Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.


Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

I write under the pen names Lara Jones and Mia Jones and I am fifty years old. I write sexier novels through Lara Jones. Mia’s novel are a little more tame.

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I live in a small town in central Iowa.

 

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 I graduated from college with a criminal justice degree.  I live with my husband of thirty years. We have three sons, two are in college and the youngest one in high school.

I was lucky enough to be able to stay home with them when they were younger. Now that they are older, I find I have the time to write.

We live in the country with three dogs and two cats. I have always wanted chickens but my husband won’t let me have them. HA

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

In May, I have released two books. My book The Courage To Move On by Mia Jones is out in paperback and the ebooks should be coming soon.

A book under Lara Jones, A New Beginning is out. They can be found at Amazon, Borders, all major book retailers.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing when I was thirteen. My teenage years were pretty horrible and writing helped to get me through some hard times. It’s only recently I have had the courage to try to publish one of my books.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m more apt to think of myself as a writer now after I’ve had two of my books published but I have to tell you I still have to pinch myself.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

If I remember correctly, I had a challenging relationship with my mother and was bullied a lot by my peers and writing about a girl that was going through the same things made it somehow easier to handle and get through.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

They seem to come at me in my dreams. No kidding. Hopefully they will continue to come for me.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I love lovelove writing about romance. The love scenes tend to take longer and I sometimes have a hard time actually getting what I want the reader to see down on paper.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I guess I get my ideas from friends and things I have fantasized about over the years. I have a great imagination.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

No travel at all, I haven’t needed it for any of my books yet. But I never say never.  My home is the most peaceful place for me. I think it would be hard to write anywhere else.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Siren Publishing took care of A New Beginning and I helped design Courage to Move On with help from an editor.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?          

My books tend to explore women fulfilling their dreams and to never give up.

I didn’t give up and thankfully, I am able to live my dream of being an author.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I am excited to read Jessica McPherson’s novel coming out later this month. I would love to meet other new romance authors.

My favorite authors are Sharon Sala, Linda Howard, Catherine Coulter, Maya Banks, Lora Leigh. I could go on and on. If I had to pick one it would probably be Linda Howard. I love the way she makes you feel like you’re there with her characters. Her descriptions are very thorough and in depth.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

I would have to say a lady I met through a publishing company. She has gone out of her way to help me.

Sadly, I haven’t really discussed my writing with my friends yet. I admit it, I’m a chicken but I live in the Bible Belt and I’m afraid it would harm some of my friendships.  We have more churches than we do restaurants and bars put together. Also, my mother-in-law is a strict southern Baptist. So that conversation I’m really not looking forward to.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

            Absolutely. I’m not looking to make a million dollars but I would love to be able to save for my husband’s retirement, college educations and maybe a cruise. I’m just a barrel of fun, aren’t I?

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Always. I don’t know how many times I revise my books, I know it’s a lot. The editor that has helped me in the past told me I’m just going to have to stop at some point because I could spend years changing the book and I probably still won’t be 100% happy with it.In other word’s stop being a neurotic, control freak. HA  She’s also an author so she knows how it feels to let one of your babies go.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

            Absolutely.  I learn something new from every book I’ve written. I love learning and will never stop. I soak up information as fast as I can, although most of it disappears if I don’t write it down.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Oh, heck. I couldn’t tell you. I’m so out of it when it comes to movie people.  They’re entertaining but I have no idea who they are.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

DO NOT QUIT!!! Even if it’s for your own enjoyment, just write.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

I would ask them to try my books and give me feedback.  I would love to know if you enjoy my books and if you want more. I don’t want to ever stop growing as an author.

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

It’s so sad, but I haven’t had time.  I miss it so much I might just have to stay up later and read.  I have the new Linda Howard book.

Guess what I’m doing tonight?

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

            Yes, Where the Red Fern Grows. I was in my school library when I read the ending and cried so hard I scared the librarian.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Everything. I’m not kidding. I laugh at all jokes, people tripping and people getting scared.  Commercial, movies books make me cry, but also when caterpillars get smooshed, or when I haven’t seen or talked to one of my boy’s in hours or god forbid days, or I run out of MM’s.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

Linda Howard. Am I starting to sound like a stalker? I really don’t mean too. I just have so many questions I’d ask her. I’ve read all her books at least ten times each.

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

Oh, lord yes. I garden, scrapbook, cook, read, train dogs, snowmobile, taking walks through the forest near us and don’t forget writing. I know there’s more, I just can’t remember them right now.

 

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

The Big Bang Theory, Survivor, Criminal Minds, any cop show really. HGTV shows on decorating.

I’m not really into movies, mainly because no one will go with me to the theaters and I’d watch them alone at home because I either laugh too much or of course cry. You would be amazed at how few movies I’ve ever seen. It’s actually kind of pitiful.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

PIZZA!!! All colors, country and soft rock music.

 

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Probably irritate my husband. But really, I know I have a lot of interests but I can’t see one thing besides being with family and friends I rather do than write.

 

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

I followed my dreams

I was a nice person

I was loved

 

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

     No blogs yet.

My Facebook page is Mia Jones-Author.

I don’t have one set up for Lara Jones yet but I’m getting to it.

 

 

https://www.amazon.com/Courage-Move-Mia-Jones/dp/162217576X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1494372401&sr=1-1&keywords=Mia+Jones

 

