Name John Searancke

Age 74

Where are you from

I started out in life in the Leicestershire market town of Ashby-de-la-Zouch. I was sent off to Prep School at Seaford in Sussex, and then on to Rugby School. After a number of short term jobs I settled into the running of a small country hotel in West Sussex. I built this up to a well-known business over a 35 year career.  A second marriage took me then to Lancashire and then, in retirement, to the Canary Islands.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I am hoping that my third book will be out this summer.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started my first book about 6 years ago, and my second one about 3 years ago. I felt the need to put my thoughts down on paper, and this was the first opportunity to do so

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After retirement, I knew that I had a book in me, and it was then time to get it out.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book detailed the moving of our family, including our dog, from Lancashire to the Canary Islands. Our dog, Freddie, had many exploits to share. A wonderful dog, standing out above all the others that I have loved over the years, he inspired me to detail his exploits as he made new friends in a foreign land.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I am probably a bit old fashioned. Some reviewers have been kind enough to applaud my style.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first book was entitled “Dog Days in The Fortunate Islands” and was a bit of a play on words, the Dog Days relating to old ships becoming becalmed and the latter part being the old name for the island archipelago that became home.

My wife came up with the title of my second book, “Prunes for Breakfast”. It is most apposite.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There are no hidden messages – I am not that smart.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Both of my books are realistic, the second one particularly being the subject of much prior research, and centering around the life of my father in WW2.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Oh dear! I own early bound copies of all of the Alexandre Dumas books, which I read avidly. Then came Stendhal, and just now I have become a fan of Lee Child.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Lee Child – the Jack Reacher series, and Bernard Cornwell – all of historical novels. Lee writes a good series of Jack Reacher thrillers, and Bernard Cornwell has no peer when it comes to historical fiction.

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Can I include my dogs here?

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No, my third book will probably be my last. I can’t keep reinventing myself.

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, but my editor may possibly disagree, once she gets her hands on the manuscript!

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Brought on by retirement.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

I am currently three quarters of the way through writing the prequel to Dog Days.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

Both books so far have required some travel. For example, I bought an old Mercedes 300 SL and drove it all the way (excluding the sea) from England to the Canaries, with my wife. Quite an adventure in a 27 year old car.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My able brother in law John Harding, a talented painter, has done all three.

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Keeping my wife quiet long enough for me to concentrate for any meaningful length of time!

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I actually enjoy the writing process, and also the scrapping with my editor afterwards, as she seeks to turn a raw manuscript into something saleable.

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead

Two reviewers have actually stated that “Prunes for Breakfast” should be made into a mini-series for TV. I am just awaiting the call, but it seems a long time coming! It would need to have an English actor in the lead, because of the accent, I suppose Who? I don’t know yet.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

No, I would not be so bold.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you, one and all, for your kindness in buying my books and then for leaving your review. Both mean so much to any author.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

The second of the trilogy by Manda Scott, this one entitled Dreaming the Bull. If only I could write like her…

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Dogs and their antics…animal cruelty.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would rather like to meet my father again. We did not get on, but I could cope with him now. It might be an interesting revisitation, particularly so because he features heavily in my second book.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why?

At least he tried…

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

No, other than selling our house, and buying another.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Box sets, for example we both enjoyed Suits, Homeland, and Madam Secretary.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Not quite such spicy stuff as when I was younger. I love Spanish cuisine, classical music and the colour green.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

Arable farmer or geologist or archaeologist.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

See below:

Website: www.johnsearancke.com
Meet the Author at Rukia Publishing: http://www.rukiapublishing.com/meet-the-author-john-searancke.html
John Searancke Pinterest profile page: https://www.pinterest.com/johnsearancke/author-john-searancke/
Dog Days in The Fortunate Islands Pinterest board: https://www.pinterest.com/sjbutfield/featured-book-dog-days-in-the-fortunate-islands/
Prunes for Breakfast Pinterest board: https://www.pinterest.com/sjbutfield/featured-book-prunes-for-breakfast-by-john-searanc/
John Searancke Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/john.searancke.1
Dog Days in The Fortunate Islands Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dog-Days-in-The-Fortunate-Islands/
867368390009475
Prunes for Breakfast Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/PrunesForBreakfast
Twitter: https://twitter.com/johnsearancke
Troubador Publishing: http://www.troubador.co.uk/shop_booklist.asp?s=john%20searancke

 Amazon Authors Page USA https://www.amazon.com/John-Searancke/e/B00J787XZ6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1495099335&sr=1-2-ent

UK https://www.amazon.co.uk/John-Searancke/e/B00J787XZ6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1495099673&sr=1-2-ent

 

 https://www.amazon.co.uk/Dog-Days-Fortunate-Islands-Tenerife-ebook/dp/B00I0C3UES/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1489855386&sr=8-1&keywords=john+searancke

 

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Prunes-Breakfast-Mans-Based-Story-ebook/dp/B015SNYARW/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1489855386&sr=8-2&keywords=john+searancke

