancer and ghostwriter of erotica.  One day, one of my clients suggested I branch out and begin to write my own. He was very encouraging and always pushed me to do better.  I don’t think I would have written my first book without him. The idea for Breaking In came to me one night as I watched a documentary on women in the sex trade.  I thought, what is the most unconventional sexual fantasy I can think of, something that hasn’t been written much before, but can be done tastefully?  Voila!  Breaking In was born.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Well, in Breaking In, my very unconventional hero, Blake, is an escaped convict seeking asylum. He literally breaks in to our Heroine, Allison’s house.  Hence, Breaking In.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I think I write very conventionally.  I don’t think I have or use a specific style, per say.  The only challenging thing about writing Erotic Romance is keeping the sex fresh.  How many ways can you retell it without sounding like a broken record.  That’s the only challenge for me thus far.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my male characters have quite a bit of my husband in them.  They’re usually blue eyed and blond haired, like my husband and his quirks show up in my Hero’s more often than not.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I travel only in my mind and through the internet!  As a mother of three, they are my top priority in life.  Travel happens as a family or not at all.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Why, I do!  I’ve always loved toying around with Photoshop and when I realized that I could simply make my own covers, I did.  It’s actually a perk for me.  Make the covers is the most fun of it all.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I’m not nearly that clever.  It’s just pure, unadulterated fun!

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

Oh, too many to list!  Christine Monroe, JL Moore, Derek Cromwell (very talented newcomer!), Scarlet Rose Bonnet to name a few, but the Author that has stuck with me since the first page of her novel, The Divorce, is Author Nicole Strycharz.  Her writing is like eating a piece of cake that’s far too rich. You take the first bite and you’re in heaven, the second bite is just as good, but by the third and fourth bite your throat is aching and your teeth are quivering from the sugary sweet richness that it’s almost unbearable to take another bite! But I’m the fat kid who loves cake….so I stuff the entire thing in my mouth and go to town! She has a real talent for showing true human nature.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

One of my past clients.  He really encouraged me to take my writing that extra step and publish my own work.  I can’t even thank him enough.  The journey has been so gratifying so far.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I would very much like it to be!  Right now, I am looking at writing as my career.  We’ll see where we are in a year or two.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not a thing!  My latest book, Exotic Touch which is Book Three in The Dr. Feelgood Series, was my favorite to write.  It takes place in Thailand and I’ve never been, so I sat and researched until my eyes practically bled.  The end result was something quite amazing.  I’ve had people who have read the book ask me how long I spent in Thailand!  If that doesn’t tell you something, I don’t know what else does.  Very proud of that one.

 

 


Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

That I would love to go to Thailand!

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

For The Criminally Yours Series: Blake, I see him as a Jensen Ackles type physically.  Allison would be, Jessica Biel.  For The Dr. Feelgood Series: Charles, Chris Pine!  Scarlett would be Isla Fisher!

 

 

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just keep writing.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you for reading!  Without you, my job would be pointless.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m just finishing up Mass Casualty by Derek Cromwell.  If you haven’t bought this book, you need to do so immediately.  Incredibly well written.  He’s a very talented writer.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Go Dog Go by Dr. Seuss.  Does it count?  The first NOVEL I ever read was The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien.  Grade five, I believe.  It was a lovely hardcover book with gorgeous illustrations that my mother bought me.  I still have it!

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

A good romance.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Sylvia Plath.  I feel like she and I would have a lot to talk about.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Aside from reading and writing, I love gardening and crocheting.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a sucker for a good horror film.  Shows like HBO’s The Leftovers thrill me.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

I’m vegan.  I have been for the last 6 ½ years of my life.  It’s fun because I accept it as a challenge to try and duplicate all the foods I used to love to eat.  My husband tells me I reinvent the wheel in the kitchen.  I take it as a compliment!  My favorite color is green, all day and every day.  As for music, we would need a whole other interview!  I used to be the lead singer in a band back in my 20’s.  We played folk, rock, blues.  I listen to anything and everything under the sun as long as it makes me feel something.  Music is a very important part of my writing and I make playlists for everything!

 

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

If I wasn’t a writer I would be one of two things:  A teacher, or a dermatologist.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead; I lift my eyes and all is born again.” – Sylvia Plath

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Not yet, but I’m working on it!  Right now, you can find me on Goodreads and www.facebook.com/monamoore.author

 

AUTHOR PAGE:  www.facebook.com/monamoore.author

ARC GROUP – Mona’s Shmexy Kittens:  https://www.facebook.com/groups/1510592278960640/

TWITTER:  @monamoore78

INSTAGRAM:  monamoore78

AUTHOR CENTRAL:  https://www.amazon.com/Mona-Moore/e/B01MZD77J3

THE CRIMINALLY YOURS SERIES

BREAKING IN – http://amzn.to/2lCnXQu

BLISSFUL PRISON – http://amzn.to/2lHRubY

ON THE RUN – http://amzn.to/2oOb3gD

 

THE DR. FEELGOOD SERIES

COLD FASCINATION – http://amzn.to/2m49nSZ

WHITE HEAT – http://amzn.to/2mfRyyQ

EXOTIC TOUCH – http://amzn.to/2pJD7pv

 

 

