Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 Hi Fiona, Thank you for having me here!  I’m excited.  I’m Hildie McQueen and I’m in my mid fifties. Sometimes I wish I was 30, not mentally, but physically, however, I do love being 55.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I was born and lived in Baja California, Mexico for the first six years of my life before moving to San Diego with my parents.  I grew up there and in Baja since we lived right on the border of US and Mexico.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

At Eighteen, I joined the Army and got stationed in Germany and Texas, where both my girls were born.  After Texas, I moved to Hawaii, lived there as a single mom for nine years before transferring to Georgia, where I remarried and continue to live.  I’ve been in Georgia for over twenty-five years now, so it’s home now.

I got my degree in business at Augusta State. My three sisters live in Georgia, S. Carolina and N. Carolina.  My two brothers live in Michigan and California.

 I have two daughters.  One lives in Atlanta, the other in New Jersey.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

I am about to release the first in my Laurel Creek series, which will be a contemporary western romance.  What makes this series different is that all the heroes and heroines are older, in their forties.  Another exciting thing is that one of my closest friends, Luke Barre, is on two of the covers!

The first book, Jaded: Luke, releases on June 6, 2017.  I can’t wait to hear what people think of the story.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I have always written shorts, novellas and such.In high school when I fell in love with romance, I began writing stories.  The main reason I write is because no one knows the characters more than the author.  I wanted to know more about the heroes and heroines.

In 2010, after reading a couple of my novellas, a friend insisted I visit my local romance writer group, which was two hours away in Atlanta.  So we went and I fell in love with the group and the idea of publishing.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I will have to say when I was offered my first publishing contract.  It was so exciting, I couldn’t stop grinning.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

My first book was a paranormal.  I wrote it because the story was in my head, had been on my mind for years.  Once I decided to sit down and write it, the floodgates opened and more stories poured in!

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The original title was Angelic Protector and my editor hated it.  So it ended up becoming Betrayal, which I suppose is much better!  LOL

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I write without plotting, which can be crazy at times, especially when I’m not sure what will happen next.  Usually I can flow pretty easy, but when a story comes to a screeching halt, it can be a huge challenge.  It is only at this time, that I’ll take a pen and paper, go sit somewhere quiet and outline a bit.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of my books are pure fiction. Only two books so far are based on events on my life.  Even Heroes Cry and Jaded: Luke.  Both stories have the common theme of men returning from the war and how it affects them once they come home.

The heroes are based on what happened when I worked with a team of guys that deployed just weeks after the twin towers fell and the US went to war in Afghanistan. I witnessed the changes in them while they were deployed, as I was in contact with them from Fort Gordon, and how different they were after they returned.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I’ve traveled for a specific story a couple times.

For my Highlander romance, I went to the Highlands and traipsed through castles and drove around the Isle of Skye.  I needed to absorb the atmosphere and touch and feel things to relate.  It was an amazing trip.

For my western historical and contemporary research, I rented a car and drove through Wyoming and Montana.  That also was a wonderful trip.  I plan to return and do it again!

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

My wonderfully talented cover designer is Dar Albert of Wicked Cover Designs.  I love her!

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

For the most part my writing is about redemption and giving people a second chance.  The heart is not to be bossed, it heeds no warning when loving.  Oh and most of my books have a dog in it.  I didn’t realize it until recently!

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I don’t read in my genre(s), it’s one of those unspoken rules.  I want to, but don’t.  So I picked up a sports romance by Skye Jordan.  It’s titled Reckless…pretty darn good.

My favorite writer is BertriceSmall, she made me fall in love with romance.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My friends have been super supportive.  I have a close circle of friends that read, go to my events and are the best cheerleaders ever!

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Most definitely.  I write full time, can’t imagine doing anything else!

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

My Brides for All Seasons books in particular. Maybe make them longer.  I want to write longer, but due to short deadlines, I kept the Brides for all Seasons short so far.  The next few may be a bit longer.  I’ve extended my deadlines.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Jaded: Luke…Yes I learned, once again, not to rush the story.  This hero was complicated and it took a bit to get to know him and how he reacted to things.  I also learned that I had to separate the guy on the cover, my friend, from who this hero was.  The fictional Luke and the real Luke are extremely different.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Wow hard question.  Luke Hamilton would have to be portrayed by either Mark Wahlberg or Channing Tatum.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Writing is not supposed to beeasy, this is a profession for someone who has stories to tell period.  Take your time, use professional editors (learned this the hard way) and allow the characters to talk.

 

 

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I want you to read a book that touches you.  Depending on what you love.  If you love westerns, please try A Different Shade of Blue, if you read Highlander, I suggest my book the Archer.  If you prefer paranormal, then Betrayal is the book for you!

Thank you for supporting the written word!

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I just finished The Dry by Jane Harper, it’s suspense and very good.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

Not really.  I read and re-read Island of the Blue Dolphins as a kid. I loved the book so much, I kept it.  The library wasn’t happy.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

You wanna make me cry, show me a suffering dog.

Unfortunately, people tripping or falling always cracks me up!

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Yes!!  David Gandy, he’s a male fashion model. I would probably faint after staring at him for an hour without uttering a single word.  Yes I know it’s shallow…sorry…not!

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Paper Planning and shopping…that’s about it!

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I don’t watch TV that much, but I my favorite shows are Blind Spot, Big Bang Theory and Supernatural.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

Food:  Oriental Salads, Pears and fried chicken

My Favorite Colors are Pink and Teal

My Favorite Music is Contemporary Country

 

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Wow…I don’t know.  Maybe I would do Photography.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Great Wife, Mom and Friend

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 

Yes, you can go to www.HildieMcQueen.com or my Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Hildie-McQueen/e/B005GKDCS6/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1494699439&sr=1-2-ent

 

 

Thank you so much!

 

