Hello and welcome to my blog, Author Interviews. My name is Fiona Mcvie.

 

Let’s get you introduced to everyone, shall we? Tell us your name. What is your age?

My name is Jessi McPherson and I am 35 years old

 

Fiona: Where are you from?

A small town in Southeast Iowa.

 

Fiona: A little about your self (ie,  your education, family life, etc.).

 I grew up a military brat, moving all over and seeing new places. I’m married to the love of my life and have two amazing teenagers and two older step children who are married and between them gave me five adorable grandchildren. It’s not so bad being a grandmother at 35. I have some college under my belt but nothing major. I work full time as a bar manager for a local sports bar and night club.

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news.

My first book Burdened Souls will be released May 27th. I recently signed with an amazing publishing company who loves indie authors and they have an amazing team of people. I am also working on a novella entitled Red for an anthology to be released September of this year, Fractured Fairy Tales. I am also working on book two for Burdened Souls.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing young. I am not sure exactly when maybe 9 or 10. It was a way to express myself and deal with the constant moving and changing of friends. Being an army brat isn’t easy. Writing became an outlet. I started writing poems and short stories and one was even published in Who’s Who I believe the 1998 edition.

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always considered myself a writer. I write often. To me being a writer is a part of you. You don’t have to be a professional to be something. To me it’s like riding a bike or running. It’s something I do and I love doing it. I may never make a lot of money at it but hey my words are out there for everyone to read.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

I was tired of writing and never finishing. I have so many stories I’ve written and lost over the year so I finally said I am going to give this a try. I am going to finish and publish this book. I self-published it through amazon at first but then found Bella Tulip and Smoke and Mirrors. They have been wonderful. I love everyone on our team and the amazing Indie author we have.

 

 

Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

The title came to me before I wrote the book. I wanted something that spoke about the struggle within the book.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style? Is there anything about your style or genre that you find particularly challenging?

I don’t have a specific style. I write in both first and third person depending on the book. I sometimes find it challenging to express the true feelings I have about a scene. When I do, I take a break read a book or watch a movie to clear my head.

 

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The book it’s self is fictional. Real towns but places are made up in my head. Some characters have ties to friends only in a few traits. Josilyn, the heroine, holds traits from myself. Some of the things she struggled with I did as well though the circumstances were not the same.

 

 
Fiona: To craft your works, do you have to travel? Before or during the process? No. I have been all over the world and use those memories if I need them.

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

The amazing Lindsey Jayne did the cover for Burdened Souls

 

 

Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

We all struggle with something, usually internally. Don’t let that stop you from finding love. You may never overcome your demons but finding someone you can talk to about them will help

 

 
Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?  Who is your favorite writer, and what is it about their work that really strikes you?

I have tons of new author I love. They aren’t new but Karpov-Kinrade and the Vampire Girl Series are great. I love the authors within my publishing company and have a long list of books to read. Growing up I read a lot of Shakespeare, Edgar Allen Poe, Jane Austin, Stephen King. I am very eclectic in life so I love all genres.  One thing I always look for is can they capture me. If I can fall in love with a character the book to me is a hit.

 

 
Fiona: Outside of family members, name one entity that supported your commitment to become a published author.

My friends. All of them old and new. They supported me and kept telling me I could do it. I thank them for their support often. My best friend Shar tells me how proud she is of me a lot. So, thank you to all my friends, new ones included.

 

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

I think it could be but I want to keep it fun. Could it take me places? Maybe. I don’t want to lose the joy I have for writing so for now I will keep working my full-time job and write.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I love where it ended up.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything during the writing of your recent book?

Never stop at draft one. Keep going until the end and it’s okay to scrap a section and start over.

 

 

Fiona: If your book was made into a film, who would you like to play the lead?

Nina Debrov or Emily Clark. I’ve seen them do amazing things and think they would be perfect.

Taylor Kinley would be a great Dillon. I’ve seen him strong and vulnerable both things Dillon needs to be.

 

 
Fiona: Any advice for other writers?

Never stop writing. Even if you are the only one that reads it and never take no for an answer. There is a Yes out there somewhere.

 

 
Fiona: Anything specific you want to tell your readers?  

Thank you for your support. I promise to keep things interesting

 

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

My reading list is long but a couple are; Hidden Wings series by Cameo Renae and Wild Horses by Ardent Rose

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

I don’t remember the first book I read. There are so many.

 

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

Sad soppy things make me cry. I am a big baby sometimes. If it’s funny I tend to laugh.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person, past or present, you would love to meet? Why?

I would love to meet Edgar Allen Poe. Just a moment to get inside his head.

Any of the good authors from the past. Thomas Hardy, Jane Austin, Poe, Shakespeare.

 

 

Fiona: Do you have any hobbies?

I run, ride bikes, read, write. I love being outdoors and sometimes sit outside just to write and enjoy the weather.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I have eclectic tastes. I am a Supernatural fan, Lucifer, Chicago Med, Game of Thrones, West World.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods, colors,  music?

I love all shades of blue, my all-time favorite food is spaghetti,

 

 

Fiona: Imagine a future where you no longer write. What would you do?

I would probably still Manage the bar but would also read more

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone?

She lived and Loved Fearlessly

 

 

Fiona: Do you have a blog or website readers can visit for updates, events and special offers?

You can follow me on Facebook at Author Jessi McPherson, Like my page Jessi McPherson Author.

Follow me on Twitter @Jessi_McP

My website is http://jessimcp10.wixsite.com/mysite

This is the link to pre-order Burdened Souls http://hyperurl.co/0sv7sv

 

 

 

