Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?  

Hello, my name is Carol Schaffer and I am 46 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from? 

I was born in Ohio and I have lived here my whole life.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

I’m a small town kind of gal who loves my family and enjoys the simple life. I work full time in the retail business and write as much as I can. I’m a mom of two and a mamaw of two.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news. 

I just published my fifth book Broken.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always loved to write and make up stories. I wrote some poetry when I was younger but I got married young and had a family. I just started writing again last year.

 

 

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Always, but it became real for me when I hit publish on my first book.

 

 

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was going through a rough patch in my life and I needed to feel again. I knew writing could do that for me.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

My first book didn’t receive a title until I was half finished with it. I thought about the story itself and talked it over with my daughter and she is the one who actually came up with the title.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging? 

No particular style. I know that I love Romance and the sex scenes get hot, but the bottom line for me is love.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It’s all made up in my head. None of my books are related to anyone I know. I start out with an idea about what I want to write then the story just flows out of my pen. It’s funny sometimes when I think I’m going to write one of my characters a certain way, but they tend to take a different direction.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process? 

No, I don’t travel. I’m to busy working my full time job.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I get my public covers online for free then sometimes blend photos together.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Maybe that life can be like hell sometimes, but true heroes do exist in one form or another.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I try to read as much as possible. Lori Foster is one of my favorite Authors. Scott Hildreth is amazing and his books are hot as hell. When I first started last year Scott gave me some advice on how to publish my book on Amazon, and I will forever appreciate that.  I love Jade West also. I could go on and on.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author. 

During a really rough time in my life last year a friend encouraged me to do something I love because we only get one life.  I love making stories come to life on my notebook.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

No. I say that because I LOVE writing and I will never view it as a job. I will continue to write for as long as my mind and body allow me.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book? 

Yes. I learned that my characters have a mind of their own and they know how to pull out all of my emotions. I ugly cried a lot on Broken.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

I’m not really sure.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

If writing is your passion then never stop. It frees the mind to create beautiful things.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers? 

Thank you so much for reading my books. I put my heart and  imagination  into them for you.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished reading Bound Together by Christine Feehan. She is incredible.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

The first Romance book I picked up after many years of not reading was When you Dare by Lori Foster. I was totally hooked and I haven’t stopped.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Life is nothing without my family. They make me laugh/cry.  Reading really emotional love stories and never wanting them to end. I wear my heart on my sleeve a lot.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why? 

I would love to meet Scott Hildreth to thank him for being kind to me. I emailed him for help in publishing my first book and he didn’t hesitate to help me.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies? 

Reading, camping and loving life.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I love all kinds of movies. Comedy, Romance, Action and Thrillers. I don’t watch much t.v.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music? 

Burgers and steaks on the grill. Purple is my favorite color. I love Rock and Roll .

 

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do? 

Invent things to help keep children safe.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone? 

She lived, she loved, and she went out fighting.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers? 

https://m.facebook.com/authorclschaffer/

https://www.amazon.com/Carol-Schaffer/e/B01DKLFUS2

