Name              Becca Syme (w/a R.L. Syme and Becca Boyd)

Age                 Thirty-something 😀

Where are you from             Montana

A little about your self `ie your education Family life etc

I have been writing for most of my life—did English undergrad, took an MFA in Creative Writing before I ended up in Seminary studying organizational leadership. It’s been a lot of education, because I like it, and a lot of fun. And someday, I may get more education… 😀

Fiona: Tell us your latest news?

I’m going to be releasing a brand new series in July, a cozy mystery series set in small town Montana. Very excited about it.


Fiona: When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing romance in my twenties because I love happy endings, and on some level, everything I do from here on out will have happy endings as part of it. I feel like I get enough “reality” in reality. I want to believe in a world where things end well.


Fiona: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’ve always known I would be a writer, on some level. I’ve always written as part of my job, whether it was press releases or papers or articles or speeches. I love to write. I’ll always be a writer.


Fiona: What inspired you to write your first book?

This is sort of a funny story, because it involves a speeding ticket, a scanner, and one of the biggest fights I’ve had. My best friend and I were driving in a car together, on our way home from a German Food Festival, and somehow, we got on the topic of Braveheart and the historical reliability of that movie. My best friend started talking to me about whether or not it was important to see William Wallace in the way that I did, and whether complete accuracy was important, and I basically said that I was going to write my own version. And I did. J That book eventually became my first novel.

Fiona: Do you have a specific writing style?

I’d say that I want to write things that are believable. So when I write dialogue, I write it the way people really talk. And when I write scenes, I’m always thinking about what might actually happen. I want my characters and stories to feel real. Like they could really happen. I guess, if I’m honest, I want my books to be reality.

Fiona: How much of the book is realistic and are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I would say that I rarely write actual reality. Because actual reality is rarely dramatic enough to be interesting, and when it is, it’s often confidential. But I almost always base things on things that I think could be real, based on my experience. I really try not to “write my life”, though. My family didn’t sign up for this. J

Fiona: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest and who  is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Lately, I have been reading a ton of Roni Loren. I love how real her characters are. I feel like I could know them in reality, and they really exist somewhere. That’s my favorite.


Fiona: Do you see writing as a career?

Yes. I mean, I make a living writing, and that means, for me, writing is my career. 😀


Fiona: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I’m still editing, so I have to say, yes. I’d change everything my editor pointed out. 😀


Fiona: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I absolutely have a hard time on edits. When I type “the end”, I want to be able to be done. But it’s never that easy. I’m always glad when I finish edits, because the book is so much better. But it’s not easy. 😀


Fiona: Do you have to travel much concerning your book(s)?

I do try to travel to do research, wherever I can. I want the details of the book to be just like they are wherever the book is set. But I didn’t travel to Scotland when I wrote there. I wasn’t quite at the “research in person” place yet. 😀


Fiona: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Find your people. Get connected to other writers that you like and who you trust. Always, always, always find your people and stick with them. You’ll need them. 😀


Fiona: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

My readers are the best. I love you guys and girls and ladies and gents!

Fiona: Is there one person pass or present you would meet and why?

I would love to meet TS Eliot. He’s always been one of my favorite writers, and he’s definitely my favorite poet. He was so deep and insightful and I really have some questions about The Waste Land

Fiona: Other than writing do you have any hobbies ?

Cooking and baking, crocheting, binge-watching British television and college basketball, playing the piano and singing… I have a lot of hobbies. 😀

Fiona: Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

http://rlsyme.com

Thank you so much for having me, Fiona!

