Name I go by Jordan Elizabeth

Age 29

Where are you from Central New York.  I have a small, but loving family.  You’ll spot them with me at most of my book signings.

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My latest release is WICKED TREASURE, the third installment in the Treasure Chronicles.  It is a steampunk romance geared toward young adults and lovers of the paranormal.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?
Since I could talk…since I could imagine.  The stories are inside me, and I must write them down.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

The first time I had a novel published.  I had short stories before that, but a lot of people told me that didn’t count.  I knew it did, but the naysayers got to me.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

 I actually just found a notebook where I was writing a story when I was 7.  It was a fun adventure about twin girls.  I was probably inspired by the Little Sister books.


Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

  Lately I have been more focused on emotional stories, rather than creating fantasies.


Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

In this area, people say “wicked” a lot.  For example, you might say, “The weather is wicked hot today.”  For the series, each book has “Treasure” in it somewhere.


Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 WICKED TREASURE is more of an adventure, although if I have to pick out a message, it would be to stick by your family no matter what.


Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? 

It isn’t realistic at all!  Most of it is a steampunk political thriller with ghosts and visions.  The farm life, however, is based on my childhood experiences of living on a farm.


Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

Maria V. Snyder has been a huge help in my writing career; her books are also amazing!  I love her POISON STUDY.


Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? 

Maria V. Snyder is by far my favorite author. I love her voice.  It shines from everything she writes.
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

 My crituqe partners have always had my back.  They’ve told me about writing opportunities and different publishers.  They’ve always encouraged me, and they haven’t been afraid to tell me when something sucks.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career? 

I do – for some people.  I’m not there yet, but I hope to be someday.


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? 

I got a lot of feedback on how it is more political thriller than steampunk adventure.  I would stick to my guns and veer away from the political advice.


Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? 

I have always loved writing.  Maybe I can blame my mom.  She read to me constantly.

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

  I’m currently editing a collection of short stories, KISSED BY LITERATURE, to be published this summer from CHBB.


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

  Sometimes I second guess something.  “Will people be happy if that happens?”  Then I realize I can’t please everyone.  I try to write what I would want to read.


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

  I would love to travel!  So far I just go to local craft shows and libraries.


Fiona: Who designed the covers?

  Each book has a different cover artist.  Eugene Teplistsky designed the cover for WICKED TREASURE.


Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

  I was trying to make it more about the country of Amston and the presidency, so it was hard getting away from the usual setting of books 1 and 2.


Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

  Don’t do it with book 3!  Stick with the same setting.

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead. 

I would love to have Megan Fox play Krieg if they made a movie out of KISTISHI ISLAND.


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

  Don’t let negative reviews get you down.  Not everyone will like everything.  Don’t allow it to make you quit writing.


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you!  If you didn’t keep reading what I wrote, I wouldn’t be able to keep publishing it.

Fiona: What book are you reading now?  DADDY HUGS.  It is my son’s favorite book.  We read it every night.

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

 BABY’S FIRST BOOK.  My mom read it to me all the time.  We got it out to read to my son, but he wasn’t interested.

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Books.  I should never read in public.  I end up laughing out loud or bawling my eyes out.

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

 I would love to meet some of my ancestors from way, way back.  Okay, any of my ancestors really.  I would have so many questions.

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

  One of those old-fashioned Gothic phrases.  They are like a final breath.

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

  I love to paint and make jewelry.

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I like historical dramas.  I just watched the Immigrant.

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

Foods: Onions and garlic!

Colors: Black and blue

Music: I’ve gotten into “Gothic” music playlists on YouTube.

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done? 

I would have been a teacher.  I went to school for elementary education.  I’ve subbed in classrooms, and taught at the high school and business levels.

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

Blog: http://kissedbyliterature.blogspot.com/

Website: http://www.jordanelizabethmierek.com/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Jordan-Elizabeth/e/B00P0KBRD4/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

   

