Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

Hi, everyone. I’m K.B. Andrews and I’m 30 years old.

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born and raised in a small town in Southern Illinois, West Frankfort to be exact.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I am stay at home mom of two. A girl who is six and a boy who is three. I’ve been married for six years now to my childhood friend (we went to kindergarten together) and I’ve only been publishing for six months now.

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My latest news…I’m currently working on a new standalone titled, Losing a Piece of Me. This will be my fifth book in six months! However, it won’t be released until this July.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve been writing since I was old enough to spell! I used to write stories on paper for my parents to read, then when I got my first computer at the age of seven or so, I typed them out and loved watching everyone read them. It’s something I’ve always loved to do.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

LOL, I’m still not sure that I do. It still just seems weird to me.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Turning 30 is what made me decide to publish my first book. I wrote three books (The Chance Series) and never intended on doing anything with it. I let a couple people close to me read them, not letting them know it was mine, and I got great feedback from them. To my surprise, they loved the story! Finally, I decided I would rather try and fail at writing, then to look back years from now and wonder about what could’ve happened. I closed my eyes and clicked publish, never thinking anyone would ever read it, let alone, love it.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

For all of my books, I always use a line that the main character said or thought throughout the story. For my latest book, Finding You in the Darkness, Jace says his life has always been surrounded in darkness, but despite it all, he still found his one true love, Riley.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I tend to write in past tense, but with my newest book, I switched it up and wrote it in present tense. Something challenging, that would be creating characters that people will like and feel a connection with. Some characters are more forthcoming and some make too many mistakes, the challenging part is making sure people know where that character is coming from and why they are making the decisions they are making.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My books are completely imaginary. However, I tend to add a little bit of myself to every character. In my book, Finidng You in the Darkness, Jace’s mom has the same disease my dad has. And Riley and Raine’s friendship is based on me and my best friend.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I don’t travel for my books. I base them around the area I live, or someplace I’ve been.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The cover for Finding You in the Darkness was designed by Creative K Designs.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In all five of my books, the main message is usually the same, love can conquer all. Even if it is surrounded by darkness and bad luck.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

K.G. Reuss is someone that I’ve recently started reading, and I can’t put her books down. They are always so detailed and full of imagination. I wish more people knew about her!

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

Author Kelly Moore has helped to guide me through this journey. I couldn’t have done any of this without her.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Not really. I see writing as an expensive hobby (in my case anyway)

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Not at all. There are things in this book (Finding You in the Darkness) that not everyone will like or understand, but that’s okay. Everything was done for a reason.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned how to take constructive criticism, lol. With this book, like I’ve said before, there are many things people won’t like and I knew that going into it. But I think one of the best things about a book is challenging people. Trying to make them consider something they never would before, even if it is only for a minute.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I never thought about it. For Jace, Wentworth Miller because yum! He’s deep and thoughtful, like he’s always hiding something. For Riley, I don’t really know. She would require some new found actress, I think.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Don’t stop dreaming and don’t worry about what other people think. They will judge you regardless. Do you and be happy.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

You guys are awesome. I love hearing from you! The Facebook likes, shares, and comments make my day! I couldn’t do this without you guys reading my work and passing a good word along. Thank you for always sticking by my side!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished Emissary of the Devil: Testimony of the Damned by K.G. Reuss and wow, it blew me away. This girl never ceases to amaze me.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I have no idea. I do remember the first book that ever made an impression on me though. It was A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer. I was young when I read this and it made me see how much evil was in the world.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Almost everything. I’m an easy crier. Anything with any kind of strong emotion usually does me in: happy or sad. And it doesn’t take much to make me laugh either.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

This is probably going to sound crazy, but I would’ve loved to have met Steve Jobs. He’s such an inspiration to me. He knew what he wanted and he took it, even though people said he couldn’t.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I write. If I’m not writing, I’m spending time with my family.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

My favorite shows include, Prison Break, American Horror Story, Super hero shows like, Smallville, The Flash, Legends of Tomorrow.

Movies would be, The Wolf of Wall Street, Inception, Anything by Kevin Smith.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Favorite food, does coffee and Mt. Dew count? Favorite color, black. Music, Blink-182 is my favorite band.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 I have no idea. There are days when I think, Okay, I’m going to take the day off. But then I’m like, okay, what do I do now? I usually end up cleaning or watching reruns of Prison Break.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She didn’t find the fountain of youth, keep looking…

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorKBAndrews

Facebook Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/authorkbandrews/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

Website: https://authorkbandrews.wixsite.com/authorkbandrews

Goodreads page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/16069928.K_B_Andrews

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/K.B.-Andrews/e/B01M2DFOLM/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1495055617&sr=8-1

Links to newest book, Finding You in the Darkness

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Finding-You-Darkness-K-B-Andrews/dp/1545052581/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1493915135&sr=8-5&keywords=kb+andrews

iBooks: https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fitunes.apple.com%2F&h=ATNnNNjM5RckJXz6yimJv-pfGUDznOAjDiJfsF-0upmNjsIZrkqUGrjY6jsaQgV8nqBMZO76TSo6_wlHVLVw1ZxR9h6tOq9TtpA9dzTc4_3euJkK3AID1oq2BzPha6_p-kF0IRlOtSlFHJKVEZBTDaGedw&enc=AZMvmqVaCDHnt1pvQ-DOOmNlbBrGmNxU-WH7tNcVNRQymMDAU5i7MWDoCxQesu2CsmxSHbWSfkqTmh0jqh_zZyqwWwnnA6mg84fFN9NNUUUB3xRHuUzwn_43gCO3b3U4DH9Fd5pbCKUnugAXMBPQ_RzSLiZbaY9O5ZJRLND6A_8_uAMx0TNqGDY-AvlrfSyKIEnVwPl002Zk2xfvW2Qz0QLs&s=1

Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/finding-you-in-

KOBO: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/finding-you-in-the-darkness

 

 

 

 

