Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Elizabeth Knox and I’m 23.

 

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

I’m from Baltimore, Maryland

 

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

Well, I actually went to college for Photography where I earned my Associates degree and I have a Bachelors in Health Administration and Management. I have two dogs who I love very much, an Airedale Terrier and a Shar Pei.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

Well, I’ve just released my first book titled Reign. It’s an MC suspenseful romance with lots of twists and surprises for the readers. It’s my first series that I’m working on and I have tons and tons of ideas for the rest of the books, which I’m currently writing right now. In addition to my first MC Series (Skulls Renegade) I have another MC series that I’m working on, in addition to two mob series. You’ll see my first Mob Series (The Clans) hit the shelves in July. I actually have all my upcoming releases available to look at on Goodreads and listed on my website under “Coming Soon”, there you’ll see what’s coming (hopefully this year)

 

Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started my writing journey in the summer of 2016, I believe it was June.  To be honest, I had tons and tons of ideas. I first got the idea for Corrupted Love in June of 2016 and kept going with it, I kept writing down ideas in a word document until finally one day I uttered the infamous words “You can do this. You can write a freaking book!” and then my journey started. While I’m still working on Corrupted Love I released Reign and am actively working on others. I think I started writing because it was such an amazing creative outlet. I started with one idea, the Irish mob, which readers will see when Corrupted Love, the first in a series about the Irish Mob and the characters surrounding it hits the shelves. It started with Corrupted Love and has fastly turned into a lot of active plotlines. Right now I have about….20 outlines that I’m still working on, plus the stories that I’m actively writing.

 

Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

That’s actually a really good question. I actually thought about that really hard, when should I say I’m a writer? It was kinda tricky for me to think about because writing was never something that I thought I could do. I went to photography school for pete’s sake, I mean, what was I doing writing books? I really considered myself a writer around December of 2016. I was sticking to my books, writing and outlining until I knew that they were perfect with the way I wanted to represent the story and the characters within them.

 

Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

Hmm, again, good question! I actually wrote Corrupted Love first, which is not released. I’m still working on it to make sure it’s absolutely perfect before it comes out, Reign was actually going to be my second release but I held Corrupted Love back to work on it more and released Reign instead. I was inspired by other works that I had read, then the ideas started flowing to me and I finally said, ‘you can do this, you can be an author’, and that was the start of it all.

 

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

Oooo, haha, I actually spent weeks thinking of the right titles for my series. I’m kinda crafty in that sense because I love to stick with themes. For instance, in my Skulls Renegade Series, all of the titles will start with “Re”. Reign is book one, Redemption is book two, (and know one knows these two titles yet, but….) Revenge is book three and Relentless is book four.

In my Romanian Mob series, I’m going a little rouge with each book. The first is titled ‘Promised’, and the second is titled ‘The Trade’. The important thing to know with my writing is that the titles of the book reflect something that happens within it.

 

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

Oh I know I probably do. It’s actually funny because in different series you’ll see that my writing is a tad different. I think readers will really see this when they compare my writing style in Reign (Skulls Renegade MC #1) to my style in Blackjack (Reapers MC #1), which is due to come out late this year. The challenge I think with suspenseful romance is how to stand out amongst your peers, how to make readers fall in love with your story. I really just go with the flow, cross my fingers and hope that the readers like it.

 

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I’ll be completely honest, I can only come up with what I put my characters through in my mind. If any of this happened in my own life I’d probably lose my marbles haha. The thing is, I’m not afraid to show the brutal side of love, the side that not many want to show, the dirty, ugly, gruesome parts of life that make people who they are.

 

Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process?

I’ve actually never traveled before or during the process of writing my books. I will admit, I’d love to do it and I think that I will eventually.

 

Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Clarise Tan from CT Cover Creations. She’s the bomb dot com, amazeballs, I could go on and on about how much I LOVE my covers that she designs. She really sees the image that I want to represent and creates such beautiful work.

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Life will always throw you curve balls

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

To be honest I haven’t really looked at any new authors recently. I don’t just have one favorite author, I have multiple, Audrey Carlan, Katee Robert, Sapphire Knight, Jamie Begley, and Kim Jones to name a few. It’s funny, we write about stuff that we love to read ourselves. Each of these ladies have such a unique writing style and whenever they have new releases I’m usually found reading in a quiet nook.

 

Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

That would be my amazing editor and formatter Christine Bortner, she actually is my writing coach as well. She has a long history as an author and was the first person I went to. If I didn’t have her in my court I’m not even sure I would’ve gotten this far.

 

Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Oh yes, I definitely do. As soon as my student loans are paid off I am out of the corporate world and will happily be writing 24/7 from my laptop in the comfort of my own home, a local starbucks, hell, maybe even a sandy beach somewhere.

 

Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I would, I would make it longer. The one downside of this book that I kept hearing from readers is that they didn’t think it was long enough, and I’m definitely keeping that in the back of my mind for future books.

 

Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

I learned a lot of things during the development of writing Reign, I think it’s good to learn through your writing, it will only make you better and brighter for your readers.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Emma Stone 100%, I love her as an actress in general but she would really bring the fire to Elena’s personality. I think she’d be a great fit. For Reed, I immediately think of Jesse Metcalfe.

 

Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Just do it – whatever you want to write about, go for it!

 

Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?

Get ready because I have lots and lots of books planned for ya’ll!

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

I’m reading ‘The Story of O’ as research for a D/S relationship – I’m thinking of venturing into that pool. So we’ll see!

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I believe it was J.K. Rowling’s “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone”

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

For crying, it’s definitely ‘Me Before You’ by Jojo Moyes, it literally tore my heart out!  For laughing, any and every Kevin Hart movie made to man.

 

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I love the color Red, it’s my absolute favorite. I’m a big fan of flavorful foods, I really don’t like anything bland. Music wise, I’m a lover of all things, from rap, to pop, to country, to rock. I’ll jam out to anything

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

Oh gosh, I don’t want to imagine that future! I’d probably be touring through Europe taking in the sights and scenery, sipping coffee in a cafe in Paris. Or at least, I’d like to think I am.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

Oh lordy, to be honest I don’t even know if I would have one. I’d probably just be cremated and my ashes spread in my favorite places.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

My social media is as follows:

www.elizabethknoxbooks.com

www.facebook.com/elizabethknoxbooks

Twitter: eknoxbooks

Goodreads: eknoxbooks

Instagram: elizabethknoxbooks

 

https://www.amazon.com/Reign-Skulls-Renegade-Book-1-ebook/dp/B071L3DTRF/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1494146999&sr=1-1

 

