Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

 My name is Lori Wilde and I’m old enough to know better than to give my age, hehe.

 

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

 Born and raised in Texas. Family rooted into Texas soil five generations back.

 

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 I’m a registered nurse although I haven’t practiced for twenty years, I still keep up my license. I published my first book in 1995 and I have published 80 works of fiction since then. I hold a certification in forensics and I’m also a certified Hatha yoga instructor.

 

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Breaking news! I’ve purchased a ranch(ette) to hold yoga/creativity retreats for the care and feeding of the artistic soul. Inspired by yoga traditions, The Artist Way by Julia Cameron and The Hero’s Journey by Joseph Campbell, the retreat is designed to restore, refresh and nurture your inner muse. First retreat is scheduled for fall of 2017, date not yet firm.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I wrote my first short story when I was eight after my father took me to a book signing and it dawned on me that real people wrote books and books didn’t just magically appear in the library.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

When I won the first writing contest I ever entered in 1990.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 To fulfill my life dream of becoming a writer.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

 When Silhouette Romance bought my first book, they threw away the title I’d given it—I don’t even remember what it was now—and called it Raleigh and the Rancher.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

 I’m not sure how to answer that. My style is my style. It’s who I am on the page. I find any writing challenging. It’s never easy staring at that blank page.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

 The events in my books are always based on real life events in some form or fashion, although none of it unfolds the way real life does, nor is anything based on one person. It’s all a compilation of my experiences, people I’ve met, things I’ve researched. You throw it all into the mental stew and it comes out its own distinct story.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

 I do travel, before, during and after the process. It’s ongoing and never ending, this process of creation.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

 The art department of my publisher.

 

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 I wouldn’t say a “message” so much as my characters always learn something about themselves and world around them through the course of the story. I take my readers on a journey with the characters, so maybe they draw the same conclusions as the characters. Maybe not. I can’t control what the reader brings to the story with them.

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

 Yes, I love Rachel Lacey and Miranda Liasson. It’s hard to pinpoint my favorite writer. There are so many of them and I love them all for different reasons. We could be here for years if I went into everyone. Writers that have influenced me are: Stephen King, Janet Evanovich, John Irving, Anne Tyler, Deborah Smith, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Dennis Lehane, Donald Westlake, Elmer Kelton, Larry McMurtry, Lisa Kleypas…I read far and wide and in every genre.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

 No one outside of my family. Most people don’t care two figs whether you become a writer or not.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

 I’ve been making a living solely from writing for the last twenty years, so yes.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Oh there are alwaysthings you’d change after the fact, but no crying over spilt milk. Take the lessons and apply them to the book in progress.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

 I always learn something when writing a book. Sometimes I learn I need to take more “me” time. Sometimes it’s a secret I didn’t know about the character before I started writing. It’s a process of never ending discovery.

 

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

 Young me? Zoey Deschanel. I adore her and we both have so much hair.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

 Trust your gut. Listen to yourinner voice. Only you know what’s right for your story.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

 I am deeply grateful to my readers for reading the books. Without you, I would have no purpose.

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

 Actually, I’m reading Emma because the book I’m writing is a modern day retelling of the Austen classic.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 Most likely Fun with Dick and Jane. My mother was a first grade teacher and used the primer to teach me to read when I was four.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

 People. You can’t have emotion without the context of human beings.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

 Mark Twain. He was smart and funny and interesting.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

 Yoga. Although, really it’s more like my therapy.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

 Breaking Bad, The Wire,Damages, Better Call Saul, The Good Wife, The Good Fight, iZombie, NCIS, Survivor, Game of Thrones, Hell on Wheels, The Sopranos, The Walking Dead. I watch more TV than movies. I think the past decade or so TV has gotten better and better whereas movies have gotten more and more derivative. The last movie I truly enjoyed was Hell or High Water.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors, music?

 I love fresh fruits and vegetables. I’m of an age where I can’t eat much junk food anymore. I’m a rock and roll chick. While I enjoy other kinds of music, rock and roll has my heart and soul. Favorite colors? Hmm. I like to wear red, decorate with green and drive yellow cars, but I’m also fond of purple. I don’t care for orange. pink and brown.

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

 Teacher. Writing teacher, yoga teacher, creativity teacher, retreat teacher, mentor…I’m already preparing teaching as my final career path. To merge everything that I’ve learned as a nurse, writer and yogi and give back to those coming up in the world. It’s where I’m finding fulfilment these days. Not that I’ll stop writing, just that my priorities have shifted from chasing the brass ring (that’s not even there to begin with) to guidingothers on their journeys.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

 Sat Nam.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

 My website is www.loriwilde.com. For special offers, sign up for my newsletter on my website. You can also follow me on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest from links on my website.

 https://www.amazon.com/Lori-Wilde/e/B001ILKHQM/ref=dp_byline_cont_book_1

