Name–  Carly Carson

Age – Right now, I am the same age as my sister, even though we were born in different years. So if anyone can figure that out…

Where are you from

New England, born and bred (4 different states). I have a BA and MBA from 2 different Ivies. I’m married to Traveling Man, so I’ve been able to do a good amount of traveling. I have 3 children who are practically perfect (just ask them!)

 

 

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

My most recent novel is “Taken By a Navy SEAL”, a romantic suspense novel. I’m currently working on “Duke of Renfryn”, which is a modern-day series (not historical!) about British dukes.

 

 
Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I entered a Harlequin writing contest several years back. When my entry won (for “Night Magic”), I was hooked. I was very excited that they asked if I had any work sitting on an editor’s task that I had submitted. Unfortunately, I didn’t!

 

 
Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always been a writer. I used to exchange stories by snail mail with my cousin when we were young teens. Wish I had some of them now just for laughs.

 

 
Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

The desire to bring the characters in my head to life.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really. I have to have a romance and a happy ending.

 

 
Fiona: How did you come up with the title?

I don’t have any inspirational thoughts on titles. I try to choose something out of the story.

 

 
Fiona: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

In this particular novel about the SEAL, yes. I did want to bring attention to the plight of the Yazidi people, a small, peaceful religious community in Iraq. A few years ago, their part of Iraq was overrun by ISIS. The people were driven from their homes, slaughtered, and many girls and women were abducted and sexually enslaved. I don’t dwell too much on the horrors of what happened, but I was compelled to at least reference their story.

For most of my novels, the only message is that I hope you enjoy the story!

 
Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Although my novel is entirely fiction, I did do a lot of research on what happened to the Yazidi people.

 

 
Fiona: What books have most influenced your life most? a mentor?

I read a wide range of books, so I think all of that influenced me.

 

 

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have many, many ‘favorite’ authors. I guess I’d mention Linda Howard because I love her heroes. They are alpha guys, but they manage to be funny and dead sexy (especially in her earlier books).

 

 
Fiona: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I would have to say the entire community of indie authors. Many of them are extremely generous with advice.

 

 
Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Absolutely.

 

 
Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I like the book the way it is.

 

 
Fiona: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My cousin and I used to stay up really late in the summertime, making up stories. My interest evolved from that.

 

 

Fiona: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Here’s a blurb from “Taken By a Navy SEAL”:

Navy SEAL Declan Moynihan has orders to clandestinely shut down a notorious slave brothel in a Middle East war zone. Laila Catami, his accidental captive, is the mysterious woman being brought in to run the brothel. Or so she says.

 

Laila knows she’ll use anyone and any means to save her sister, even if that means using sex to destroy the honorable career of the Navy SEAL who accidentally rescues her.

 

 
Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I have to work at making my characters suffer. It doesn’t come naturally to me!

 

 
Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

No, although I do use places I’ve traveled as settings. For example, I have a story called Love Charm for Gillian, which takes place in Dubrovnik, Croatia. I love the town so much that I had to set a story there. A white cat I saw there also features in the story. The cat belongs to a bar perched on a cliff over the sea which can only be accessed via a tiny tunnel…The Buza Bar! (a real place)

 

 
Fiona: Who designed the covers?

Almost every one of my books has a different designer. I’m still looking for that special person who understands what I want. However, “Taken By a Navy SEAL” was made for me by a friend. How nice is that?

 

 
Fiona: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Doing the research was hard because the true stories were heart-wrenching.

 

 
Fiona: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned a lot about SEALs that was fascinating. I learned stuff I didn’t want to know about the Middle East. But there was hope, as well, in the fact that people have stepped up to help (mostly the Kurds).

 

 

Fiona: If any of your books was made into a film who would you like to play the lead?

I’m terrible at pop culture things because I don’t watch TV and rarely go to the movies. Bradley Cooper? Um, stuck on a heroine.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Shoot for the moon and if you miss you will still be among the stars.

 

 
Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thanks for reading my books, and I love hearing from you!

 

 

Fiona: What book are you reading now?

“In Sunlight and in Shadow” by Mark Helprin, which is beautifully written, unforgettable, and will make you cry. I don’t normally like sad books, but when someone can write like that… “A Gentleman in Moscow” by Amor Towles-unique and interesting. For fun I’m re-reading “Venetia” by Georgette Heyer – who is my go-to comfort author for her great wit. Yes, I always have a few books going at a time.

 

 

Fiona: Do you remember the first book you read?

No, but I remember that my parents allowed us to buy as many books as we wanted when the Scholastic Book Order came to school. Nothing could have told us more clearly how important books were.

 

 

Fiona: What makes you laugh/cry?

My brothers always say I’m the best audience on the planet because I laugh at anything. I like to see the funny side in everything I can.

 

 

Fiona: Is there one person past or present you would meet and why?

I have a fixation on Alexander Hamilton, and I did even before the Broadway show. Although he wasn’t perfect, I’ve always been impressed with how he raised himself from a terrible background and became a leader of the newly born USA.

 

 

Fiona: What do you want written on your head stone and why ?

“The universe is full of magical things, patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper.”  E. Phillpotts – I think the world is such an amazing place, and there is so much to learn. I would love to know what humans will take for granted a hundred years from now, or a thousand. Maybe someone will talk to my headstone to tell me what’s been discovered. lol

 

 

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Lots of hobbies. I like participating in sports like skiing, tennis, and hiking. Board games are a big feature in my home. Did I mention I’m in three book clubs? I’m into healthy cooking and I love to travel.

 

 

Fiona: What TV shows/films do you enjoy watching?

I never watch TV. We didn’t have one when I was a kid so I never picked up the habit. I almost never watch a movie. I liked My Brilliant Career, which is a very old movie and also, Desperately Seeking Susan.

 

 

Fiona: Favorite foods / Colors/ Music

I like any music from opera to rock ‘n roll. Not fond of rap. My favorite foods are chocolate and potato chips (not together – and despite my comment about healthy cooking). I cannot pick a favorite color. I do like pink, but also blue and green…well, you see the problem.

 

 

Fiona: If you were not a writer what else would you like to have done?

I used to work in corporate finance. I enjoyed that.

 

 

 Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://carlycarson.com/

Here are my favorite spots to reach me:

Newsletter: http://carlycarson.us7.list-manage.com/subscribe?u=73e22db925caecb2e87e85654&id=c893421fec

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/CarlyCarsonAuthor

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/author/carlycarson

 

Taken By a Navy SEAL: Universal Link: https://books2read.com/u/3kZVPG

 

 

