Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

E.Kay Sims . A lady never tells her age. But, I have two adult children. My daughter is married and has two children. So, I’m a grandmother. My son is 21, unmarried, but dating. I’m under 50 but over 40.

 

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born in Naples Italy, to American parents. My dad was in the Marines. Now I live in Oregon.

 

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a disabled veteran. I’m married. My husband is also a veteran. We met and fell in love while stationed at Kadena Air Base Okinawa Japan. In the Air Force, I was a military customs inspector in hazardous materials. I was once a reference librarian. I was also a travel agent and an assistant station manager at a community radio station in Spokane WA. I used to have my own live radio show.  I’m now a certified yoga and T’ai chi instructor and author.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I wrote and completed my first novel. Eve of Destruction Book ONE. It releases on May 31 2017. I’m so excited to share it with everyone.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve always been a writer since grade school. My sisters and I would entertain eachother with stories we made up.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I didn’t officially think of myself as a writer until I started writing and producing commercials and public service announcements over 15 years ago on live radio.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My military experiences and that of my sisters and friends. I have 3 sisters and we were all military, one still serves. I have two nephews and a niece in the military serving abroad.  Many close friends are veterans or are still on active duty. We all have stories.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

That’s a tough question. It came to me in a dream and I don’t really know why. My main character is called Eve and it all sort of evolved from that. Eve is a Soldier of Destruction, made into a cyborg against her will. She is the first female cyborg soldier in the storyline.  So, the title I guess came out of that. Eve of Destruction. There will be about 7 books in this series. Book two is titled Knights of Destruction.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write in First person, so most of the story comes from Eve’s POV. Other than that, I wouldn’t say I have a particular style. My genre is challenging because it’s military romance and sci-fi. A lot of research goes into it because I like accuracy, authenticity and I want the sci-fi elements to be believable. So yes, it’s challenging as far as the research goes.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The book is very realistic. Yes, some of the events in the book are true. For instance, the terror attack on a U.S. Embassy in Nairobi is a true event where I place one of the characters in the scene during the bombing. Part of the story is about Air Force boot camp and I try to be as realistic as possible on what that entails, based on personal experience and that of friends and family. This story has many true to life elements but most of it is totally fiction. I won’t reveal which parts are based on true stories in order to protect identities of real people. One of my technical advisors is a former U.S. Army Ranger, combat wounded Purple Heart recipient, who shall remain unidentified. It’s the Ranger way.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I don’t have to travel, yet anyway. Most of the places that are portrayed in the story, I’ve actually lived there at one time or other in my life.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Rebel Edit & Design, the amazing MargreetAsselburgs. The photo edit is by Shauna Kruse Photography and the model is a real-life Air Force amputee veteran, Gideon Connelly.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

True love exists. Love transcends time and place. And my book is dedicated to all military past and present. There are not enough words to express the gratitude that I have for the sacrifices of service members and their families, so that we all may continue to enjoy freedom.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I really love BT Urruela. I love his writing. It’s genuine and packed with feeling. Also, he writes about darkness of the mind and soul but with an equal dose of lightness. He is an inspiration as a person and does so much for veterans with his charity VETSports. He’s former Army infantry and a combat wounded amputee, himself.He inspires everyone around him, as he has fought and worked hard to overcome so much in his own life.

 

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

No one really because I kept it all a secret. But once I decided I was going to write, I joined this group on Facebook, created by Melanie Harlow, a best-selling author. She created the group to support authors, new and established. So, if I had to name someone specific, it’d be Melanie Harlow. She answered my author questions regarding the whole book world and I’ve made decisions based on her answers.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes! Absolutley.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I would leave it as is.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, because of the research, I learned so much about modern warfare, science, biology and not to mention, personal stories and experiences of other veterans besides my own. Things have changed drastically since I was in service due to the fact that we’ve been at war for so long and the integration of modern technology.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Charlize Theron and Charlie Hunnam

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Well I’m totally new, but for what it’s worth, always write from your heart. Write a story you would want to read. Write to please yourself, not, other people.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for allowing me the privilege of sharing my words and stories with you. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing the story.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“Reflexive Fire” by Jack Murphy and “Kept fromYou” by Nashoda Rose. I can’t read just one book at a time.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Dick and Jane.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Lots of things, haha.  I like dark humor but I like military humor, sexy humor, southern humor, redneck humor. My mother is from the south and my husband is a redneck Pennsylvania farm boy. As for what makes me cry? Anything about child abuse, animal abuse, domestic violence. Sad stories about anything makes me cry. I’m extremely sensitive so I cry at Hallmark commercials, literally.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

My great, great, great grandmother on my mother’s side. She was full blooded Cherokee and I can’t find any record of her or her name. I want to know about my ancestors from her point of view, not what’s been written in history books.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Cooking, gardening, wine collecting and book collecting, traveling and of course, writing.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I’m a grandmother and babysit nearly every day. Peppa Pig right now is my top choice. I recently went to see King Arthur and absolutely loved it!! Who doesn’t love Charlie Hunnam?

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Food: anything Italian, Indian, Mexican or Thai.

Music: I like everything from hard rock to classical, new age to electronica. I really enjoy Tibetan singing bowls.

Colors: Wine and Forest Green, Violet and Pale Pink, Peach and Salmon with Teal and Ocean Blue or anything that looks like sunrise or sunset color combos. All-time favorite color is Purple!

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I’d still be a yoga and T’ai Chi instructor. That will never change. 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I don’t want a headstone. I want to be cremated and have my ashes sprinkled in the Mediterranean Sea and the East China Sea, near my two favorite places in the world, Italy and Okinawa.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Working on a blog.

My website:

ekaysims.wixsite.com/ekaysimsauthor

www.facebook.com/AuthorEKaySims/

 https://www.goodreads.com/EKaySims

 https://www.books2read.com/u/b5Opx7

 https://www.amazon.com/E.-Kay-Sims/e/B071YS9V9S/ref=la_B071YS9V9S_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1494960206&sr=1-1

 May 24th at 6p Pacific time I’m doing and event with Owl Branch Book Promotions.

Readers have a chance to win a $25 gift card.

 

My Book links:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071RQLH9T/https://

 

 

