Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 My name is Chuck Anderson, I write under the name of C.S Anderson.  I am 54 years old.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

Originally from Wisconsin but have lived in the Seattle area for over twenty years

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

My day job is Working as a STEM teacher in early childhood education, my wife is my editor and our business partner designs most of our covers.  We formed our own publishing company using a kickstarter grant a few years ago and have been growing ever since.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

We just release the third and final book in our Zombie Extinction Event series titled WAR.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have been writing since at least junior high school I suppose.  I have always been a voracious reader and that seemed to unlock stories of my own that I wanted to tell.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Began getting published consistently by small underground zines in the nineties and it went to my head enough to start calling myself a writer lol

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book? 

I had always written flash fiction and shorter novellas so I wanted to try my hand at a full length novel so I began working on a fantasy novel that took me over a year to finish.  It was published by Wolfe Press a few years ago and is called The WitchStones-Gathering of the Covens.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 I didn’t actually lol, the publisher changed the title but it didn’t bother me because his title was way better than mine

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?  I write a lot in the first person, it feels more real and immediate to me than the other forms.  It is actually challenging for me to write any other way but I make myself do so from time to time

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 Most of my stuff is totally spun out of my own imagination.  I do use the names of friends in my horror books usually killing them off in some horrible way!  My friend Sheri Anne has died in five books now and keeps coming back for more.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel?

Before or during the process? My wife and I do the con circuit to promote our books and we travel quite a bit over a four state area.   We took a vacation to Las Vegas and while there I was inspired to write a dark urban fantasy novel called Sin City Succubus.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

I do some of the covers myself, as I said our business Chris Harris does most of them and we have hired out a couple of them to a brilliant designer from Texas named Lisa Vasquez.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The primary message of our vampire hunter series is best summed up by an Oscar Wilde quote “Every saint has a past and every sinner has a future” The book is all about redemption and hope in the face of hopelessness

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you? I really dig a noir comic called Johnny Scotch written by a man named John Dover.  He writes beautifully but it is a dark and gritty beautiful.  Veronica Smith is a rising new voice in horror and her book Chalk Outline would make a great movie.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 My wife of course has been hugely supportive and I have to shout out to our super fan Rita Ohara who has been a fan, friend and supporter since the beginning.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Really really hope so someday.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, there has been a lot of controversy about the ending of WAR but that is how the story played out and I try hard to respect that and not force it into a more palatable ending.  Even though a fan offered to toss me off a thirteenth story balcony at a afterparty for the recent Seattle Crypticon  I stand by the ending.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Yes, that I am really tired of writing about zombies after three books, time to move on to other things.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

My wife says Chris Pratt, I demur to her opinion…

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Yes, SHUT UP AND WRITE! Stop thinking about writing, stop talking to other writers about writing, stop joining support groups for writers with their endless useless drama, stop torturing yourself about whether you are good enough or not.  Shut up and knock out some work and get it out there.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

That I appreciate each and every single one of them.  I love meeting people at cons who have read some of my books and come back for more.  A man asked me how much it would cost for me to sign a book at a recent show and the answer is and forever will be zero.  I love my fans and will always be willing to sign books, chat with them and get pictures taken.  All of us at Alucard Press are very approachable so if you and see us at a show come up and say hi.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 I do review work for a geek culture website called Sci Fi Monkeys and right now I am reading Morbid Hearts by Susanne L. Lambdin

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

God no, it was probably etched into a stone tablet it was so long ago.  I was very into Ray Bradbury when I was first getting into Sci Fi

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

I like to laugh and I can find humor (sarcastic mostly) in most things. Working with children gives me a lot to laugh about.  What makes me cry?  It breaks my heart when people walk by our booth at shows and say something like ‘oh books, I don’t read ‘ I can’t imagine my life without books.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet?

 Why? I would love to have been able to sit down with Lou Reed and listen to him tell me stories over a few pints.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Most of them have fallen by the wayside really, we all work day jobs and the rest of the time is consumed by writing and promoting the books.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

Same answer as above, I like a good horror movie when I have time though.  I am super fond of really cheesy b rated horror comedies like Zombeavers and Love in the Time of Monsters

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I listen to all kinds of music from punk to country to metal. A good song is a good song no matter the genre.  I wear a lot of black just to live up the cliché of being a horror writer I suppose.  I am more into cooking food for others than eating it myself.

 

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write.

What would you do? Acting has always fascinated me but I am sure that I would be terrible at it. The art of completely and convincingly turning into somebody else is amazing to me

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Something terribly witty and sarcastic that I am completely incapable of coming up just now.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

Our website is currently under repair but we have very active Facebook and Twitter pages as well as an Amazon page

https://www.facebook.com/Alucardpressblackirish/?ref=bookmarks

 https://twitter.com/AlucardPress13

https://www.amazon.com/C-S-Anderson/e/B0098PSRUS/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1494793543&sr=1-2-ent

 

 

 

 

